$72 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

San Jose Airport Garden Hotel

3 stars
1740 North First St., San Jose, CA 95112-4584
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
217 reviews
couple getaway

Beautifully relaxation stay ,very quiet atmosphere See full review

  • midnightsnowey
  • Oct 1, 2014
Good safe place for travelers.

I stayed at this hotel while traveling alone. I felt safe and took the opportunity to make stroll... See full review

  • KarenRetz
  • Aug 27, 2014
Affordable San Jose airport hotel provides convenient value with style
The serene San Jose Airport Garden Hotel caters equally to business travelers and vacationers with amenities ranging from a full-service business center to a 24-hour fitness room and a lagoon-like outdoor swimming pool. Proximity to the airport and Silcon Valley giants such as Hewlett Packard and Hitachi make this a budget-wise choice for business travel, and nearby theme parks and museums, plus on-site childcare, appeal to families. Free airport shuttle service and a crowd-pleasing casual Italian restaurant on-site sweeten the deal for everyone.
Highlights:
  • Fitness center open 24 hours
  • Largest hotel pool in San Jose
  • Casual Italian eatery Amalfi's Grill, located on-site
  • Peaceful garden setting with walking paths, waterfalls and palm trees on 17 acres of land
Rooms:

All 512 guest rooms and suites at the San Jose Airport Garden Hotel are decorated tastefully with traditional, minimalist decor and furnishings. Rooms are all nonsmoking and have either one king, two queen or two double beds. Heavenly pillow-top mattresses and blackout drapes encourage late sleeping. Cable TV, refrigerators (upon request), coffee-makers, CD players and a daily newspaper make guests feel at home.

Features:

Between the palm trees, waterfalls and walking paths and the heated outdoor pool and whirlpool on the 17-acre San Jose Airport Garden Hotel property, there are plenty of ways to relax here. Other conveniences include a 24-hour fitness center, on-site Italian restaurant and lounge, complimentary business center, meeting rooms, free wireless Internet, on-site rental car desk, an airport shuttle and childcare services (fees apply).

Transportation:
  • San Jose International (5 minutes)
  • San Francisco International Airport (37 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • VTA Light Rail station (1 minute walking)
  • Caltrain station (6 minutes)
Attractions:
  • Intel Museum (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • San Jose Museum of Art (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • HP Pavilion (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • San Jose Convention Center (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Winchester Mystery House (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • Santana Row (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • California's Great America (5.5 mi/8.9 km)
  • Great Mall (5.6 mi/9 km)
Business:
  • Business center with free high-speed wireless Internet access, printer, copier, fax machine, PC and courier service
  • Free in-room wireless Internet
  • Meeting rooms with ergonomic chairs, audio-visual equipment and event catering available

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed San Jose Airport Garden Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

San Jose Airport Garden Hotel Rooms

Standard King Room
Non-smoking King-size comfort awaits you in this classic guestroom that boasts one king bed with pillow top mattress, original artwork, and tempting extras, including; Cable/satellite TV cable television with pay movies, large work desk, blackout drapes, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, free local calls, Coffeemaker, Hair dryer, and Iron/ironing board.
Standard Two Queens Room
Non-smoking room with Two Queen size beds awaits you in this classic guestroom that boasts two beds with pillow top mattress's, original artwork, and tempting extras, including; Cable/satellite TV cable television with pay movies, large work desk, blackout drapes, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, free local calls, Coffeemaker, Hair dryer, and Iron/ironing board.
Suite
Spacious luxury can be yours in our exquisite Suites; you'll discover a myriad of added services for extra comfort. Choose from luxurious open-concept suites (no division between bedroom and sitting area) or a One Bed Room Suite that consists of a separate bedroom with a king bed and a parlor area, suited for multiple occupancy, families or the business traveler hosting a small meeting. Our Suites are Non-smoking room, with original artwork, and tempting extras, including; Cable/satellite TV cable television with pay movies, large work desk, blackout drapes, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, free local calls, Coffeemaker, Hair dryer, and Iron/ironing board.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed

Nearby points of interest

  • Japantown (San Jose): 1.8 mi
  • Heritage Rose Garden: 1.8 mi
  • Rosicrucian Egyptian Museum: 2.5 mi
  • SAP Center at San Jose: 2.7 mi
  • HP Pavilion: 2.7 mi
  • Municipal Rose Garden: 2.7 mi
  • St. Joseph Cathedral: 2.8 mi
  • San Jose Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • San Jose Repertory Theatre: 2.9 mi
  • Plaza de Cesar Chavez Park: 3 mi
  • San Jose Civic Auditorium: 3 mi
  • San Jose Center for the Performing Arts: 3 mi
  • The Event Center Arena: 3.1 mi
  • Children's Discovery Museum: 3.2 mi
  • San Jose Museum of Quilts & Textiles: 3.3 mi
  • Japantown (San Jose): 1.8 mi
  • Heritage Rose Garden: 1.8 mi
  • Rosicrucian Egyptian Museum: 2.5 mi
  • SAP Center at San Jose: 2.7 mi
  • HP Pavilion: 2.7 mi
  • Municipal Rose Garden: 2.7 mi
  • St. Joseph Cathedral: 2.8 mi
  • San Jose Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • San Jose Repertory Theatre: 2.9 mi
  • Plaza de Cesar Chavez Park: 3 mi
  • San Jose Civic Auditorium: 3 mi
  • San Jose Center for the Performing Arts: 3 mi
  • The Event Center Arena: 3.1 mi
  • Children's Discovery Museum: 3.2 mi
  • San Jose Museum of Quilts & Textiles: 3.3 mi
  • Winchester Mystery House: 4 mi
  • Los Gatos Creek Trail: 4.2 mi
  • Happy Hollow Park and Zoo: 4.2 mi
  • Japanese Friendship Garden: 4.4 mi
  • Willow Glen: 4.5 mi
  • History Park: 4.6 mi
  • Alum Rock Park: 6.1 mi
  • Raging Waters: 6.1 mi
  • Almaden Quicksilver County Park: 13.2 mi

Dining

Amalfi's Grill
Experience the flavours of Italy in a casual, finely-appointed Mediterranean-style setting. Open every day, Amalfi's Grill will delight you with delectable pasta, fish, and chicken dishes as well as savory soups, salads, and sandwiches for lunch and dinner. Breakfast brings out traditional but tasty staples like omelettes, potatoes, muffins, and fresh fruit. The only thing finer than the food is the service, which exemplifies the informal, yet accommodating, manner of Italy's Amalfi Coast. Located in the hotel lobby, Amalfi's Grill also provides seasonal outdoor patio/garden seating.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (217)

Ratings and reviews for San Jose Airport Garden Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
217 out of 217
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.4

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Jose Airport Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, TX
Sep 7, 2010

Very good business experience

We didn't get to the hotel until about six hours after our scheduled time due to flight delays. When we arrived at about 2:00 am, the staff was very friendly and attentive and got our rooms quickly and effectively. Since we arrived so late, the rental car counter was closed and we took a taxi to the hotel. After waking up the shuttle took me straight to the airport to pick up the car. On the second day of our being there, the A/C didn't seem to be working properly and a technician was sent up within minutes of our calling and the problem was resolved immediately. I did not have an opportunity to dine at the hotel, but my business associate did and said that what she had was very good. This was a business trip so we didn't have time tp take in any of the sites, but there was plenty of information available at the hotel for local attractions. Overall, it was a very pleasant experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

We had forgotten to bring some items for our meetings and were told where the nearest office supply store was and given precise directions

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Jose Airport Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
VA
May 11, 2011

Great hotel

-good location -good work out room -wireless

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

close to the airport

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Jose Airport Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KarenRetz
Business
North Dakota
Aug 27, 2014

Good safe place for travelers.

I stayed at this hotel while traveling alone. I felt safe and took the opportunity to make stroll the courtyard during the evening hours. It is well lit during the night--I checked out at 4:15 am and had no problem getting from my building(4) to the lobby across the courtyard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

close to airport and easy to get to the airport via the shuttle.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Jose Airport Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
midnightsnowey
Business
san Jose
Oct 1, 2014

couple getaway

Beautifully relaxation stay ,very quiet atmosphere

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Comfort

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Jose Airport Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Best Mom in The World ;)
Business
Santa Rosa, Ca.
Aug 4, 2009

Her First Concert JoBro

My daughter and I stayed here so we can go to the Jonas Brother concert.It was not too far from the HP Pavilion or dinning. She loved staying here, the swimming pool went to 10' deep,I was impressed with this. The room service menu was very small and not a good variety of food. She also like the birds in the lobby. Holiday Inn had a free punch from their punch bowl for guest in the day time, she loved this part. We both enjoyed our stay here and would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Jose Airport Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ashley Super Model
Business
Fresno, CA
Aug 29, 2009

Hard to find, but worth it

Wish there was room service 24/7 but what hotel has that accommodation? :) The staff was friendly, the rooms where on the big side and the showers are pretty cool. All-in-all, good hotel and a cheap price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Minutes from downtown San Jose.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Jose Airport Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh,PA
Mar 2, 2011

Great Location

Conveniently located near the light rail station which allows for quick trips to downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the light rail to downtown

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Jose Airport Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
larchard
Business
Bedford, Bedford Borough, UK
Nov 27, 2011

Convenient on a budget

Useful location in that the free public shuttle bus (VTA 10) stops outside in addition to the hotel's own pickup service. The VTA light rail is just outside too. The rooms are in several separate blocks, so there's a slight feel of a motel to the place. I can't comment on the bar/restaurant as I didn't go looking for either, but I did notice it was already closed (quite early) on the evening I arrived - not the place to sit up all night drinking. Seemed good value for the four nights I spent there and the good transport links meant I saved a lot on car hire or cab fares. I'll probably choose it again if I go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Original Joe's Italian diner. Get the VTA light rail (Winchester or Santa Teresa direction) to the Paseo de San Antonio stop. Look around or ask where Original Joe's is (about 100yds). If alone, try for a space at the counter to your left as you go in so you can watch the wood-burning grill in action. Good food in big portions.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Jose Airport Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Signol
Business
Honolulu
Jun 7, 2012

Good place to stay overall

I don't know about some of the recent negative reviews. The room i got was clean and pleasant - keep in mind, his is still a budget hotel. I only had one night stay and a quick check in - staff was professional. Overall, I had a good experience for the price i paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Jose Airport Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Captain GlobalVue
Business
San Jose, CA
Jun 26, 2012

Good Choice at San Jose Airport

Overall a great value and a convenient location. The shuttle service was excellent. Nice, quiet bar with a friendly staff was perfect after a long day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top