$112 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Arena Hotel

3 stars
View map of 817 The Alameda, San Jose, CA 95126

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Arena Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
230 out of 230
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
San Jose, CA
Jul 22, 2011

Decent for the price

The hotel had nice amenities: free parking, free wi-fi (with good speed), and complimentary breakfast, microwave/fridge in room. The hallways smelled heavily of smoke (although my particular room was a non-smoking). Also, it's pretty obvious that the hotel is on the older side; some small stains on the walls, shower door somewhat dirty... but it was fine for the price. The hotel service/housekeeping could probably do better to make things "shine" a little more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Visitors from Minneapolis
Couples
Minneapolis
May 31, 2011

unbeatable location for the price

We were visiting San Jose to attend a graduation ceremony and to do a bit of sightseeing. Our stay at the Arena hotel was nice. The hotel was centrally located in San Jose and offered free parking. The room was clean and had features that you come to expect from a nice hotel. The staff were friendly, courteous, and helpful. The breakfast was generous and delicious. We were delighted with our stay at the Arena hotel and would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Camarillo,CA
Mar 3, 2010

"Pros and cons"

We were visiting friends in the San Jose area, and we chose this motel based on location and reviews. Unfortunately,even though we had a non-smoking room,the hallways were smoke filled at times throughout our stay. Also, housekeeping issued towels as if they were being rationed! We had to ask the front desk for additional towels each day, since housekeeping could never replace the ones they removed during their room servicing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
San Rafael
May 12, 2010

Pretty good Hotel next to HP Pavillion

If you're going to an event at the HP Pavillion then this is close & convenient w/free parking. Everything was more than adequate and except for the front desk, the staff was lukewarm in greeting the public. Otherwise, the amenities & breakfast were good and beds comfortable. Unlike the other chains, this hotel still had older style furniture - less contemporary, but I'd come back again. When I meant noisy, they start leafblowing the property at 7:30 in morning. Me & other guests figure it's a not so subtle wakeup call.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you're going out for dinner, there are plenty of restaurants within a short drive. I wouldn't walk, however, unless you really want the exercise.

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Rocklin, CA.
Mar 28, 2010

Arena Hotel

We stayed here because we had Shark's tickets and it was within walking distance of HP Pavillion. The hotel was clean but rooms are very dated (1980's). The jets in the in room hot tub did not work and when we tried to call the front desk, no one answered. They have a free morning breakfast that was pretty good (hot eggs, sausage and pancakes, etc)and more than you would expect considering it comes with the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Good deal for those going to a Shark's game from out of town who are looking for a cheap hotel. Don't expect elegence, but it is clean.

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
First timers in Paris
Couples
San Jose, CA
May 5, 2011

Good for the price

It's a good place to stay for the price plus it includes breakfast. It looks like they're remodeling. It's close to downtown, the arena & the freeways. The staff were very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Chico, CA
Feb 19, 2011

Adequate, great for HP pavilion events

Clean, older but good enough for us for to enjoy our HP Pavilion event. There was no vcr in the room but did not matter as the tv was not why we there. Quiet once the airport shuts down after 11 pm. May be more raucous if the sharks are playing. Soon to have a whole foods next door. Plenty of parking and an easy walk to the pavilion. Staff was friendly and helpful, breakfast not gourmet but filling. We would come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Pavilion right there and other possibilities yet to be explored, maybe next time.

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Newman, CA
Dec 7, 2010

nice place

We stayed at the place while at a concert at the HP Pavilion. It is at a very good location, since we were able to walk to the pavilion (only about a block and a half away).The hotel was pretty nice. Okay place to stay at. Everything was okay, but a female receptionist that was there when we checked in, was really rude. Not the type of person to have working at a place where customer service should be a priority. The other guy receptionist was pretty friendly. The best part was that my boyfriend proposed while getting ready for the concert =)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

walking distance to the hp pavilion

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Sacramento, CA
Jul 15, 2011

Light sleepers beware

We used this as a place to spend the night in between a late birthday party and an early trip to Monterey. The lobby personnel were very friendly, and the lobby had a nice decor and was clean. However, if you're a light sleeper, the hotel sits near Hwy. 280 and a street that enters/exits Hwy. 280. We also heard an airplane at night and because the walls are so thin, various guests speaking very loudly in the hallway and letting their doors slam past 10 p.m. If you're a heavy sleeper, you may not mind, and if not, perhaps going to sleep with headphones/music or ear plugs may help.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a mall-area nearby with a cinema, and there is also the Elephant Bar, which in itself was nice with friendly servers.

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
May 8, 2011

Arena Hotel in San Jose, CA

Very Good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Good Location.

Back to menu Return to top