$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 26, 2014 Check-out: Dec 29, 2014

Fairmont San Jose

4 stars
170 South Market St, San Jose, CA 95113
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
75 reviews
Great downtown hotel

We needed a hotel close to the airport and the baby shower we were attending. The Fairmont fit the... See full review

  • 1Geronimo
  • Sep 1, 2014
One of the nicest hotels I've ever been to.

This Hotel was plush, and absolutely ultra clean. The room was spacious and we'll stocked with... See full review

  • David Od
  • Aug 31, 2014
Style and substance add up to four-star luxury at San Jose hotel

Stately and opulent, this downtown hotel boasts all the grandeur one would expect from the Fairmont brand. A light-filled lobby greets guests for check-in, while impeccably decorated rooms welcome them into homey luxury. Property amenities include a full-service business center, fitness room, day spa and an array of dining options, from high-end seafood and steaks to Chinese cuisine.

Highlights:
  • Four on-site restaurants and two bars
  • Full-service day spa on premises
  • 24-hour business center
  • Rooftop pool
Rooms:

The Fairmont's handsomely appointed guest rooms and suites showcase contemporary decor, soothing neutral colors and high-end furnishings. Marble bathrooms with separate showers and bathtubs create a luxurious ambiance, and amenities such as bathrobes, mini-bars and Internet access (fees apply) make guests feel at home. Most rooms have views of either the Santa Cruz Mountains or San Jose skyline.

Features:

Entertainment options abound at the Fairmont. Tova Day Spa has an array of body, skin, hair and nail treatments, and the large fitness center is outfitted with top-of-the-line Precor and Cyber equipment, plus locker rooms with saunas and steam rooms. In addition to 24-hour room service, there are four on-site restaurants to curb cravings of all persuasions: The Fountain Restaurant, Pagoda, The Grill on the Alley and Mccormick and Schmick's. Afternoon tea is served from 2 p.m. to 4 p.m. in the lobby, but visitors who want something stronger can find more than 500 cocktail options in the Lobby Lounge or tropical drinks at Bamboo Lounge. Business travelers appreciate the round-the-clock business center, and eco-friendly overnight guests with hybrid vehicles enjoy half-off parking rates.

Transportation:
  • VTA bus stop (across the street)
  • VTA light rail (0.2 mi/0.9 km)
  • Caltrain (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • San Jose International Airport (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (35.8 mi/57.6 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (36.4 mi/58.6 km)
Attractions:
  • San Jose Convention Center (across the street)
  • Tech Museum of Innovation (across the street)
  • HP Pavilion (across the street)
  • Children's Discovery Museum (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Santana Row (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
  • Winchester Mystery House (4.1 mi/6.7 km)
Business:
  • 24-hour automated business center with shipping and office supplies and equipment rental
  • 65,000 square feet of meeting space
  • High-speed Internet access available (fees apply)

Hotel Map

37.333 -121.8898
Area served
San Jose, California San Francisco, California
Nearby airports
San Jose Intl Airport, (SJC), 3.00, S, Mile; San Francisco Intl Airport, (SFO), 36.00, SE, Mile; Oakland Intl Airport, (OAK), 36.00, S, Mile
Area description
Fairmont San Jose is located in the heart of Silicon Valley just a short drive to more than 30 wineries and the famous Monterey peninsula golf courses - superb restaurants and the scenic coast of Santa Cruz.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Fairmont San Jose also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Fairmont San Jose Rooms

1 BR King Suite Main Bldg
900 SF 1-Bedroom suite located in the Main Building, floors 3-9. Bedroom is 450 FT and Parlour 450SF. Guest room features include 32" HDTV, exquisite Le Labo bathroom amenities, coffee station, work desk, In-Room Safe and refreshment center
Fairmont Dbl/Dbl Tower
Spacious 450 SF guestroom located on floors 3-8 of the South Tower. Guestroom features includes 32" HDTV, workdesk, exquisite Le Labo bathroom amenities, coffee station, In-Room Safe and refreshment center
Fairmont King Main Bldg
Spacious 450 SF guestroom located on floors 3-9 of the main building. Newly renovated Summer 2013. Guestroom features include 32" HDTV, workdesk, exquisite Le Labo bathroom amenities, coffee station, In-Room Safe and refreshment center
Fairmont King Tower
Spacious 450 SF guestroom located on floors 3-8 of the South Tower. Guestroom features includes 32" HDTV, workdesk, exquisite Le Labo bathroom amenities, coffee station, In-Room Safe and refreshment center
Deluxe King Tower
Spacious 450SF guestroom located on the upper floors of the South Tower with City and Mountain Views. Guestroom features include 32" HDTV, exquisite Le Labo bathroom amenities, workdesk, coffee station, In-Room Safe and refreshment center
Deluxe Queen Main Bldg
Spacious 450 SF guestroom located on the upper floors of the Main Building with City and Mountain Views, Renovated in 2012. Features include 32" HDTV, exquisite Le Labo bathroom amenities, workdesk, coffee station, In-Room Safe & refreshment center
Deluxe Dbl/Dbl Main Bldg
Spacious 450 SF guestroom located on the upper floors of the Main Building with City and Mountain Views, Renovated in 2012. Features include 32" HDTV, exquisite Le Labo bathroom amenities, workdesk, coffee station, In-Room Safe & refreshment center
Deluxe King Main Bldg
Spacious 450 SF guestroom located on the upper floors of the Main Building with City and Mountain Views. Guestroom features include 32" HDTV, exquisite Le Labo bathroom amenities, coffee station, workdesk, In-Room Safe and refreshment center

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Plaza de Cesar Chavez Park: 0.1 mi
  • San Jose Museum of Art: 0.1 mi
  • San Jose Civic Auditorium: 0.1 mi
  • St. Joseph Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • San Jose Repertory Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • San Jose Center for the Performing Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Children's Discovery Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Jose Museum of Quilts & Textiles: 0.4 mi
  • The Event Center Arena: 0.5 mi
  • SAP Center at San Jose: 0.6 mi
  • HP Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown (San Jose): 1.2 mi
  • Heritage Rose Garden: 1.2 mi
  • Happy Hollow Park and Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Japanese Friendship Garden: 1.7 mi
  • Plaza de Cesar Chavez Park: 0.1 mi
  • San Jose Museum of Art: 0.1 mi
  • San Jose Civic Auditorium: 0.1 mi
  • St. Joseph Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • San Jose Repertory Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • San Jose Center for the Performing Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Children's Discovery Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Jose Museum of Quilts & Textiles: 0.4 mi
  • The Event Center Arena: 0.5 mi
  • SAP Center at San Jose: 0.6 mi
  • HP Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown (San Jose): 1.2 mi
  • Heritage Rose Garden: 1.2 mi
  • Happy Hollow Park and Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Japanese Friendship Garden: 1.7 mi
  • Rosicrucian Egyptian Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Willow Glen: 1.9 mi
  • History Park: 2 mi
  • Municipal Rose Garden: 2 mi
  • Los Gatos Creek Trail: 2.1 mi
  • Winchester Mystery House: 3.5 mi
  • Raging Waters: 4.2 mi
  • Alum Rock Park: 6.2 mi
  • Almaden Quicksilver County Park: 10.4 mi

Dining

Grill On The Alley
Reflecting the spirit of a New York grill -- The Grill on the Alley serves large portions of steaks and chops as well as fresh seafood and pasta along with an extensive wine list.
The Pagoda and Bamboo Lounge
Experience the Bay Areas Asian Heritage and visit the Bamboo Lounge at the Pagoda Restaurant. They offer both Classical Chinese food and a more trendy cuisine. Come and choose from an enticing selection of Tropical Drinks and listen to the nightly live en
Fountain Restaurant
Fountain Restaurant specialises in California Cuisine and offers a selection of fresh salads - seafood and pastas. Enjoy creative sensations for breakfast and lunch. Reservations are recommended. Dress code is smart casual.
McCormick and Schmicks Seafood Restaurant
Bringing the freshest seafood to Silicon Valley - McCormick + Schmicks Seafood Restaurant is located directly inside The Fairmont San Jose*s South Tower. The menu is printed twice daily and features more than 30 species of fresh fish and seafood caught da
Fairmont Express Cafe
Fairmont Express Cafe
Fairmont Sushi
Fairmont Sushi
Lobby Lounge
Lobby Lounge
Afternoon Tea
Afternoon Tea

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (75)

Ratings and reviews for Fairmont San Jose

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fairmont San Jose

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Its My Birthday
Business
Castro Valley
Feb 18, 2014

Most Romantic Valentines EVER!!!

The valet parking staff were so pleasant when I arrived at the hotel. Followed by the quick check in and friendly staff. My partner guided me through the beautiful halls of the hotel to the clean and romantic room. As I walked in, the bed had amazing rose pedals in a heart shape on the bed, accented with a dozen long stem roses next to the bed. It didn't stop there.....to my delight there was a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries to delight me to the fullest. The room was beyond my imagination. Followed by an incredible concert located at the SAP center which was close to the hotel. Upon our return we were able to enjoy a live band and a DJ in the Lounge for some dancing. This was by far the best Valentines Day I have ever experienced!!! Thank you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Jose

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kells415
Business
San Francisco
Mar 4, 2014

Always a great experience

Every time we come to San Jose we ALWAYS stay at the Fairmont. Always a great experience from checking in to checking out and all in between.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Jose

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RMi Ban
Business
Orange County, California
Mar 24, 2014

Great Location!

Stayed for a long weekend and never had to worry about driving anywhere. Taxi was always ready, food and nightlife is everywhere. The only issue i had was the room aircon it was not cold enough and had to open my windows for the whole time i stayed, which is still not a big deal for me. San jose weather is just always nice and that's why i didn't bother requesting for a new room. Staff are all extremely friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Jose

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Curt s
Business
Berkeley
Apr 13, 2014

Extremely comfortable and quiet.

There was a Sharks game the night we stayed at this hotel and expected it to be noisy. However, we were pleasantly surprised. We had a very quiet and peaceful nights sleep. Our only negative was that the hotel charged for wifi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Jose

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mhandy
Business
San Jose, California
Apr 13, 2014

Great place to spoil yourself

Everything was very comfortable and clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful but food is a little pricey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Jose

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DaCiscoKidd
Business
Fresno, CA, USA
Dec 18, 2011

San Jose trip

Pulled up and valet parking was excellent, easy check-in right away! Great lobby, great Chinese dining inside and very convenient! The view from our room was excellent over-seeing downtown San Jose. The restrooms were also very spacious and the room was a great size! The spa area was enjoyed dearly by my wife. I plan to stay here again in the near future, everything was excellent :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Jose

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Johnny Travels
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Dec 27, 2011

Great Stay... perfect for the holidays

With a grande Holiday in the park right outside it's doors, the fairmont hotel is a perfect home away from home for the holidays. Ice skating, fun food and rides for all ages is a great environment for the whole family. The rooms are spacious and the staff is superb. This hotel is highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

McCormick ans Schmitt's restaurant is right next door. Incredible steaks and a lobster mash potatoes to make your head spin.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Jose

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Md333
Business
Redwood City, CA, USA
Jan 1, 2012

Great hotel for locals too

What a neat hotel to just get away from everyday life and stay at! We are locals and love this property for special occasions like birthdays. It is easy walking distance to Original Joes or Il Fornaio restaurants. The staff are so helpful and happy looking!! Their Fountain restaurant now offers gluten-free food, and other special dietary selections....great idea!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay here at Christmas and walk across the street to check out Christmas in the Park! The area is so festive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Jose

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rubendell
Business
San Mateo
Mar 29, 2012

Perfect getaway for hubby and me

My husband and I went to Improv to see Edwin San Juan and stayed overnight at the Fairmont. This hotel has the perfect location. Many nearby restaurants that you can walk to. We were able to walk to the Improv as well so that was a treat. Hotel was clean with many friendly staff. The hotel itself also had plenty of restaurants to enjoy from. We had Sunday brunch but that was just okay. Not too many selections and food was not that great for the price. Will definitely return here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are plenty of restaurants that are walking distance from this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Jose

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
eeyore9827
Business
Hayward, California
Nov 12, 2012

Great getaway!

Great experience. While I had to wait a little while to check in, we still had a great time at the Fairmont. Beautiful hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bijan bakery is fantastic - Mushroom croissant was awesome!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top