$107 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 16, 2015 Check-out: Jan 18, 2015

Dolce Hayes Mansion

4 stars
200 Edenvale Avenue, San Jose, CA 95136
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
128 reviews
the bomb

Best kept secret in San Jose. Been going here for years. See full review

  • Y u p
  • Dec 2, 2014
Great stay!

Stayed over the thanksgiving weekend and it was a great experience. Hotel staff were nice and very... See full review

  • Rayakain
  • Dec 1, 2014
California dreaming at this stunning and historic San Jose resort

Lined with palm trees, this picturesque 20-acre estate was once a privately owned property, and it's easy to see the meticulous care that went into the Mediterranean Revival-style architecture back in 1905. The Dolce Hayes Mansion was carefully renovated and converted into a hotel in the 1990s and now holds 214 lavish guest rooms and 33,000 square feet of meeting space. There is also a plethora of resort facilities, including a swimming pool, spa, fitness center and two high-end restaurants.

Highlights:
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet throughout the property
  • Two fine-dining New American restaurants, Orlo's and Silver Creek Dining Room
  • Stunning property listed on the National Register of Historic Places
Rooms:

Guest rooms, traditionally decorated to complement Dolce Hayes Mansion's Spanish Colonial Revival architecture, are outfitted with either one king or two queen beds. Multi-line phones and free Internet make working remotely easy, while cushy bathrobes, slippers, board games and movies make relaxation a certainty. Coffee-makers, refrigerators and luxury bedding are standard amenities.

Features:

Being Spa provides an array of pampering treatments, and hotel guests get complimentary use of the spa's sauna and steam room. A heated outdoor pool, fitness center and adjacent park with tennis, basketball and volleyball offer an assortment of ways to stay active. Afterward, guests can ease sore muscles in the indoor or outdoor Jacuzzi or relax over dinner at Orlo's, a fine-dining New American restaurant. Silver Creek Dining Room has healthier options for breakfast and lunch. A complimentary shuttle goes to businesses within five miles, as well as to and from the San Jose airport.

Transportation:
  • San Jose International Airport (19 minutes)
  • San Francisco International Airport (51 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (52 minutes)
  • San Jose Convention Center (13 minutes)
  • VTA Light rail station (4 minutes)
  • VTA bus (3 minutes)
Attractions:
  • Los Lagos Golf Course (4.4 mi/7.08 km)
  • J. Lohr Winery (5.1 mi/8.2 km)
  • Raging Waters (7.3 mi/11.7 km)
  • Children's Discovery Museum of San Jose (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
  • San Jose Convention Center (8.6 mi/18.84 km)
  • HP Pavilion (9.1 mi/14.6 km)
  • Winchester Mystery House (12.5 mi/20 km)
  • Paramount Great America (16 mi/25.75 km)
Business:
  • 24 conference rooms with multimedia equipment, T3 Internet lines, Audio/Visual support and ergonomic chairs
  • Smart Meetings Platinum Award, Corporate Meetings & Incentives Paragon Award and Successful Meetings Pinnacle Award
  • Business center with faxing, copying, Internet, shipping and notary services

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Dolce Hayes Mansion also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Dolce Hayes Mansion Rooms

King Junior Suite
li One King Bed li 500 Square Feet li Mansion View li Free Wi-Fi and Parking
2 Queen Beds
Deluxe 2 Queens- coffee maker -robes-refrig - movies-work stations-free HSIA-multiline phone
Parlor Suite
Parlor Suite Queen Bed -sitting area
Mansion Suite
Mansion Suite Queen -located in historic-Refrig mansion-sitting area-free HSIA-VCR-CD Player
ADA-Queen/Queen Room -Roll-in Sh
ADA Accessible-Queen/Queen Room -Roll-in Shower
ADA room - King bed - Roll-in Sh
ADA King bed-Roll-in Shower
ADA -King Room- Transfer Shower
ADA -King Room- Transfer Shower
ADA-Queen/Queen-Transfer Shower
ADA-Queen/Queen-Transfer Shower
Valley Oak Suite
li Two Bedrooms li 900 Square Feet li Mansion or Park View li Free Wi-Fi and Parking
King Bed
Deluxe King Room
1 Queen Bed
Deluxe 1 queen-view of mansion- robes-refrig - movies-work stations-modem-multiline phone

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
24 hour security
FEMA approved
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Jogging track
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Family plan
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Bathroom telephone
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms
Trouser press

Nearby points of interest

  • History Park: 4.5 mi
  • Japanese Friendship Garden: 4.8 mi
  • Happy Hollow Park and Zoo: 4.9 mi
  • Raging Waters: 5.1 mi
  • Willow Glen: 5.2 mi
  • Almaden Quicksilver County Park: 5.6 mi
  • San Jose Museum of Quilts & Textiles: 5.8 mi
  • Children's Discovery Museum: 6 mi
  • The Event Center Arena: 6 mi
  • Los Gatos Creek Trail: 6.1 mi
  • San Jose Center for the Performing Arts: 6.1 mi
  • San Jose Civic Auditorium: 6.1 mi
  • Plaza de Cesar Chavez Park: 6.2 mi
  • San Jose Repertory Theatre: 6.2 mi
  • San Jose Museum of Art: 6.3 mi
  • History Park: 4.5 mi
  • Japanese Friendship Garden: 4.8 mi
  • Happy Hollow Park and Zoo: 4.9 mi
  • Raging Waters: 5.1 mi
  • Willow Glen: 5.2 mi
  • Almaden Quicksilver County Park: 5.6 mi
  • San Jose Museum of Quilts & Textiles: 5.8 mi
  • Children's Discovery Museum: 6 mi
  • The Event Center Arena: 6 mi
  • Los Gatos Creek Trail: 6.1 mi
  • San Jose Center for the Performing Arts: 6.1 mi
  • San Jose Civic Auditorium: 6.1 mi
  • Plaza de Cesar Chavez Park: 6.2 mi
  • San Jose Repertory Theatre: 6.2 mi
  • San Jose Museum of Art: 6.3 mi
  • St. Joseph Cathedral: 6.3 mi
  • HP Pavilion: 6.6 mi
  • SAP Center at San Jose: 6.6 mi
  • Japantown (San Jose): 7.3 mi
  • Heritage Rose Garden: 7.4 mi
  • Rosicrucian Egyptian Museum: 7.5 mi
  • Municipal Rose Garden: 7.6 mi
  • Winchester Mystery House: 8.2 mi
  • Alum Rock Park: 9.4 mi

Dining

Silver Creek Restaurant
Buffet and Ala Carte Award winning Sunday Brunch -Cuisine American Breakfast - 0630 TO 1000 M-SAT - 0630 TO 0930 SUN Lunch - 1130 TO 1400
Off Sight Restaurants
PF Changs Cheesecake Factory Outback Steakhouse
Palm Plaza Lounge
Bar/Lounge Cuisine- Small Plates and Signature Drinks Mon - Fri - 4 PM - 10 PM Sat - Sun - 11 AM - 11 PM Dress Code- Casual

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (128)

Ratings and reviews for Dolce Hayes Mansion

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
128 out of 128
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Dolce Hayes Mansion

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Y u p
Business
Simi Valley, CA
Dec 2, 2014

the bomb

Best kept secret in San Jose. Been going here for years.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Friendly lounge for a night cap

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dolce Hayes Mansion

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rayakain
Business
vancouver, bc
Dec 1, 2014

Great stay!

Stayed over the thanksgiving weekend and it was a great experience. Hotel staff were nice and very accommodating. The hotel rooms are a little old but very clean. I want to thank the front desk staff for the shuttle rides and their fantastic service. (Tai, Manny, William and Rodney)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

If the complementary shuttle is available you can get a ride to Oak ridge mall.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dolce Hayes Mansion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Y's mom
Business
San Jose
Nov 18, 2014

great getaway

fun getaway for everyday life, but the neighbor area itself is not that attractive

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dolce Hayes Mansion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
faster driver
Business
portland, oregon
Sep 15, 2014

family reunion

a picture postcard venue, great food, easy freeway access

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

eat on the plaza, next to the pool

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dolce Hayes Mansion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
karllla
Business
san jose,california
Sep 15, 2014

great place

Everything was amazing pool, room, gym 5 stars only thing wrong was that for the money i feel like you should get breakfast included instead you pay 15 per person but other than that great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Valley fair

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dolce Hayes Mansion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Steven Texan
Business
Texas
Sep 11, 2014

Historical charm but very dated in accommodation

If you like old houses, you probably will like this place. If you look for modern comfort then you may be disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dolce Hayes Mansion

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mugumogu
Business
Sacramento, CA
Sep 4, 2014

Needs a Renovation

My wife and I were looking for a place to get away for the weekend. The Hayes Mansion looked interesting in the pictures and had good reviews. The property is beautiful and is a fine place for a wedding, of which there were many going on all weekend. I booked a suite in the mansion and we were given the Cypress Suite. I can’t speak for the rest of the property or the regular guest rooms, but this suite was not up to par with the rest of the property. To get to the room, we had to take the elevator to the second floor and then take a staircase from the second floor to a third level that it was located on. The elevator is so small that my wife and I could not fit in there with our baby stroller and luggage so I went up the stairs with our things separately. There is a third floor with elevator access within the rest of the mansion, but this suite was kind of like its own little loft area separate from the rest of the third floor and there is no elevator access to get to it. This wouldn’t have been as much of an issue for us had there been closer parking. We traveled with our baby and with all the weddings happening, the parking lot was crowded and all the closer spaces were taken all weekend long. We had to park at the far end of the lot so I had a long way to walk with luggage and a crib and then having to climb a flight of stairs with all that was a hassle. I had to leave stuff at the bottom of the stairs and make a few trips. Whenever we wanted to go out, I would go down first to set up his stroller, go back up to get his day bag, and then make another trip to get the baby. The room smelled very musty and old; about what you might expect of an old mansion, but after being out all day in the fresh air it was overbearing and reminiscent of a natural gas odor. I think the mansion was last renovated in 1994 and I don’t think any upgrades have been made since. The décor is very old like what you might find in your grandmother’s house. In addition, the furniture was extremely worn and the floral pattern on the living area chairs and couch was faded after years of use. The bedroom was smaller than the bathroom. There was only enough room to walk in front of and around the bed. The bed was comfortable, but the old wooden post bed frame was creaky and old. The bathroom was large, but there is no door on the toilet and the large bathtub is in its own little alcove in a corner. There are no windows in the bathroom so I don’t see enjoying a bath in there with a view of the walls and the toilet. It’s a bit claustrophobic. There was a lot of noise. Air conditioning units were right outside our window and adding to that we could hear music pumping from the wedding festivities going on. The toilet flush is about the loudest I’ve ever heard so when the baby was napping or after he went to bed, we wouldn’t flush it until morning. I wanted to enjoy this place more. I chose to stay here more out of a curiosity after seeing photos and the grounds are beautiful, but now that I’ve seen it, I don’t think we’ll be staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dolce Hayes Mansion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Intl Biz Traveler
Business
San Jose, California
Sep 1, 2014

Out of the way but good

An majestic mansion in the middle of what some may consider to be a sketchy part of town. But having lived in the area in the past, it's not that bad. Prices for room service was reasonable, buffets were good and the staff was helpful. You'll hear a train rumble by between 9PM and midnight, but it's not bad. Pool was small, but poolside food/beverage service was good. Probably not a good idea to get pool side rooms. Too noisy. Expect seminar attendees during the week and weddings on the weekends. Overall, a great value, hidden in South San Jose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dolce Hayes Mansion

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Love to travel senior
Business
Sacramento, Ca
Aug 25, 2014

The hotel was beautiful and the mansion history very interesting.

We chose this hotel because of its proximity to a wedding reception that we attended. It was perfect for that and also for the places that we wanted to visit while in the San Jose area. The food and service for a late night snack at the hotel bar was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Dolce Hayes Mansion

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Handyhearn
Business
San Jose, CA
Jul 2, 2014

Screwed up our wedding badly

As groom, I had reserved and paid for 5 rooms for the bridal party at this hotel, and had been assured by the manager on duty that a 2 pm late check out was fine. On Saturday, June 28, the day of the wedding, a maid came to the brides room at noon and ordered her and the bridal party to check out. When they went to the front desk to resolve the problem, the maid locked them out and refused to let them in to even retrieve their belongings including the hair and makeup stylist's supplies. They were unable to gain entry until after 1 by which time the bride was in tears, and they had to finish the hair and makeup at the church, delaying the 3 pm wedding by over an hour. So if you want your wedding to be totally messed up and your bride to be a basket case before the wedding thanks to inept and rude staff, by all means go to Hayes Mansion. Very expensive and poor customer service!! I sincerely regret using this hotel. I would not recommend even to an enemy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top