$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 8, 2015 Check-out: Feb 9, 2015

Arena Hotel

3 stars
817 The Alameda, San Jose, CA 95126
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
216 reviews
Homeless Nding A Nice Place To Be 4 Xmas

Very beautiful place to be. I feel very blessed to be here. See full review

  • Tia.904
  • Jan 15, 2015
Great!

great location, clean, convenient to downtown as well as airport See full review

  • Michaela8139
  • Dec 8, 2014
Affordable downtown San Jose hotel offers easy access to everything

Located in the heart of downtown San Jose, the Arena Hotel offers walkable access to the HP Pavilion, downtown offices and the San Jose Caltrain station. Guests appreciate the variety of nearby dining and transportation options whether they are there for a San Jose Sharks game or a business trip. Complimentary breakfast (daily) help guests fuel up for a long day of work or night of recreation, and Jacuzzi tubs in each room ease sore muscles afterward.

Highlights:
  • Free wireless Internet access in rooms and common areas
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Walking distance to HP Pavilion, downtown San Jose and Caltrain
Rooms:

The recently renovated rooms have traditional decor, including dark-wood furnishings and printed bedspreads in dark, muted colors. Guestrooms and suites are highlighted by amenities such as 27-inch color TVs, voicemail-enabled telephones, microwaves, refrigerators, coffeemakers and even kitchenettes in some rooms. Two-person Jacuzzi bathtubs and free wireless Internet access are nice bonuses.

Features:

Corporate travelers appreciate the on-site business center, which is open daily and includes a computer workstation with Internet access and a printer. (A fax machine and photocopier are available at the front desk.) Guests who don't like checking bags can take advantage of the same-day dry-cleaning service and an on-site laundry room (fees apply). Perhaps most appreciated, though, is the complimentary breakfast available weekdays and weekends. 

Transportation:
  • San Jose International Airport (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (36.5 mi/58.8 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (37.4 mi/60.3 km)
  • Caltrain (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • VTA light rail (.6 mi/1 km)
  • VTA bus stop (across the street)
Attractions:
  • HP Pavilion (.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Tech Museum of Innovation (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • San Jose Convention Center (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Children's Discovery Museum (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Santana Row (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
  • Winchester Mystery House (3.2 mi/5.2 km)
  • California's Great America (7.3 mi/11.7 km)
  • Santa Clara Convention Center (7.9 mi/12.7 km)
Business:
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • On-site business center open daily
  • Indoor and outdoor seating areas to conduct interviews or hold small meetings

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Arena Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5

Arena Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Double Queen with jacuzzi
Deluxe Room-Double Queen-Jacuzzi-Non Smoking
Deluxe Suite with jacuzzi and so
Deluxe Suite with jacuzzi and sofa bed
King Deluxe with jacuzzi non-smo
King Deluxe with jacuzzi non-smoking

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • HP Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • SAP Center at San Jose: 0.3 mi
  • San Jose Center for the Performing Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Heritage Rose Garden: 0.8 mi
  • Children's Discovery Museum: 0.9 mi
  • St. Joseph Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • San Jose Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • San Jose Civic Auditorium: 0.9 mi
  • Plaza de Cesar Chavez Park: 0.9 mi
  • Rosicrucian Egyptian Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Jose Repertory Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Municipal Rose Garden: 1.1 mi
  • San Jose Museum of Quilts & Textiles: 1.2 mi
  • Japantown (San Jose): 1.4 mi
  • The Event Center Arena: 1.4 mi
  • HP Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • SAP Center at San Jose: 0.3 mi
  • San Jose Center for the Performing Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Heritage Rose Garden: 0.8 mi
  • Children's Discovery Museum: 0.9 mi
  • St. Joseph Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • San Jose Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • San Jose Civic Auditorium: 0.9 mi
  • Plaza de Cesar Chavez Park: 0.9 mi
  • Rosicrucian Egyptian Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Jose Repertory Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Municipal Rose Garden: 1.1 mi
  • San Jose Museum of Quilts & Textiles: 1.2 mi
  • Japantown (San Jose): 1.4 mi
  • The Event Center Arena: 1.4 mi
  • Los Gatos Creek Trail: 1.7 mi
  • Willow Glen: 1.9 mi
  • Happy Hollow Park and Zoo: 2.4 mi
  • Japanese Friendship Garden: 2.6 mi
  • Winchester Mystery House: 2.6 mi
  • History Park: 2.8 mi
  • Raging Waters: 5.1 mi
  • Alum Rock Park: 6.9 mi
  • Almaden Quicksilver County Park: 10.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (216)

Ratings and reviews for Arena Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 216
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.2

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kacz
Business
Clovis, CA, USA
Feb 2, 2012

Disappointing Dark and Dirty

At first when I pulled into the parking lot I was quite pleased by the outside look of the place. Even when I entered the lobby I was not terribly turned off. The clerk behind the counter was pleasant. It went all down hill from there when she told me there was no exercise facility. As I went to my room I noticed that the hallway carpets were dirty (stained). There were fold up beds stationed in the hallway and it looked like a college dorm room. The room itself had fake wood floors and was cold and dank. I turned up the portable heater and it made loud noises keeping me up all nite. I finally turned it off so I could sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dwight540
Business
roanoke va
Nov 24, 2013

San Jose

It's ok...rooms are outdated. Needs too be updated. Has potential but rough...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dilkhush
Business
New York, NY
Feb 27, 2008

Cheap but Noisy

This hotel was OK, but the walls were so thin that I thought that someone was in my room when I was standing in the hall. Later that night, I could hear couples in the room next door. They were very energetic, and louder than my TV. Definitely BRING EARPLUGS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to the Arena in San Jose.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
phenox
Apr 16, 2011

arena hotel

sleep, I liked the location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

lots of resturants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jacqueline
Business
Fresno CA
Sep 19, 2011

square dance festival near by

The breakfast was outstanding. The room nice and neat. The handicaped bath room well kept and easy to use.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Miss BB
Business
Sacramento, CA, USA
Oct 11, 2011

paid less, got more...

We stayed at the Fairmont Hotel the night before, which is considered one of the nicest hotels in San Jose. I was staying there for work and moved over to the Arena Hotel. At the Fairmont, We paid loads of money for a nice view, but nothing special was included. When we arrived at The Arena Hotel, We didn't have to pay an additional fee for parking and we were told our visit included a free breakfast (average stuff including eggs and potatoes, etc) and it was in a cute neighborhood with coffee shops and a nice sushi place nearby that was open late on a Sunday. Overall we were happy to pay less for a better stay and the bed was very comfy. The jacuzzi tub wasn't a bad addition either after a long day. And it was a little walk to downtown, and an inexpensive cab ride back. not bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

its a short walk to downtown, and the public transit runs pretty late, even on sunday. Cab ride was fairly inexpensive to come home later in evening. Also, not much open downtown for dinner on sundays, but a few places close to hotel including a shushi/japanese food place and chipotle are practically outside your door.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CRandy
Business
Dallas
Jan 25, 2014

Good Value

Hotel is older but a great location. They have made some updates to the property. Very friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very friendly coffee shop across the street. Serves very nice breakfast sandwiches and light lunch sandwiches.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
redled
Business
Santiago, Chile
Jun 6, 2014

cheap option

I had a good overal experience. Is a cheap option in San Jose at a walking distance to the downtown

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 8, 2011

Arena Hotel in San Jose, CA

Very Good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Good Location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
moman408
Business
san jose, ca
Jul 3, 2010

Arena Hotel

good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top