$70 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

San Jose Airport Garden Hotel

3 stars
1740 North First St., San Jose, CA 95112-4584
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
196 reviews
Good safe place for travelers.

I stayed at this hotel while traveling alone. I felt safe and took the opportunity to make stroll... See full review

  • KarenRetz
  • Aug 27, 2014
A warm welcome

I felt very, very welcomed at the San Jose Airport Garden Hotel. Really comfortable stay and a nice... See full review

  • Bobby RW
  • Jun 9, 2014
Affordable San Jose airport hotel provides convenient value with style
The serene San Jose Airport Garden Hotel caters equally to business travelers and vacationers with amenities ranging from a full-service business center to a 24-hour fitness room and a lagoon-like outdoor swimming pool. Proximity to the airport and Silcon Valley giants such as Hewlett Packard and Hitachi make this a budget-wise choice for business travel, and nearby theme parks and museums, plus on-site childcare, appeal to families. Free airport shuttle service and a crowd-pleasing casual Italian restaurant on-site sweeten the deal for everyone.
Highlights:
  • Fitness center open 24 hours
  • Largest hotel pool in San Jose
  • Casual Italian eatery Amalfi's Grill, located on-site
  • Peaceful garden setting with walking paths, waterfalls and palm trees on 17 acres of land
Rooms:

All 512 guest rooms and suites at the San Jose Airport Garden Hotel are decorated tastefully with traditional, minimalist decor and furnishings. Rooms are all nonsmoking and have either one king, two queen or two double beds. Heavenly pillow-top mattresses and blackout drapes encourage late sleeping. Cable TV, refrigerators (upon request), coffee-makers, CD players and a daily newspaper make guests feel at home.

Features:

Between the palm trees, waterfalls and walking paths and the heated outdoor pool and whirlpool on the 17-acre San Jose Airport Garden Hotel property, there are plenty of ways to relax here. Other conveniences include a 24-hour fitness center, on-site Italian restaurant and lounge, complimentary business center, meeting rooms, free wireless Internet, on-site rental car desk, an airport shuttle and childcare services (fees apply).

Transportation:
  • San Jose International (5 minutes)
  • San Francisco International Airport (37 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • VTA Light Rail station (1 minute walking)
  • Caltrain station (6 minutes)
Attractions:
  • Intel Museum (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • San Jose Museum of Art (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • HP Pavilion (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • San Jose Convention Center (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Winchester Mystery House (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • Santana Row (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • California's Great America (5.5 mi/8.9 km)
  • Great Mall (5.6 mi/9 km)
Business:
  • Business center with free high-speed wireless Internet access, printer, copier, fax machine, PC and courier service
  • Free in-room wireless Internet
  • Meeting rooms with ergonomic chairs, audio-visual equipment and event catering available

Hotel Map

37.3696 -121.9154
Area served
San Jose, California, USA International Airport: 0.25 mi Domestic Airport: 0.25 mi Closest Public Transport: 10 feet Closest Major City: San Jose
Nearby airports
San Jose International Airport
Area description
Conveniently located off major freeways, less than one mile from San Jose International Airport, 4 miles from San Jose Convention Center and Downtown San Jose, and within minutes of major tech companies. You'll have no trouble accessing all that the vibrant Bay Area has to offer from our airport hotel. Just a few miles separate us from a wide range of shops, restaurants, theatres, museums, and theme parks like California's Great America in Santa Clara. In addition, the kingpins and start-ups of Silicon Valley are all within close proximity.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed San Jose Airport Garden Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

San Jose Airport Garden Hotel Rooms

Standard King Room
Non-smoking King-size comfort awaits you in this classic guestroom that boasts one king bed with pillow top mattress, original artwork, and tempting extras, including; Cable/satellite TV cable television with pay movies, large work desk, blackout drapes, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, free local calls, Coffeemaker, Hair dryer, and Iron/ironing board.
Standard Two Queens Room
Non-smoking room with Two Queen size beds awaits you in this classic guestroom that boasts two beds with pillow top mattress's, original artwork, and tempting extras, including; Cable/satellite TV cable television with pay movies, large work desk, blackout drapes, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, free local calls, Coffeemaker, Hair dryer, and Iron/ironing board.
Suite
Spacious luxury can be yours in our exquisite Suites; you'll discover a myriad of added services for extra comfort. Choose from luxurious open-concept suites (no division between bedroom and sitting area) or a One Bed Room Suite that consists of a separate bedroom with a king bed and a parlor area, suited for multiple occupancy, families or the business traveler hosting a small meeting. Our Suites are Non-smoking room, with original artwork, and tempting extras, including; Cable/satellite TV cable television with pay movies, large work desk, blackout drapes, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, free local calls, Coffeemaker, Hair dryer, and Iron/ironing board.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed

Nearby points of interest

  • Japantown (San Jose): 1.8 mi
  • Heritage Rose Garden: 1.8 mi
  • Rosicrucian Egyptian Museum: 2.5 mi
  • SAP Center at San Jose: 2.7 mi
  • HP Pavilion: 2.7 mi
  • Municipal Rose Garden: 2.7 mi
  • St. Joseph Cathedral: 2.8 mi
  • San Jose Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • San Jose Repertory Theatre: 2.9 mi
  • Plaza de Cesar Chavez Park: 3 mi
  • San Jose Civic Auditorium: 3 mi
  • San Jose Center for the Performing Arts: 3 mi
  • The Event Center Arena: 3.1 mi
  • Children's Discovery Museum: 3.2 mi
  • San Jose Museum of Quilts & Textiles: 3.3 mi
  • Japantown (San Jose): 1.8 mi
  • Heritage Rose Garden: 1.8 mi
  • Rosicrucian Egyptian Museum: 2.5 mi
  • SAP Center at San Jose: 2.7 mi
  • HP Pavilion: 2.7 mi
  • Municipal Rose Garden: 2.7 mi
  • St. Joseph Cathedral: 2.8 mi
  • San Jose Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • San Jose Repertory Theatre: 2.9 mi
  • Plaza de Cesar Chavez Park: 3 mi
  • San Jose Civic Auditorium: 3 mi
  • San Jose Center for the Performing Arts: 3 mi
  • The Event Center Arena: 3.1 mi
  • Children's Discovery Museum: 3.2 mi
  • San Jose Museum of Quilts & Textiles: 3.3 mi
  • Winchester Mystery House: 4 mi
  • Los Gatos Creek Trail: 4.2 mi
  • Happy Hollow Park and Zoo: 4.2 mi
  • Japanese Friendship Garden: 4.4 mi
  • Willow Glen: 4.5 mi
  • History Park: 4.6 mi
  • Alum Rock Park: 6.1 mi
  • Raging Waters: 6.1 mi
  • Almaden Quicksilver County Park: 13.2 mi

Dining

Amalfi's Grill
Experience the flavours of Italy in a casual, finely-appointed Mediterranean-style setting. Open every day, Amalfi's Grill will delight you with delectable pasta, fish, and chicken dishes as well as savory soups, salads, and sandwiches for lunch and dinner. Breakfast brings out traditional but tasty staples like omelettes, potatoes, muffins, and fresh fruit. The only thing finer than the food is the service, which exemplifies the informal, yet accommodating, manner of Italy's Amalfi Coast. Located in the hotel lobby, Amalfi's Grill also provides seasonal outdoor patio/garden seating.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (196)

Ratings and reviews for San Jose Airport Garden Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
196 out of 196
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4
Value:
3.4

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Jose Airport Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Captain GlobalVue
Business
San Jose, CA
Jun 26, 2012

Good Choice at San Jose Airport

Overall a great value and a convenient location. The shuttle service was excellent. Nice, quiet bar with a friendly staff was perfect after a long day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Jose Airport Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
May 25, 2008

A Hidden Treasure

Our stay at The Holiday Inn, San Jose was a delightful experience. It's beautifully groomed grounds host a number of chic sculptures while it's reception area and dining room are reminiscent of a charming high class hotel. The staff were friendly and accommodating and our room was well presented and well detailed. The two queen beds were comfortable and loaded with pillows. The bathroom was large with an oversize shower complete with in-shower seat. I enjoyed the fact that it had a plenty of counter space and was well lit. We had an enjoyable stay and have no doubt that we will stay there again if the need arises.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of San Jose Airport Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Dec 19, 2007

Good location for business. Staff worked hard to make sure stay was good.

Nice hotel location for airport. Staff worked hard to insure stay was good. Room was good and had a good nights sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Jose Airport Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Manokwari
May 4, 2008

Great place to stay

This hotel was close to Down town San Jose and had a much better price range. We were treated with professionalism by the staff. The hotel was clean and comfortable. I will stay there every time I go to San Jose!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to Downtown San Jose where there are a lot of restaurants and fun places to visit.

Review of San Jose Airport Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Evanston
Sep 21, 2008

Great staff

The Holiday Inn in San Jose CA is situated on 17 acres near Highway 101. Our room was spacious and clean, with a balcony that overlooked the pool area. In addition to the king-sized bed, there were two comfortable chairs in the room. I was surprised that the room did not have a microwave or refrigerator. There are, however, two restaurants on the property. We stayed in the main building, which appears to have been renovated. At check-in we were given a room in Building 7, which (even though this is a smoke-free hotel) smelled strongly as if someone had been smoking in it. They quickly accommodated our request for another room, and apologized for the inconvenience. The free parking was convenient to our building. When we returned our rental car the night before our early morning flight, they picked us up at the car rental agency. The grounds are spacious enough for a nice evening walk, as there does not seem to be too much in the way of entertainment near by. I would definitely stay here again, and look forward to my next trip to San Jose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Jose Airport Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chino, CA
Apr 11, 2011

"Clean & comfortable rooms "

Great location, close to everything in San Jose. Great service & very clean & comfortable rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of San Jose Airport Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KarenRetz
North Dakota
Aug 27, 2014

Good safe place for travelers.

I stayed at this hotel while traveling alone. I felt safe and took the opportunity to make stroll the courtyard during the evening hours. It is well lit during the night--I checked out at 4:15 am and had no problem getting from my building(4) to the lobby across the courtyard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

close to airport and easy to get to the airport via the shuttle.

Review of San Jose Airport Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Deerfield, IL
Oct 25, 2010

San Jose Trip

Perfect location to the client.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Jose Airport Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, TX
Sep 7, 2010

Very good business experience

We didn't get to the hotel until about six hours after our scheduled time due to flight delays. When we arrived at about 2:00 am, the staff was very friendly and attentive and got our rooms quickly and effectively. Since we arrived so late, the rental car counter was closed and we took a taxi to the hotel. After waking up the shuttle took me straight to the airport to pick up the car. On the second day of our being there, the A/C didn't seem to be working properly and a technician was sent up within minutes of our calling and the problem was resolved immediately. I did not have an opportunity to dine at the hotel, but my business associate did and said that what she had was very good. This was a business trip so we didn't have time tp take in any of the sites, but there was plenty of information available at the hotel for local attractions. Overall, it was a very pleasant experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

We had forgotten to bring some items for our meetings and were told where the nearest office supply store was and given precise directions

Review of San Jose Airport Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Reno, NV
Jan 7, 2008

Lovely setting

The Holiday Inn in San Jose is not the stereotypical Holiday Inn. It is a large comfortable hotel with a lovely patio area in back leading to its conference facilities. The room was not overly large but was very comfortable and tastefully decorated. It is very convenient to the San Jose airport. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The on ramp to Highway 101 is only a block or two from the hotel giving one access to a wide variety of activities.

Review of San Jose Airport Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Mar 9, 2008

Close to all the hip spots

You know I didn't spend much time in my room but when I did I felt very comfortable and was able to relax. The bedding was nice which was nice and rare to come across. I would def go back again and probably will next month.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Nearby is the convention center and a bunch of bars and clubs....

Back to menu Return to top

Change search