$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 10, 2015 Check-out: Jan 11, 2015

Fairmont San Jose

4 stars
170 South Market St, San Jose, CA 95113
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
76 reviews
Thanksgiving family getaway

Very nice place, room was spacious and clean. very nice gym facilities. Definitely recommend See full review

  • Rod pops
  • Nov 30, 2014
Great downtown hotel

We needed a hotel close to the airport and the baby shower we were attending. The Fairmont fit the... See full review

  • 1Geronimo
  • Sep 1, 2014
***All New Years Eve events at the hotel, including the Lobby Lounge entertainment, are paid access only*** With the meteoric growth of the computer industry- Silicon Valley has become one of the world*s busiest hubs- and the capital of this high-tech mecca is San Jose. The Fairmont San Jose hotel combines technological innovation with timeless elegance. Meeting and conference rooms in our San Jose hotel are equipped to handle functions from exquisite receptions to multimedia presentations. Our brand new Tova Day Spa invites you to relieve your stresses. A short drive will take you to 30 wineries and the famous Monterey Peninsula golf courses. Our on-site Virgin Limousine desk can take care of any transportation needs. In the heart of northern California*s largest city- The Fairmont San Jose luxury hotel blends historic grandeur with all the high-tech excitement of Silicon Valley. Free *Green* Parking at The Fairmont San Jose: Overnight guests who drive hybrid vehicles can enjoy free parking at The Fairmont San Jose. Every meeting has an agenda. Choosing Fairmont should be at the top. At The Fairmont San Jose- we specialize in group meetings. Whether you*re planning a small gathering for 5 or a conference for 500- our expert staff will anticipate every need- right down to the smallest detail- to ensure a smooth and successful event.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Fairmont San Jose also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Fairmont San Jose Rooms

Deluxe Dbl/Dbl Main Bldg
Spacious 450 SF guestroom located on the upper floors of the Main Building with City and Mountain Views, Renovated in 2012. Features include 32" HDTV, exquisite Le Labo bathroom amenities, workdesk, coffee station, In-Room Safe & refreshment center
Deluxe King Main Bldg
Spacious 450 SF guestroom located on the upper floors of the Main Building with City and Mountain Views. Guestroom features include 32" HDTV, exquisite Le Labo bathroom amenities, coffee station, workdesk, In-Room Safe and refreshment center
1 BR King Suite Main Bldg
900 SF 1-Bedroom suite located in the Main Building, floors 3-9. Bedroom is 450 FT and Parlour 450SF. Guest room features include 32" HDTV, exquisite Le Labo bathroom amenities, coffee station, work desk, In-Room Safe and refreshment center
Fairmont Dbl/Dbl Tower
Spacious 450 SF guestroom located on floors 3-8 of the South Tower. Guestroom features includes 32" HDTV, workdesk, exquisite Le Labo bathroom amenities, coffee station, In-Room Safe and refreshment center
Fairmont King Main Bldg
Spacious 450 SF guestroom located on floors 3-9 of the main building. Newly renovated Summer 2013. Guestroom features include 32" HDTV, workdesk, exquisite Le Labo bathroom amenities, coffee station, In-Room Safe and refreshment center
Fairmont King Tower
Spacious 450 SF guestroom located on floors 3-8 of the South Tower. Guestroom features includes 32" HDTV, workdesk, exquisite Le Labo bathroom amenities, coffee station, In-Room Safe and refreshment center
Deluxe King Tower
Spacious 450SF guestroom located on the upper floors of the South Tower with City and Mountain Views. Guestroom features include 32" HDTV, exquisite Le Labo bathroom amenities, workdesk, coffee station, In-Room Safe and refreshment center
Deluxe Queen Main Bldg
Spacious 450 SF guestroom located on the upper floors of the Main Building with City and Mountain Views, Renovated in 2012. Features include 32" HDTV, exquisite Le Labo bathroom amenities, workdesk, coffee station, In-Room Safe & refreshment center

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Plaza de Cesar Chavez Park: 0.1 mi
  • San Jose Museum of Art: 0.1 mi
  • San Jose Civic Auditorium: 0.1 mi
  • St. Joseph Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • San Jose Repertory Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • San Jose Center for the Performing Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Children's Discovery Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Jose Museum of Quilts & Textiles: 0.4 mi
  • The Event Center Arena: 0.5 mi
  • SAP Center at San Jose: 0.6 mi
  • HP Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown (San Jose): 1.2 mi
  • Heritage Rose Garden: 1.2 mi
  • Happy Hollow Park and Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Japanese Friendship Garden: 1.7 mi
  • Plaza de Cesar Chavez Park: 0.1 mi
  • San Jose Museum of Art: 0.1 mi
  • San Jose Civic Auditorium: 0.1 mi
  • St. Joseph Cathedral: 0.1 mi
  • San Jose Repertory Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • San Jose Center for the Performing Arts: 0.2 mi
  • Children's Discovery Museum: 0.4 mi
  • San Jose Museum of Quilts & Textiles: 0.4 mi
  • The Event Center Arena: 0.5 mi
  • SAP Center at San Jose: 0.6 mi
  • HP Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Japantown (San Jose): 1.2 mi
  • Heritage Rose Garden: 1.2 mi
  • Happy Hollow Park and Zoo: 1.6 mi
  • Japanese Friendship Garden: 1.7 mi
  • Rosicrucian Egyptian Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Willow Glen: 1.9 mi
  • History Park: 2 mi
  • Municipal Rose Garden: 2 mi
  • Los Gatos Creek Trail: 2.1 mi
  • Winchester Mystery House: 3.5 mi
  • Raging Waters: 4.2 mi
  • Alum Rock Park: 6.2 mi
  • Almaden Quicksilver County Park: 10.4 mi

Dining

Grill On The Alley
Reflecting the spirit of a New York grill -- The Grill on the Alley serves large portions of steaks and chops as well as fresh seafood and pasta along with an extensive wine list.
The Pagoda and Bamboo Lounge
Experience the Bay Areas Asian Heritage and visit the Bamboo Lounge at the Pagoda Restaurant. They offer both Classical Chinese food and a more trendy cuisine. Come and choose from an enticing selection of Tropical Drinks and listen to the nightly live en
Fountain Restaurant
Fountain Restaurant specialises in California Cuisine and offers a selection of fresh salads - seafood and pastas. Enjoy creative sensations for breakfast and lunch. Reservations are recommended. Dress code is smart casual.
McCormick and Schmicks Seafood Restaurant
Bringing the freshest seafood to Silicon Valley - McCormick + Schmicks Seafood Restaurant is located directly inside The Fairmont San Jose*s South Tower. The menu is printed twice daily and features more than 30 species of fresh fish and seafood caught da
Fairmont Express Cafe
Fairmont Express Cafe
Fairmont Sushi
Fairmont Sushi
Lobby Lounge
Lobby Lounge
Afternoon Tea
Afternoon Tea

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (76)

Ratings and reviews for Fairmont San Jose

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
76 out of 76
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fairmont San Jose

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tooalan
Sacramento, California
Aug 4, 2013

Five Stars ...

Landed here after a concert up the hill in Saratoga rather than drive back to Sacramento. Have stayed here before in the distant past and the EXCELLENT rooms and service continue to this day. Look for last minute specials. Our room was superior in EVERY way to any thing offered in the same price range as from the 2-3 star hotels! Will be back ... and try out the Mountain Winery for a great concert venue!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Jose

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Mateo, CA
Oct 11, 2010

A disaster from beginning to end

We were SHOCKED that such a large established hotel couldn't handle the volume of guests it sold rooms to. They were totally overwhelmed --We had to wait in a 2o minute line to check in, only to find out that our room wasn't ready when we arrived at 5pm even though check in time is 3pm. The next day when we left the valet room was PACKED with people waiting for their cars. We waited 45 minutes for our car. There were people who were going to miss their flights because the wait for the car was so long. It was ridiculous -- people were about ready to riot. I would NEVER recommend this hotel to anyone. There are plenty of other hotels in the area to choose from.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Jose

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Brian Pe
Business
seattle
Oct 23, 2014

disappointing

to exspensive, no internet access as it said on the internet. i didnt say you had to pay $.25.00 a day for parking. none of this was disclosed. very disappointed, the girl at the front desk was very rude, wish I new her name.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Jose

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Awesome Dad
Business
San Jose, ca
May 22, 2012

TV is lame, and no free wireless or parking

NBA playoffs were on, but tv is hard to navigate. No free premium channels. No guide on screen to see what's on!! No vents in bathroom, and room not that clean. Location was great, staff(valet) were quick and nice. Coffee machine a joke.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Jose

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
27 Today
Business
Santa Cruz, CA
Jul 16, 2012

1 Bed Short

We booked a double double. When we checked in they had no double doubles, so they said they would bring us a roll away. We finally got the roll away brought to our room around 3:00 am after contacting the front desk many times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Jose

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Getting around the US
Business
Grand rapids
Jul 26, 2012

Great comfort

Nice rooms with very comfortable beds. Good standard and great bathroom. Parking was easy and the staff was helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Looking for breakfast outside the hotel is not that easy on a Sunday morning

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Jose

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Miss BB
Business
Sacramento, CA, USA
Nov 5, 2012

Nice Stuff

We had a fantastic view of my hometown and the room was beautiful. We had a very nice room. The staff was wonderful and very friendly. The only thing I had a problem with was the pool not heated. I work out in the pool and it was chilly! For the price you pay for room here they should at least keep the pool heated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

you are in the heart of downtown and an easy walk to anything you may need. There is a little grocery store a block away that is convenient, too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Jose

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Santosant
Business
San Jose, Ca
Apr 16, 2013

Inexperienced staff

Said car available, when time, driver went home. Hassle to get tea, constant housekeeping knocking, nobody knew much. Classy place needs better training

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Originaljoe's CLASSIC!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Jose

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Disappointed in TX
Business
Austin, TX
Jun 15, 2010

Save your money

Checked in and was asked if I booked through [...]. I replied, yes, and was then told the King size bed I had reserved was not available for 45 minutes to an hour. The room we accepted was small and quirky. Doors that didn't close. Light switches in awkward places. A view of other people's windows. No better than a hotel at half the price. Valet parking was easy to get in but when leaving we were delayed and the desk clerk, while holding my ticket w/ room number, repeatedly asked my room number and name. The gentlemen who finally brought my car to his credit acknowledged who me. It's the little things that make the difference.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Jose

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Creative Tomato
Business
Park City, Utah
Nov 16, 2014

wanted more from this hotel!

Paid a lot for a room that I expected to be more luxurious. Good location but ultimately I felt it was not nearly as special a stay as I was hoping for a big birthday weekend. No vanity kit in the bathroom to older bath tub left me feeling cold. Speaking of cold. ..the hot water kept dropping out! Seriously!? There was also a champagne debacle, I'd ordered some with chocolate strawberries as a birthday surprise. ..it took 6 HOURS to get it. ... obviously they got lost in the shuffle. Wanted more!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The bakery across from the hotel has delicious ham and cheese croissants, yummy alternative to costly breakfast or lunch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairmont San Jose

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Liana
Business
Seattle, WA, USA
Oct 26, 2011

Nice downtown hotel

The Fairmont downtown San Jose is a nice hotel for a short weekend getaway. Friendly staff that was very helpful and always willing to answer any questions. Location is central with many restaurants and museums within walking distance. If you do plan to eat a meal at a nearby restaurant be sure to go early, many do not have late night hours. Tip: if visiting on weekend, street parking is cheap and free all day Sunday's and after 6pm. Way cheaper than Valet. Overall a great stay and will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top