$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

San Jose Airport Garden Hotel

3 stars
1740 North First St., San Jose, CA 95112-4584
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
214 reviews
couple getaway

Beautifully relaxation stay ,very quiet atmosphere See full review

  • midnightsnowey
  • Oct 1, 2014
Good safe place for travelers.

I stayed at this hotel while traveling alone. I felt safe and took the opportunity to make stroll... See full review

  • KarenRetz
  • Aug 27, 2014
Affordable San Jose airport hotel provides convenient value with style
The serene San Jose Airport Garden Hotel caters equally to business travelers and vacationers with amenities ranging from a full-service business center to a 24-hour fitness room and a lagoon-like outdoor swimming pool. Proximity to the airport and Silcon Valley giants such as Hewlett Packard and Hitachi make this a budget-wise choice for business travel, and nearby theme parks and museums, plus on-site childcare, appeal to families. Free airport shuttle service and a crowd-pleasing casual Italian restaurant on-site sweeten the deal for everyone.
Highlights:
  • Fitness center open 24 hours
  • Largest hotel pool in San Jose
  • Casual Italian eatery Amalfi's Grill, located on-site
  • Peaceful garden setting with walking paths, waterfalls and palm trees on 17 acres of land
Rooms:

All 512 guest rooms and suites at the San Jose Airport Garden Hotel are decorated tastefully with traditional, minimalist decor and furnishings. Rooms are all nonsmoking and have either one king, two queen or two double beds. Heavenly pillow-top mattresses and blackout drapes encourage late sleeping. Cable TV, refrigerators (upon request), coffee-makers, CD players and a daily newspaper make guests feel at home.

Features:

Between the palm trees, waterfalls and walking paths and the heated outdoor pool and whirlpool on the 17-acre San Jose Airport Garden Hotel property, there are plenty of ways to relax here. Other conveniences include a 24-hour fitness center, on-site Italian restaurant and lounge, complimentary business center, meeting rooms, free wireless Internet, on-site rental car desk, an airport shuttle and childcare services (fees apply).

Transportation:
  • San Jose International (5 minutes)
  • San Francisco International Airport (37 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • VTA Light Rail station (1 minute walking)
  • Caltrain station (6 minutes)
Attractions:
  • Intel Museum (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • San Jose Museum of Art (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • HP Pavilion (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • San Jose Convention Center (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Winchester Mystery House (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • Santana Row (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • California's Great America (5.5 mi/8.9 km)
  • Great Mall (5.6 mi/9 km)
Business:
  • Business center with free high-speed wireless Internet access, printer, copier, fax machine, PC and courier service
  • Free in-room wireless Internet
  • Meeting rooms with ergonomic chairs, audio-visual equipment and event catering available

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed San Jose Airport Garden Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

San Jose Airport Garden Hotel Rooms

Standard King Room
Non-smoking King-size comfort awaits you in this classic guestroom that boasts one king bed with pillow top mattress, original artwork, and tempting extras, including; Cable/satellite TV cable television with pay movies, large work desk, blackout drapes, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, free local calls, Coffeemaker, Hair dryer, and Iron/ironing board.
Standard Two Queens Room
Non-smoking room with Two Queen size beds awaits you in this classic guestroom that boasts two beds with pillow top mattress's, original artwork, and tempting extras, including; Cable/satellite TV cable television with pay movies, large work desk, blackout drapes, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, free local calls, Coffeemaker, Hair dryer, and Iron/ironing board.
Suite
Spacious luxury can be yours in our exquisite Suites; you'll discover a myriad of added services for extra comfort. Choose from luxurious open-concept suites (no division between bedroom and sitting area) or a One Bed Room Suite that consists of a separate bedroom with a king bed and a parlor area, suited for multiple occupancy, families or the business traveler hosting a small meeting. Our Suites are Non-smoking room, with original artwork, and tempting extras, including; Cable/satellite TV cable television with pay movies, large work desk, blackout drapes, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, free local calls, Coffeemaker, Hair dryer, and Iron/ironing board.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed

Nearby points of interest

  • Japantown (San Jose): 1.8 mi
  • Heritage Rose Garden: 1.8 mi
  • Rosicrucian Egyptian Museum: 2.5 mi
  • SAP Center at San Jose: 2.7 mi
  • HP Pavilion: 2.7 mi
  • Municipal Rose Garden: 2.7 mi
  • St. Joseph Cathedral: 2.8 mi
  • San Jose Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • San Jose Repertory Theatre: 2.9 mi
  • Plaza de Cesar Chavez Park: 3 mi
  • San Jose Civic Auditorium: 3 mi
  • San Jose Center for the Performing Arts: 3 mi
  • The Event Center Arena: 3.1 mi
  • Children's Discovery Museum: 3.2 mi
  • San Jose Museum of Quilts & Textiles: 3.3 mi
  • Japantown (San Jose): 1.8 mi
  • Heritage Rose Garden: 1.8 mi
  • Rosicrucian Egyptian Museum: 2.5 mi
  • SAP Center at San Jose: 2.7 mi
  • HP Pavilion: 2.7 mi
  • Municipal Rose Garden: 2.7 mi
  • St. Joseph Cathedral: 2.8 mi
  • San Jose Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • San Jose Repertory Theatre: 2.9 mi
  • Plaza de Cesar Chavez Park: 3 mi
  • San Jose Civic Auditorium: 3 mi
  • San Jose Center for the Performing Arts: 3 mi
  • The Event Center Arena: 3.1 mi
  • Children's Discovery Museum: 3.2 mi
  • San Jose Museum of Quilts & Textiles: 3.3 mi
  • Winchester Mystery House: 4 mi
  • Los Gatos Creek Trail: 4.2 mi
  • Happy Hollow Park and Zoo: 4.2 mi
  • Japanese Friendship Garden: 4.4 mi
  • Willow Glen: 4.5 mi
  • History Park: 4.6 mi
  • Alum Rock Park: 6.1 mi
  • Raging Waters: 6.1 mi
  • Almaden Quicksilver County Park: 13.2 mi

Dining

Amalfi's Grill
Experience the flavours of Italy in a casual, finely-appointed Mediterranean-style setting. Open every day, Amalfi's Grill will delight you with delectable pasta, fish, and chicken dishes as well as savory soups, salads, and sandwiches for lunch and dinner. Breakfast brings out traditional but tasty staples like omelettes, potatoes, muffins, and fresh fruit. The only thing finer than the food is the service, which exemplifies the informal, yet accommodating, manner of Italy's Amalfi Coast. Located in the hotel lobby, Amalfi's Grill also provides seasonal outdoor patio/garden seating.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (214)

Ratings and reviews for San Jose Airport Garden Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
214 out of 214
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.4

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Jose Airport Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
reviewfrom503
Business
Portland, Oregon
Apr 1, 2012

No way this a 3 Star Hotel

Not satisfied. This was just a quick stay during an overnight layover at SJC. Waited a while for the shuttle, actually saw other shuttle drivers swing by twice while we waited. During a speedy check-in, we found out that even the lounge closed at 10pm, so no drinks, no food, no mini bar in the room. Went to the first room, while it appeared clean is smelled musty. Front desk quickly gave us another room which smelled better, but yuck - black stains on the green carpet, obvious ceiling patches that looked unfinished, big cracks poorly repaired in the "granite" vanity in the bathroom. The bed was clean and comfortable and we had no choice but to stay but felt like I really overpaid. There are so many other nearby airport hotels for the same price. You can do better!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Jose Airport Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
disgruntled professor
Business
eugene oregon
May 1, 2012

Poor value for the money. Overpriced and shabby.

This is a huge hotel with staff largely uninterested in assisting clients. We requested floor 2 but got a ground floor room at the very back of the complex. NOT to be recommended. There might be nicer rooms in Buildings 2,3, and 4. But the outlying buildings 7-8 are definitely to be avoided. Nice pool, but not well heated, so don't plan on using it in April. Rather shabby and needs to be updated. A staff member misdirected us to the airport before we left and we almost missed our flight. This was the final straw!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Jose Airport Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sanjose hotel stay
Business
san jose ca
May 11, 2012

disgusting

the rooms were shabby and old, the bed terrible, the air quality bad, this is no way a 3 star hotel, more like a 59 a night motel, very bad dont believe the nice photo the place was garbage and you can hear the highway nice and loud from your room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Jose Airport Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Todd H
Business
San Jose, CA
May 14, 2012

No way

Front desk staff was friendly. That's it, I wouldn't recommend it or stay again because it was a hotel with a great past heyday but wasn't clean or well-maintained. Scruffed hallways, toxic smelling elevator, smelly hallway carpets--the maid didn't even pick up the linens on the floor in my room, lightbulb was missing out of one lamp, had to call, bathroom fan didn't work, water pressure far too low. The staff deserve owners who care to restore this potential resort. Who gave it 3 stars? I don't trust the website anymore.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Jose Airport Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
sltbk71
Business
SLT
Aug 9, 2012

Terrible for the money

Was glad to only be in town for one night. This is an amazingly overpriced hotel close to the airport and hp pavilion. We checked in with 3 people. The room was about 85 degrees when we arrived. There were 2 towels in the room. First phone call. We decided to check out "the biggest pool in San Jose" instead of wait for the towels in the stifling heat of the room. After spending about an hour at the pool we got back to no new towels. Second phone call. After all of had taken showers with two of us sharing a towel the other towels finally arrived. When we got back from the concert we were in town for and tried to turn on the lights we noticed only one lamp still had a light bulb in it! All the other lamps had no light bulb. Third call to the front desk. No breakfast, no amenities, almost $200 a night? There are a few motel 6's etc on the same road. I'll be staying at one of them next time I'm in San Jose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Turn on the fan in the elevator for a good scare. Seriously terrifying.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Jose Airport Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SJ Hotel stay
Business
San Jose, California
Jan 18, 2013

There were ants......

This is an old hotel near the San Jose Airport, location is good. They have multiple buildings; my room was in building 6. The first room, 6309 was crawling with ants, I called and they moved me very quickly, no questions asked. I was reassigned 6312. Really old room. Very grimy feeling, the bathroom mirror had lots of stains, Furniture was from the 50's Both rooms had older large TV's that barely worked. The whole facility had that cheap hotel disinfectant smell. I stay in hotels 40-50 nights per year and generally Comfort Inn or Holiday Inn Express. This hotel was not up to those standards by any stretch. For the price, I had expected at least Comfort Inn standards.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Jose Airport Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
xtenkfarpl
Business
apopka fl
Feb 4, 2013

Incredibly rude staff

I've stayed here several times over the last couple of years for business trips, basically out of inertia since it's close to the office. It's generally been "OK"... not luxury, but a place to sleep. On this last trip though, I was rudely interrupted by some "security officer" pounding at my door at 11.30 PM saying they had a complaint that I had the TV too loud. He didn't politely ask me to turn it down: he immediately threatened to call the cops and shouted "one more complaint and you're outta here". I will NOT be using this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Jose Airport Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SylviaMarcos
Business
San Jose California
May 21, 2013

Outdated

The hotel room was like something out of a horror movie. It literally looked haunted. The bathroom had creepy decor. Everything in our room looked outdated and dirty. Staff was very rude!! Will never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Jose Airport Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
1971
Business
CA
Jun 23, 2013

Horrible Experience

We chose this property because if it's location and price. Turns out you truly get what you paid for. Our reservation was for 8 nights. The amenities were minimal and on day 6, our toilet developed a clogging problem. Three "attempts" to "fix" the issue and yet another call to the front desk after 3 AM, we got an apathetic front desk attendant who sent an apathetic security guards over with a plunger after a half hour wait. He handed us the plunger and said all he was told was to deliver the plunger. We had to plunge the toilet ourselves, and called the front desk again because we needed towels. Another half hour later, towels were delivered to our room -there was no mop to clean up the floor. Oh. We were told by the apathetic maintenance guy that we were using too much toilet paper. I will never recommend this place to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Jose Airport Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ron Lau
Business
San Francisco ca
Mar 29, 2014

Need to inspect comforters and sheets

I booked this hotel very last minute for a quick stay while attending a job interview in the San Jose area. The hotel seemed ok at first but upon check in we we're given a room on the first floor with access to the parking lot. The walls and doors are paper thin. The worst part of the stay was waking up and on the bed sheets / comforters appeared to be dried blood or a dried blood like substance. This was extremely disgusting. Having to run to my interview and being so disgusted, I was unable to report this to hotel management. I stay in hotels extremely frequently and this experience was horrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top