$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 2, 2015

Arena Hotel

3 stars
817 The Alameda, San Jose, CA 95126
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
213 reviews
Great!

great location, clean, convenient to downtown as well as airport See full review

  • Michaela8139
  • Dec 8, 2014
Great Hotel

Great Hotel, Great room and Service. Really nice for the price I paid. See full review

  • Goldie locks
  • Dec 1, 2014
Affordable downtown San Jose hotel offers easy access to everything

Located in the heart of downtown San Jose, the Arena Hotel offers walkable access to the HP Pavilion, downtown offices and the San Jose Caltrain station. Guests appreciate the variety of nearby dining and transportation options whether they are there for a San Jose Sharks game or a business trip. Complimentary breakfast (daily) help guests fuel up for a long day of work or night of recreation, and Jacuzzi tubs in each room ease sore muscles afterward.

Highlights:
  • Free wireless Internet access in rooms and common areas
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Walking distance to HP Pavilion, downtown San Jose and Caltrain
Rooms:

The recently renovated rooms have traditional decor, including dark-wood furnishings and printed bedspreads in dark, muted colors. Guestrooms and suites are highlighted by amenities such as 27-inch color TVs, voicemail-enabled telephones, microwaves, refrigerators, coffeemakers and even kitchenettes in some rooms. Two-person Jacuzzi bathtubs and free wireless Internet access are nice bonuses.

Features:

Corporate travelers appreciate the on-site business center, which is open daily and includes a computer workstation with Internet access and a printer. (A fax machine and photocopier are available at the front desk.) Guests who don't like checking bags can take advantage of the same-day dry-cleaning service and an on-site laundry room (fees apply). Perhaps most appreciated, though, is the complimentary breakfast available weekdays and weekends. 

Transportation:
  • San Jose International Airport (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (36.5 mi/58.8 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (37.4 mi/60.3 km)
  • Caltrain (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • VTA light rail (.6 mi/1 km)
  • VTA bus stop (across the street)
Attractions:
  • HP Pavilion (.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Tech Museum of Innovation (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • San Jose Convention Center (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Children's Discovery Museum (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Santana Row (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
  • Winchester Mystery House (3.2 mi/5.2 km)
  • California's Great America (7.3 mi/11.7 km)
  • Santa Clara Convention Center (7.9 mi/12.7 km)
Business:
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • On-site business center open daily
  • Indoor and outdoor seating areas to conduct interviews or hold small meetings

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Arena Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5

Arena Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Double Queen with jacuzzi
Deluxe Room-Double Queen-Jacuzzi-Non Smoking
Deluxe Suite with jacuzzi and so
Deluxe Suite with jacuzzi and sofa bed
King Deluxe with jacuzzi non-smo
King Deluxe with jacuzzi non-smoking

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • HP Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • SAP Center at San Jose: 0.3 mi
  • San Jose Center for the Performing Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Heritage Rose Garden: 0.8 mi
  • Children's Discovery Museum: 0.9 mi
  • St. Joseph Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • San Jose Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • San Jose Civic Auditorium: 0.9 mi
  • Plaza de Cesar Chavez Park: 0.9 mi
  • Rosicrucian Egyptian Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Jose Repertory Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Municipal Rose Garden: 1.1 mi
  • San Jose Museum of Quilts & Textiles: 1.2 mi
  • Japantown (San Jose): 1.4 mi
  • The Event Center Arena: 1.4 mi
  • HP Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • SAP Center at San Jose: 0.3 mi
  • San Jose Center for the Performing Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Heritage Rose Garden: 0.8 mi
  • Children's Discovery Museum: 0.9 mi
  • St. Joseph Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • San Jose Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • San Jose Civic Auditorium: 0.9 mi
  • Plaza de Cesar Chavez Park: 0.9 mi
  • Rosicrucian Egyptian Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Jose Repertory Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Municipal Rose Garden: 1.1 mi
  • San Jose Museum of Quilts & Textiles: 1.2 mi
  • Japantown (San Jose): 1.4 mi
  • The Event Center Arena: 1.4 mi
  • Los Gatos Creek Trail: 1.7 mi
  • Willow Glen: 1.9 mi
  • Happy Hollow Park and Zoo: 2.4 mi
  • Japanese Friendship Garden: 2.6 mi
  • Winchester Mystery House: 2.6 mi
  • History Park: 2.8 mi
  • Raging Waters: 5.1 mi
  • Alum Rock Park: 6.9 mi
  • Almaden Quicksilver County Park: 10.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (213)

Ratings and reviews for Arena Hotel

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
62 out of 213
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kaddy
Business
New England
Mar 13, 2012

Not a good choice the second time

We arrived at 1 pm and were informed our accessible room that we reserved in November had been given away. The noise outside at night was awful. We also needed to stay an extra night and the staff was going to charge us $104 for the same $79 room. Only after we told the staff never mind did we get a lower rate. This hotel has just gotten much more grungy and dirty. We frequent San Jose once a month. Time to look for a new place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northern California
Aug 5, 2011

Worst Experience of a hotel stay

When we checked in at the hotel, the carpets looked like really old and needed some cleaning. After getting to the room, the AC did not work and we had to call in the maintenance to fix it. The rooms are so dimly lit. and suddenly in the morning the bathroom lights just wont turn on. The bed was so hard, We could barely get any sleep. The only upside to the room is the jacuzzi, but this hotel is just not worth the price. I will never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Oct 20, 2008

Awful and Overpriced

The Arena Hotel is one of the worst hotels that I have ever stayed. The room smelled and was unnecessarily noisy, as there was a loud old kitchen-sized refrigerator in the room next to my bed and the old air conditioning unit was equally loud. The breakfast buffet table smelled like old grease; we walked out. The only reason we chose this hotel was that it is within walking distance of HP Pavilion, but there are no restaurants on that side of the Pavilion. We found out later that we could have stayed an equal distance from the Pavilion in downtown San Jose with lots of nice restaurants and several reasonably priced hotels for just a few dollars more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
from Hawaii with Aloha
Business
Hawaii
Aug 5, 2011

Homeless haven

they need security and more staff (beware of the homeless wandering around all day and at night.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose,CA.
Nov 25, 2009

so so

I visited my parent that It close location.I wrote option to hotel counter and still saw bath had mud.May need professioner do it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mommamandy
Business
San Jose, CA, USA
Feb 2, 2012

just ok

Needs to be up dated. The floor in bathroom and around tub was cracked. Tiles were broken. Jacuzzi had missing fixtures. The kitchenette needed to be updated. Old wood. Colors in the whole room were old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Original Joe's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hockey fan.
Business
Bay Area, CA
Nov 11, 2012

Great location but....

Hotel is perfect for any event at HP but the bed and pillows in their rooms are 30+ years old. Not a fan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Modesto, CA
Dec 3, 2010

Good Location

Walking distance to the Arena.Check in staff not very friendly or helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Will M.
Business
Maine
Dec 11, 2011

Decent value; no frills

The staff is very friendly, and the price is fine, but this place is tired. Our room, while clean enough, has not had any sort of update since the 70s. The road noise and bright light outside our window didn't make for a cozy experience either. If you need a clean and inexpensive room near the SJ airport or train station - as we did - the Arena Hotel is just acceptable. If you're looking for more comfort and/or amenities, you may want to look elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mommamandy
Business
San Jose, CA, USA
Feb 5, 2012

Anniversary Night

We got this hotel room specifically for the jacuzzi tub. That was fine. The location was great. Room was clean. Couch was worn and uncomfortable. There were signs of an aging building everywhere. This is a very nice building and would be a incredible Hotel if the money was spent on the right maintenance. We were satisfied overall and would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top