$84 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 22, 2014 Check-out: Aug 24, 2014

San Jose Airport Garden Hotel

3 stars
1740 North First St., San Jose, CA 95112-4584
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
273 reviews
A warm welcome

I felt very, very welcomed at the San Jose Airport Garden Hotel. Really comfortable stay and a nice... See full review

  • Bobby RW
  • Jun 9, 2014
Great hotel for a short trip

The hotel was great. I enjoyed my stay. Really close to the airport and downtown. The walls maybe... See full review

  • Tashikun
  • May 28, 2013
Affordable San Jose airport hotel provides convenient value with style
The serene San Jose Airport Garden Hotel caters equally to business travelers and vacationers with amenities ranging from a full-service business center to a 24-hour fitness room and a lagoon-like outdoor swimming pool. Proximity to the airport and Silcon Valley giants such as Hewlett Packard and Hitachi make this a budget-wise choice for business travel, and nearby theme parks and museums, plus on-site childcare, appeal to families. Free airport shuttle service and a crowd-pleasing casual Italian restaurant on-site sweeten the deal for everyone.
Highlights:
  • Fitness center open 24 hours
  • Largest hotel pool in San Jose
  • Casual Italian eatery Amalfi's Grill, located on-site
  • Peaceful garden setting with walking paths, waterfalls and palm trees on 17 acres of land
Rooms:

All 512 guest rooms and suites at the San Jose Airport Garden Hotel are decorated tastefully with traditional, minimalist decor and furnishings. Rooms are all nonsmoking and have either one king, two queen or two double beds. Heavenly pillow-top mattresses and blackout drapes encourage late sleeping. Cable TV, refrigerators (upon request), coffee-makers, CD players and a daily newspaper make guests feel at home.

Features:

Between the palm trees, waterfalls and walking paths and the heated outdoor pool and whirlpool on the 17-acre San Jose Airport Garden Hotel property, there are plenty of ways to relax here. Other conveniences include a 24-hour fitness center, on-site Italian restaurant and lounge, complimentary business center, meeting rooms, free wireless Internet, on-site rental car desk, an airport shuttle and childcare services (fees apply).

Transportation:
  • San Jose International (5 minutes)
  • San Francisco International Airport (37 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • VTA Light Rail station (1 minute walking)
  • Caltrain station (6 minutes)
Attractions:
  • Intel Museum (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • San Jose Museum of Art (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • HP Pavilion (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • San Jose Convention Center (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Winchester Mystery House (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • Santana Row (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • California's Great America (5.5 mi/8.9 km)
  • Great Mall (5.6 mi/9 km)
Business:
  • Business center with free high-speed wireless Internet access, printer, copier, fax machine, PC and courier service
  • Free in-room wireless Internet
  • Meeting rooms with ergonomic chairs, audio-visual equipment and event catering available

San Jose Airport Garden Hotel Rooms

Standard King Room
Non-smoking King-size comfort awaits you in this classic guestroom that boasts one king bed with pillow top mattress, original artwork, and tempting extras, including; Cable/satellite TV cable television with pay movies, large work desk, blackout drapes, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, free local calls, Coffeemaker, Hair dryer, and Iron/ironing board.
Standard Two Queens Room
Non-smoking room with Two Queen size beds awaits you in this classic guestroom that boasts two beds with pillow top mattress's, original artwork, and tempting extras, including; Cable/satellite TV cable television with pay movies, large work desk, blackout drapes, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, free local calls, Coffeemaker, Hair dryer, and Iron/ironing board.
Suite
Spacious luxury can be yours in our exquisite Suites; you'll discover a myriad of added services for extra comfort. Choose from luxurious open-concept suites (no division between bedroom and sitting area) or a One Bed Room Suite that consists of a separate bedroom with a king bed and a parlor area, suited for multiple occupancy, families or the business traveler hosting a small meeting. Our Suites are Non-smoking room, with original artwork, and tempting extras, including; Cable/satellite TV cable television with pay movies, large work desk, blackout drapes, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, free local calls, Coffeemaker, Hair dryer, and Iron/ironing board.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed San Jose Airport Garden Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.3696 -121.9154
Area served
San Jose, California, USA International Airport: 0.25 mi Domestic Airport: 0.25 mi Closest Public Transport: 10 feet Closest Major City: San Jose
Nearby airports
San Jose International Airport
Area description
Conveniently located off major freeways, less than one mile from San Jose International Airport, 4 miles from San Jose Convention Center and Downtown San Jose, and within minutes of major tech companies. You'll have no trouble accessing all that the vibrant Bay Area has to offer from our airport hotel. Just a few miles separate us from a wide range of shops, restaurants, theatres, museums, and theme parks like California's Great America in Santa Clara. In addition, the kingpins and start-ups of Silicon Valley are all within close proximity.

Nearby points of interest

  • Japantown (San Jose): 1.8 mi
  • Heritage Rose Garden: 1.8 mi
  • Rosicrucian Egyptian Museum: 2.5 mi
  • SAP Center at San Jose: 2.7 mi
  • HP Pavilion: 2.7 mi
  • Municipal Rose Garden: 2.7 mi
  • St. Joseph Cathedral: 2.8 mi
  • San Jose Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • San Jose Repertory Theatre: 2.9 mi
  • Plaza de Cesar Chavez Park: 3 mi
  • San Jose Civic Auditorium: 3 mi
  • San Jose Center for the Performing Arts: 3 mi
  • The Event Center Arena: 3.1 mi
  • Children's Discovery Museum: 3.2 mi
  • San Jose Museum of Quilts & Textiles: 3.3 mi
  • Japantown (San Jose): 1.8 mi
  • Heritage Rose Garden: 1.8 mi
  • Rosicrucian Egyptian Museum: 2.5 mi
  • SAP Center at San Jose: 2.7 mi
  • HP Pavilion: 2.7 mi
  • Municipal Rose Garden: 2.7 mi
  • St. Joseph Cathedral: 2.8 mi
  • San Jose Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • San Jose Repertory Theatre: 2.9 mi
  • Plaza de Cesar Chavez Park: 3 mi
  • San Jose Civic Auditorium: 3 mi
  • San Jose Center for the Performing Arts: 3 mi
  • The Event Center Arena: 3.1 mi
  • Children's Discovery Museum: 3.2 mi
  • San Jose Museum of Quilts & Textiles: 3.3 mi
  • Winchester Mystery House: 4 mi
  • Los Gatos Creek Trail: 4.2 mi
  • Happy Hollow Park and Zoo: 4.2 mi
  • Japanese Friendship Garden: 4.4 mi
  • Willow Glen: 4.5 mi
  • History Park: 4.6 mi
  • Alum Rock Park: 6.1 mi
  • Raging Waters: 6.1 mi
  • Almaden Quicksilver County Park: 13.2 mi

Dining

Amalfi's Grill
Experience the flavours of Italy in a casual, finely-appointed Mediterranean-style setting. Open every day, Amalfi's Grill will delight you with delectable pasta, fish, and chicken dishes as well as savory soups, salads, and sandwiches for lunch and dinner. Breakfast brings out traditional but tasty staples like omelettes, potatoes, muffins, and fresh fruit. The only thing finer than the food is the service, which exemplifies the informal, yet accommodating, manner of Italy's Amalfi Coast. Located in the hotel lobby, Amalfi's Grill also provides seasonal outdoor patio/garden seating.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (273)

Ratings and reviews for San Jose Airport Garden Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
273 out of 273
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.5

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Jose Airport Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr.Juice
Ventura
Jul 3, 2014

Okay sometimes

For the price, I think you need a little bit more like for example: free breakfast, larger rooms, better looking bathrooms, but if that is your only choice, it is clean, room service is excellent and if you get section 8 it is very peaceful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dennys is a good choice if your on vacation and on a budget.

Review of San Jose Airport Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland, OR
Jun 13, 2010

Enjoyed out stay at the Holiday Inn

I had been very apprehensive after reading some reviews about this place and I'm happy to say those bad reviews were wrong. The pool was fantastic! The room was comfortable and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. Had a very good Irish Coffee in the lounge. Didn't eat there however, but there were many options to choose from across the street. BTW, this is a pet friendly hotel and unfortunately some other guests brought a little dog with EXTREME separation anxiety. After 10 minutes of relentless barking we called the front desk and within minutes they were there to take us to a new room. I don't blame the hotel at all. I blame the other guests who should've boarded their dog at a doggie hotel. Also, both of the maids we encountered were very friendly. We thougth our coffee maker required a coffee pot and after asking the maid for one she showed us how to use it. You could tell she couldn't speak English very well, but she understood what we were saying and was able to communicate what we needed to know. So, don't listen to the person who had problems with the staff not speaking perfect English. Sounds to me like the problem was that particular guest and their personal shortcomings. Even my parents said they would stay there the next time they were in San Jose. They stayed at the Comfort Inn on 13th and said never again to that place. My Mom is very picky and it passed muster with her. The people who complained about the cable and fitness center were just "complainers" in my book. When I'm on the road I'm not in it for cable TV and a fitness room. If you need an aerobic workout go to the "Poorboy Bistro" DT San JOse. They have outstanding music and food. All in all I would recommend people to go here. If you want fancy linens and whatever, go somewhere that will charge you for your caviar tastes. If you want something that's affordable and comfortable with a great pool and friendly staff book The Holiday Inn on 1st in San Jose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Like I said "The Poorboy Bistro" has outstanding music and food and no cover charge. Closes early though.

Review of San Jose Airport Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fresno, Ca
Sep 5, 2009

very nice....

The hotel was clean and Quiet..The water from faucet was not good to drink (not clear)..They said it was a city problem...The room was close to airport and that is what I wanted..I went to pick up someone who flew into san Jose...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of San Jose Airport Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bbtrob
watsonville CA
Aug 28, 2009

beautiful and huge

first time stay here, chosen for the good price and proximity to the airport. beautiful hotel, but so large it was very difficult to navigate around in, i got lost a couple times even when i thought i was following the signs. room very comfortable, clean, nice coffee maker (a must for me). stayed just one night then off to the airport. would definitely recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of San Jose Airport Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Novi, MI
May 30, 2011

Good enough

The location is not the best. There are not stores inside or near (walking distances) from the hotel. The room was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of San Jose Airport Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose,Ca
Oct 13, 2009

Holiday Inn San Jose

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at th Holiday Inn San Jose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Jose Airport Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 18, 2007

good for Family

The Room was Very Clean , I like like that. location Ok,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

More Restaurant.

Review of San Jose Airport Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fresno, Ca
Sep 5, 2009

very nice....

The hotel was clean and Quiet..The water from faucet was not good to drink (not clear)..They said it was a city problem...The room was close to airport and that is what I wanted..I went to pick up someone who flew into san Jose...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of San Jose Airport Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose California
Oct 5, 2009

Nice for Business

Was there on business room was clean bed was comfortable. Trip was nice stay was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Jose Airport Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Outnabout14
Pittsburgh
Feb 21, 2014

Airport layover

Staff and customer service above and beyond. We arrives from a direct Hawaii flight with a 2 yr old at 11:30 pm. Security drive us to our room with his golf cart and helped with out luggage!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top