$189 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Madonna Inn

2 stars
100 Madonna Road, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
12 reviews
Wish we could stay longer

Madonna inn was so much fun to stay at! Wish we could have stayed longer to enjoy all the... See full review

  • Britt bee sweet
  • Aug 27, 2014
Retro, Clean, Fun, A/C, WiFi

I travel a lot and like all the modern conveniences. But this is a step back in time. Old,... See full review

  • sb1chsj
  • May 4, 2014
A landmark on California*s Central Coast for over forty-five years.. The world-renowned Madonna Inn offers 110 rooms, uniquely decorated with a special theme and color scheme, no two are alike. Enjoy your favorite meal in our Copper Cafe and Pastry Shop or Alex Madonna*s Gold Rush Steak House. Dance the night away in the Silver Bar Cocktail Lounge. Shop in one of our three specialty stores, which is The Classic Gourmet and Wine Shop, My Favorite Things Boutique, and The Brass Tower Men*s Clothing Store. Work out in our Fitness Center with state of the art exercise equipment. Refresh yourself in our fabulous pool or relax one of our wonderful Jacuzzis. Our pool is a 90 foot long European style pool that allows for 50 foot lap swimming and has a unique 30 foot beach style entry. At the pool area, nestled against the hillside, is a 25 foot cascading waterfall that flows into a lagoon below. We welcome your visit to our first-class resort located halfway between San Francisco and Los Angeles. We are a European style hotel located in San Luis Obispo, California. We are only five miles from golf courses and twelve miles from the beach.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Madonna Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Madonna Inn Rooms

Rock Waterfall Guest Room
King Bed
Two Double Beds Economy Guest Ro
Two Double Beds Economy Guest Room
Luxury Suite
Luxury Suite
Three Bedroom Suite with Two Bat
Three Bedroom Suite with Two Baths
King Bed ADA with Patio Guest Ro
King Bed ADA with Patio Guest Room
Two Bedroom Suite with One Bath
Two Bedroom Suite with One Bath
Rock Room Suite
Rock Room Suite
Deluxe Suite
Deluxe Suite
Rock Shower Guest Room
King Bed
King Bed Suite for Two
King Bed room for Two with a living room

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Jacuzzi
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Boutiques
FAX
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Copy service
News stand
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
FREE transportation
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Shower

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (12)

Ratings and reviews for Madonna Inn

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 12
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
2.9

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Madonna Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Britt bee sweet
Business
High desert, California
Aug 27, 2014

Wish we could stay longer

Madonna inn was so much fun to stay at! Wish we could have stayed longer to enjoy all the amenities! Can't wait to come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe is great

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Madonna Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sb1chsj
Business
San Francisco, CA
May 4, 2014

Retro, Clean, Fun, A/C, WiFi

I travel a lot and like all the modern conveniences. But this is a step back in time. Old, nostalgic and a beautiful gardened picturesque setting. Most important, my room was well kept and CLEAN. Air conditioned and good WiFi. So, I loved the stay as it was quite different and fun in a retro way. Oh, and try to daily baked cakes in the coffee shop...they are so fresh and moist.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Madonna Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Orange County Enthusiast
Business
Irvine, CA
Feb 22, 2014

Madonn Inn Disappoints

For the price paid the hotel is very disappointing. The water is very hard and almost impossible to rinse off while bathing. The rooms are more rundown than quaint. Simply not worth the money paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Madonna Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Comfort Mama
Business
Van Nuys, CA
Jan 1, 2014

If you like a room that smells musty

We had the Fox and the Hound room which smelled musty and had rifles on the wall, along with a giant fake painting of dogs. The room was big, but no very comfortable. There was a living area, a bedroom with a bathroom far in it and another bedroom upstairs - without a bathroom. So the person staying up there has to come down, come into our room to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night. Seems very inconvenient. The best part: Toilet seat warmer and bidet. That was an unusual treat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make a reservation for breakfast or you'll never get in.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Madonna Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VeryFeline
Business
San Francisco
Dec 17, 2012

Fun Atmosphere, Attentiveness A Bit Lacking

This hotel is a really fun "experience". I really liked our room and had a great steak dinner. They were especially good to my boyfriend who was celebrating his birthday- enormous piece of cake! The only criticisms are: the dinner was very pricey (and we do not drink) & housekeeping closes at 6pm (?)... so when I finally realized this I called the Operator and he said someone would come by with towels (they are thin and not plentiful) later that night and no one did- we had to use our pool towels the next morning :( I mentioned this as I checked out and no one seemed to take responsibility let alone care... this "details" matter to me and my pocketbook.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Madonna Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
junipero88
Business
Costa Mesa, CA
Aug 20, 2012

A Memorable Stay

Right when we arrived we needed to take a picture and see the waterfall urinal first hand. Friendly & courteous staff. It was my girlfriends birthday and they joyfully bring you a balloon and free dessert. I made some special arrangements & they exceeded my expectations. Food at the Cafe & the steakhouse was great, we were stuffed! We'll definately be coming back & will be recommending the Madonna Inn to friends and family. Thank you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Hearst Castle

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Madonna Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
joseph bk
Business
Atherton, CA, USA
Apr 15, 2012

college visit

Interesting property. ecclectic decor, accomadating staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Madonna Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sboz
Business
Bakersfield, CA, USA
Jan 8, 2012

Beautiful

We only stayed one night but enjoyed it greatly. Room was clean but smelled like old furniture/antiques to be expected. Didn't even notice the smell the second time we entered. Very beautiful room and romantic. We were in the Marguerite room blue and yellow decor. Only complaint was that in the morning around 8am I kept hearing doors slam and banging noises. Turns out it was the maids! Hard to sleep in with them slamming doors every 15 minutes. I thought about getting up and asking them to stop but was too lazy and once woken I can't get back to sleep anyway. My guess is that they just didn't realize how loud and startling it was. I would still stay again and plan to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk around the property, it is beautiful. Pool area and waterfall are a must see.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Madonna Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
funn
Business
Santa Rosa, CA, USA
Oct 15, 2011

Very different

Was very nice, the stairs getting up to the room were not fun, but the room was unreal. We were on the third floor so we had to go up two sets of stairs with bags, and when it had rained, so was a bit tricky. The pool and spa was wonderful! Food was high priced, but good. On a scale of 1 to 10- I would give them an 8. The place is not cheep so if you don't want to spend a lot of money find somewhere else to go. But if you want fun and unusual this is the place. Very PINK!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Apple Farm- in San Luis Obispo, for dinner, very good food. Have to breakfast at least once at the Madonna Inn Cafe- is really something to see! Delmonte Cafe, in San Luis Obispo, where the locals have breakfast, hard to find but the best. Small, near Railroad station.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Madonna Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles CA
Jul 19, 2010

Maddonna Inn

The steakhouse is great but very expensive, and the Spa services are way overpriced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Take a drive to Cambria and visit the elephant seals on the beach in San Simeon(just before the lighthouse on Highway 1)Oh and on your way stop into the town of Harmony. Pop. is 18! It's all about a 30 min. drive

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top