$87 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 20, 2015 Check-out: Feb 23, 2015

San Jose Airport Garden Hotel

3 stars
1740 North First St., San Jose, CA 95112-4584
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
227 reviews
Pleasant stop over

Restful and clean. Just what we needed for one night on our way to Merced. Q See full review

  • Next Stop Merced
  • Jan 16, 2015
great spot

minutes from the airport, minutes fomr a casino...and the room was clean. restaurant AND bar in the... See full review

  • gil612
  • Jan 14, 2015
Affordable San Jose airport hotel provides convenient value with style
The serene San Jose Airport Garden Hotel caters equally to business travelers and vacationers with amenities ranging from a full-service business center to a 24-hour fitness room and a lagoon-like outdoor swimming pool. Proximity to the airport and Silcon Valley giants such as Hewlett Packard and Hitachi make this a budget-wise choice for business travel, and nearby theme parks and museums, plus on-site childcare, appeal to families. Free airport shuttle service and a crowd-pleasing casual Italian restaurant on-site sweeten the deal for everyone.
Highlights:
  • Fitness center open 24 hours
  • Largest hotel pool in San Jose
  • Casual Italian eatery Amalfi's Grill, located on-site
  • Peaceful garden setting with walking paths, waterfalls and palm trees on 17 acres of land
Rooms:

All 512 guest rooms and suites at the San Jose Airport Garden Hotel are decorated tastefully with traditional, minimalist decor and furnishings. Rooms are all nonsmoking and have either one king, two queen or two double beds. Heavenly pillow-top mattresses and blackout drapes encourage late sleeping. Cable TV, refrigerators (upon request), coffee-makers, CD players and a daily newspaper make guests feel at home.

Features:

Between the palm trees, waterfalls and walking paths and the heated outdoor pool and whirlpool on the 17-acre San Jose Airport Garden Hotel property, there are plenty of ways to relax here. Other conveniences include a 24-hour fitness center, on-site Italian restaurant and lounge, complimentary business center, meeting rooms, free wireless Internet, on-site rental car desk, an airport shuttle and childcare services (fees apply).

Transportation:
  • San Jose International (5 minutes)
  • San Francisco International Airport (37 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (40 minutes)
  • VTA Light Rail station (1 minute walking)
  • Caltrain station (6 minutes)
Attractions:
  • Intel Museum (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • San Jose Museum of Art (2.9 mi/4.7 km)
  • HP Pavilion (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • San Jose Convention Center (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Winchester Mystery House (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • Santana Row (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • California's Great America (5.5 mi/8.9 km)
  • Great Mall (5.6 mi/9 km)
Business:
  • Business center with free high-speed wireless Internet access, printer, copier, fax machine, PC and courier service
  • Free in-room wireless Internet
  • Meeting rooms with ergonomic chairs, audio-visual equipment and event catering available

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed San Jose Airport Garden Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

San Jose Airport Garden Hotel Rooms

Standard King Room
Non-smoking King-size comfort awaits you in this classic guestroom that boasts one king bed with pillow top mattress, original artwork, and tempting extras, including; Cable/satellite TV cable television with pay movies, large work desk, blackout drapes, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, free local calls, Coffeemaker, Hair dryer, and Iron/ironing board.
Standard Two Queens Room
Non-smoking room with Two Queen size beds awaits you in this classic guestroom that boasts two beds with pillow top mattress's, original artwork, and tempting extras, including; Cable/satellite TV cable television with pay movies, large work desk, blackout drapes, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, free local calls, Coffeemaker, Hair dryer, and Iron/ironing board.
Suite
Spacious luxury can be yours in our exquisite Suites; you'll discover a myriad of added services for extra comfort. Choose from luxurious open-concept suites (no division between bedroom and sitting area) or a One Bed Room Suite that consists of a separate bedroom with a king bed and a parlor area, suited for multiple occupancy, families or the business traveler hosting a small meeting. Our Suites are Non-smoking room, with original artwork, and tempting extras, including; Cable/satellite TV cable television with pay movies, large work desk, blackout drapes, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, free local calls, Coffeemaker, Hair dryer, and Iron/ironing board.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed

Nearby points of interest

  • Japantown (San Jose): 1.8 mi
  • Heritage Rose Garden: 1.8 mi
  • Rosicrucian Egyptian Museum: 2.5 mi
  • SAP Center at San Jose: 2.7 mi
  • HP Pavilion: 2.7 mi
  • Municipal Rose Garden: 2.7 mi
  • St. Joseph Cathedral: 2.8 mi
  • San Jose Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • San Jose Repertory Theatre: 2.9 mi
  • Plaza de Cesar Chavez Park: 3 mi
  • San Jose Civic Auditorium: 3 mi
  • San Jose Center for the Performing Arts: 3 mi
  • The Event Center Arena: 3.1 mi
  • Children's Discovery Museum: 3.2 mi
  • San Jose Museum of Quilts & Textiles: 3.3 mi
  • Japantown (San Jose): 1.8 mi
  • Heritage Rose Garden: 1.8 mi
  • Rosicrucian Egyptian Museum: 2.5 mi
  • SAP Center at San Jose: 2.7 mi
  • HP Pavilion: 2.7 mi
  • Municipal Rose Garden: 2.7 mi
  • St. Joseph Cathedral: 2.8 mi
  • San Jose Museum of Art: 2.8 mi
  • San Jose Repertory Theatre: 2.9 mi
  • Plaza de Cesar Chavez Park: 3 mi
  • San Jose Civic Auditorium: 3 mi
  • San Jose Center for the Performing Arts: 3 mi
  • The Event Center Arena: 3.1 mi
  • Children's Discovery Museum: 3.2 mi
  • San Jose Museum of Quilts & Textiles: 3.3 mi
  • Winchester Mystery House: 4 mi
  • Los Gatos Creek Trail: 4.2 mi
  • Happy Hollow Park and Zoo: 4.2 mi
  • Japanese Friendship Garden: 4.4 mi
  • Willow Glen: 4.5 mi
  • History Park: 4.6 mi
  • Alum Rock Park: 6.1 mi
  • Raging Waters: 6.1 mi
  • Almaden Quicksilver County Park: 13.2 mi

Dining

Amalfi's Grill
Experience the flavours of Italy in a casual, finely-appointed Mediterranean-style setting. Open every day, Amalfi's Grill will delight you with delectable pasta, fish, and chicken dishes as well as savory soups, salads, and sandwiches for lunch and dinner. Breakfast brings out traditional but tasty staples like omelettes, potatoes, muffins, and fresh fruit. The only thing finer than the food is the service, which exemplifies the informal, yet accommodating, manner of Italy's Amalfi Coast. Located in the hotel lobby, Amalfi's Grill also provides seasonal outdoor patio/garden seating.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (227)

Ratings and reviews for San Jose Airport Garden Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
227 out of 227
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4
Value:
3.4

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Jose Airport Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ronald A.
Business
Glendora
Jan 20, 2015

Great for short Family/Business Trip

The hotel is centrally located , the rooms were clean and neat as were the amenities, the only disappointment was the restaurant which had an extremely limited menu and the food was really mediocre. Other than that it was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

I already stated my tip above, best to choose a restaurant that is outside of the hotel since the in house restaurant has a very limited menu and the food is really not that good, and they were also quite short on staff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Jose Airport Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Next Stop Merced
Business
N/A
Jan 16, 2015

Pleasant stop over

Restful and clean. Just what we needed for one night on our way to Merced. Q

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

This is our third trip and wouldn't stay anywhere else.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Jose Airport Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gil612
Business
winnetka
Jan 14, 2015

great spot

minutes from the airport, minutes fomr a casino...and the room was clean. restaurant AND bar in the lobby.couldnt ask for naything more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Jose Airport Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hoan N.
Business
N/A
Jan 9, 2015

Road Trip

It is good for the price. We took a family road trip and just want a place to sleep. Ok to stay for short period. Convenience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Jose Airport Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Douglas T.
Business
Osawatomie
Jan 5, 2015

Enjoyable trip to visit family.

Our stay was very enjoyable. Staff was efficient and very prompt in meeting our requests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Jose Airport Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
N/A
Jan 5, 2015

Hotel location and Price are Good, but Amenities are too old

Hotel location and Price were Good, but Amenities were too old: carpets, furnitures, etc. The Wi-Fi was too slow and frequently dropped connections.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Jose Airport Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Overtheocean
Business
boston
Dec 29, 2014

okay place

okay place nearby place the airport, not the best ever but practical

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Jose Airport Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lee W.
Business
N/A
Dec 29, 2014

JUST SAY NO!!!!

the pictures of the hotel on the site are grossly misleading! the staff was rude and only one could speak clear english. The Asian lady who checked us in was rude and hurried us through the process while speaking like a robot. the bartender was the only nice and considerate employee we encountered in our 4 day stay. There was no channel guide and most of the channels were fuzzy the remote was disgusting and hadn't been cleaned in a long time There is no refrigerators in any of their rooms and if you want one then it is $10 extra per day! No microwaves in their rooms either, one in lobby. My husband can't do elevators so we used the stairs....the stair hallways smelled horrible....a cross between wet dog and urine! the grounds could be beautiful but are not taken care of, fountains are full of algae and only some work. The entry tent is dirty and could use a washing. Bad to see when you first arrive at hotel. The wheel on our desk chair was broke and we couldn't use it. There was a few pieces of trash in stairwell we used the entire stay and it was still there when we left (4 days later). There was hair in our shower when we arrived. Here is the best part, on the day we checkout we go to shower and realize there is NO WATER!!!!! We call the front desk and she says "Oh yeah it will be off for 4-5 hours due to a water issue". ARE YOU KIDDING ME??? We couldn't shower, use the toilet or brush our teeth before we left for the airport! JUST DON'T STAY HERE!!!! IT IS NOT WHAT IT LOOKS LIKE ONLINE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Jose Airport Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Danna c.
Business
N/A
Dec 24, 2014

Nothing pretty about this "Garden"

This hotel really needs an upgrade.. everything is really old and falls apart if you touch it. The lobby is nice but that's the only thing they put effort into. The security is nosey too. Asked me if I was outside waiting for someone at like 930 at night. The motel 6 looks pretty good compared to this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Jose Airport Garden Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Overtheocean
Business
boston
Dec 20, 2014

okay place

okay place nearby place the airport, not the best ever but practical

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top