$179 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 23, 2014 Check-out: Sep 24, 2014

Apple Farm Inn

3 stars
2015 Monterey St., San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
44 reviews
relaxing get away

Our third trip !!! It was wonderful. The room couldn't be any better. And the bathroom was so huge... See full review

  • cookie monster 1980
  • Jun 9, 2013
Great Place to Stay!

Lovely, quaint, quiet atmosphere. Excellent check in. Exceptionally clean! Just loved our room.... See full review

  • Jim & Lynne
  • Aug 16, 2011
San Luis Obispo hotel charms with country decor, eatery and gift shop
Apple Farm Inn achieves the look and feel of a bed and breakfast thanks to Victorian-inspired rooms and a cozy restaurant and bakery known for hearty dishes and pastries. Conveniently located just off Highway 101, the 104-room property is the place to host weddings, go on a romantic getaway or wine tasting weekend. Visitors fall in love with all the little touches, from fireplaces to the on-site gift shop brimming with tea pots, soaps, framed prints and other Shabby Chic items.
Highlights
  • Gift shop with country-influenced housewares
  • Restaurant and bakery serving everything from pies to seafood
  • Fireplaces, writing desks and free Wi-Fi in every room
  • Welcome basket
  • Easy access to area attractions via Highway 101
Rooms
Apple Farm Inn channels a country theme in all 104 rooms. Guests sleep under floral comforters and ruffled canopies. Fluffy throw pillows in green and red and landscape-themed artwork adds to the garden feel. Cozy armchairs invite visitors to unwind in front of the fireplace on chilly nights. All rooms boast fireplaces, free Wi-Fi Internet access and writing desk. Upon arrival, guests are greeted by another treat: a welcome basket.  
Dining

Potted plants and patio tables set the scene for alfresco dining at The Apple Farm Restaurant & Bakery, where fresh ingredients make their way into signature dishes such as chicken and dumplings, turkey pot pie and chicken and gravy. Local seafood, baked goods – include standout pies and pastries – tempt with their simple goodness.

Transportation
  • San Luis Obispo County Regional Airport (3.4 mi/5.5 km)
Attractions
  • California Polytechnic University (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Mission San Luis Obispo de Tolosa (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Mission Plaza (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Oceano Dunes State Vehicular Recreation Area (17 mi/27.3 km)
  • Paso Robles (23.7 mi/38.1 km)
  • Cambria (30.8 mi/49.6 km)
  • Hearst Castle (39 mi/62.8 km)
Business
  • Indoor and outdoor event space
  • Free Wi-Fi Internet access

Hotel Map

35.2904 -120.6497
Area served
San Luis Obispo, CA
Nearby airports
SBP - San Luis Obispo Airport
Area description
Located near Farmer's Market, Downtown San Luis Obispo, Hearst Castle, San Simeon, Mission San Luis Obispo, Central Coast wine tasting, Christopher Cohan Performing Arts Center, golf courses and factory outlet shopping.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Apple Farm Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Apple Farm Inn Rooms

Queen Deluxe
Deluxe room with two queen beds, a fireplace and bay windows.
King Deluxe
Deluxe room with one king bed (most rooms feature a canopy bed), fireplace and sitting area. Some rooms also have a sofa sleeper.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Apple Farm Restaurant
The Apple Farm Restaurant serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner daily from 7am to 9pm in a casual atmosphere. Our specialties are American favorites like prime rib, turkey and dressing, and nightly seafood specials. Start your evening with a cocktail and appetizer, but save room for a hot apple dumpling for dessert!

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (44)

Ratings and reviews for Apple Farm Inn

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 44
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Apple Farm Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cookie monster 1980
california
Jun 9, 2013

relaxing get away

Our third trip !!! It was wonderful. The room couldn't be any better. And the bathroom was so huge !! The restaurant was wonderful.. Will come back in October for a longer visit. I wish all hotels were like this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

They have a wonderful farmers market on Thursday.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Apple Farm Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wally the IT Guy
Visalia, Ca
Jul 2, 2012

Great Coastal Getaway

The staff were very helpful and friendly, the hotel was very charming, and clean. The location was easy to get to, and the experience was very nice. we will do this again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

the guest wine tasting was nice on the patio

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Apple Farm Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jim & Lynne
Sacramento
Aug 16, 2011

Great Place to Stay!

Lovely, quaint, quiet atmosphere. Excellent check in. Exceptionally clean! Just loved our room. Wine bar hospitality was superb. Restaurant venue was very good. Waiter was exceptional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Apple Farm Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
san diego, ca
Aug 8, 2011

old and in need of updating

I stayed here 10 years ago and had a cute room. I think we were given one of the cheaper rooms (although we paid a higher price [...] than the room type they gave us). The room was very dated, had wallpaper peeling off the wall and the shower was less than appealing. They do have a good restaurant for breakfast but the service was terribly slow, and it appears they were understaffed on a sold-out weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

decent restaurant on site (except for service). Lovely grounds - very attractive property (except for the old rooms).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Apple Farm Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Southern California
Jun 27, 2011

Convenient Location-Room too small

We checked in late at night. Check in was easy. Upon arrival in the room we were immediately disappointed. Basically a redone motel room the size of a bathroom. Two people couldn't move at the same time. TV was small and outdated and there were stains on the sheets. I talked my fiance into not changing rooms as it was late. When she went to the front desk in the morning they dismissed her complaints and said that [...]rooms were always the less desirable and to book directly on their website next time if we wanted another room. There wont be next time. Disappointing as she had recommend the hotel to friends over the last few years.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Apple Farm Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
FRESNO, CA
May 9, 2011

APPLE FARM INN

ROOM WAS VERY NICE. THEY HAD A WINE RECEPTION SATURDAY EVENING, VERY GOOD! ENJOYED OUR STAY.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Apple Farm Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fresno, CA
Apr 14, 2011

"Cozy."

Our stay was comfortable. I wish that more info on the size of the standard room was given, it was small. I would have taken a suite with tub. The price was high for the size of the room w/shower. Location and staff were all very nice and helpful. I would not stay in the standard room again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Not far from town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Apple Farm Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chino, Ca
Apr 6, 2011

Apple Farm

The Apple Farm is a great place to stay..The hotel is like staying at a comfortable place like your own home instead of a hotel..It is clean, the staff is friendly and the grounds are beautiful filled with all types of plants and flowers. What more could you want....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Apple Farm restaurant has the best home cooked food and delicious bakery goods..Try the cookies...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Apple Farm Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bay Area, CA
Nov 9, 2010

pretty, but some drawbacks

We visit our daughter at CalPoly and have tried to find some nice places that aren't too expensive. This is more than we usually spend, but it is very pretty and we had heard so much about it we decided to try it. The restaurant is as good as advertised, and we enjoyed our meal there. The grounds and common areas are beautifully decorated, even though it is a bit like living in a gift shop.I felt a little more like I was staying at a Disney re-creation of a cozy inn, than in a real one. Still, as I say, nicely done. If you don't pay the top price and stay in the lodge and end up in the "traveler's court", the rooms are surprisingly tiny. Despite the four poster bed and the private hot tub, we were less comfortable than we expected, mainly due to a less than pristine cleaning job and the need to maneuver around the small space. Unless we felt like springing for a lodge room next time, we would probably try something else. I'd still have a meal here, though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Apple Farm Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Inland Empire, CA
Oct 12, 2010

Quaint hotel in good location

My husband and I planned a little getaway to San Luis Obispo for a 4 day weekend. It is such a fun little town and if you haven't come before you must make it a place to visit even if it is just for the food. We also did a day trip up to San Francisco and ate breakfast at Mama's(A MUST) and an early dinner at Gott's. The Apple farm was a great hotel and in a perfect location. My one complaint is that upon checking in we were given a coupon for a free continental breakfast every morning in the restaurant. The cookies in the evening were so yummy that we decide to get the breakfast on Sunday. We made the mistake of putting the coupon out on our table where the waiter saw it. He didn't even come to say hello to us for 15 minutes. He finally did come over and said he would be back. Six minutes later he came to get our choice of muffin, scone & coffee or tea. We didn't get our food items for another 20 mins!!(While the other tables aroung us were getting taken care of in a timely fashion) My husband wanted to just leave, but we had already invested 45 mins there. The pecan pumpkin muffin was delicious, but I would never take up their offer again. **If you do decide to use it just don't put the coupon out where the waiter can see it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search