$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 17, 2015 Check-out: May 18, 2015

Arena Hotel

3 stars
View map of 817 The Alameda, San Jose, CA 95126

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Arena Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
227 out of 227
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
leaf sharks fan
Business
San Jose
Mar 18, 2014

Good helpful stay

The staff were very friendly and helpful in assisting me on getting around. Offered to print maps and directions. Always smiling. Enjoyed our stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Myriani
Business
Fresno, Ca
Mar 28, 2014

great location!

Perfect for SAP events! Short walk downtown (6 blocks?) for some great food. Little in the shabby side, but was clean, comfy and there were no bugs or excessive noise. All in all, I'll use it again for SAP events.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Pub, italian, breweries, pizza, you name it, just about 6 blks away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hihue
Business
Oceanside
Sep 16, 2011

area hotel

I like everything in this hotel except the mattress is too soft for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jacqueline
Business
Fresno CA
Sep 19, 2011

square dance festival near by

The breakfast was outstanding. The room nice and neat. The handicaped bath room well kept and easy to use.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Miss BB
Business
Sacramento, CA, USA
Oct 11, 2011

paid less, got more...

We stayed at the Fairmont Hotel the night before, which is considered one of the nicest hotels in San Jose. I was staying there for work and moved over to the Arena Hotel. At the Fairmont, We paid loads of money for a nice view, but nothing special was included. When we arrived at The Arena Hotel, We didn't have to pay an additional fee for parking and we were told our visit included a free breakfast (average stuff including eggs and potatoes, etc) and it was in a cute neighborhood with coffee shops and a nice sushi place nearby that was open late on a Sunday. Overall we were happy to pay less for a better stay and the bed was very comfy. The jacuzzi tub wasn't a bad addition either after a long day. And it was a little walk to downtown, and an inexpensive cab ride back. not bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

its a short walk to downtown, and the public transit runs pretty late, even on sunday. Cab ride was fairly inexpensive to come home later in evening. Also, not much open downtown for dinner on sundays, but a few places close to hotel including a shushi/japanese food place and chipotle are practically outside your door.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Will M.
Business
Maine
Dec 11, 2011

Decent value; no frills

The staff is very friendly, and the price is fine, but this place is tired. Our room, while clean enough, has not had any sort of update since the 70s. The road noise and bright light outside our window didn't make for a cozy experience either. If you need a clean and inexpensive room near the SJ airport or train station - as we did - the Arena Hotel is just acceptable. If you're looking for more comfort and/or amenities, you may want to look elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mommamandy
Business
San Jose, CA, USA
Feb 5, 2012

Anniversary Night

We got this hotel room specifically for the jacuzzi tub. That was fine. The location was great. Room was clean. Couch was worn and uncomfortable. There were signs of an aging building everywhere. This is a very nice building and would be a incredible Hotel if the money was spent on the right maintenance. We were satisfied overall and would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mjdickinson
Business
Berkeley, CA, USA
Mar 12, 2012

OK

I stayed here with my family only because we were visiting friends in San Jose. The communal areas were pleasant enough. The room was a little dates, but served its purpose. Breakfast was included and good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking distance to Diridon Station and buses.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Miss BB
Business
Sacramento, CA, USA
Nov 5, 2012

a little gem

while this place appears to be very common, it's really quite convenient and clean. The beds were very comfortable and the room was simple, but nice. The stay included a free full breakfast which was a pleasant suprise. It's a a short drive from downtown and in a cute little areas with it's own history and a sushi place, good coffee shop, and some art studios within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a cab downtown or public transportaton. It's also a nice little walk if you're heading out, but I recommend a cab for coming back.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Evalyn and kelis nana
Business
Gilroy ca
Dec 25, 2012

Good night sleep

The hotel staff was awesome beds were super comfortable breakfast was great would definitely stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top