$98 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 26, 2015 Check-out: Jul 27, 2015

Arena Hotel

3 stars
View map of 817 The Alameda, San Jose, CA 95126

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Arena Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
246 out of 246
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 22, 2009

You Get What You Pay For

This hotel is in a great location if you are going to a Sharks game or something else at the Arena. It is also very inexpensive. That said, you get what you pay for. Rooms are old and very dated. The entire floor smells like cigarette smoke, even though the smoking section is on the other side of the hotel. There was literally vomit on the wall in the vending/ice room - and wasn't completely cleaned up the entire time we were there. The second night we opted to "upgrade" to a suite. This time it was much more roomy and there was a kitchenette. However, we listened to a group of people next door loudly fighting until the wee hours of the morning. If cheap and Arena close is what is important - this is the place for you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to the Arena.

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CA
Sep 27, 2009

Arena Hotel

Good location but the staff was not friendly. And the rooms ae not clean enough, marcowave and air conditioner were not work very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san jose
Mar 3, 2011

just ok

Room was ok, we were really dissapointed about the breakfast. The food was cooked using a microwave, was gross. Microwaved eggs, bacon, ect. Dining room smelled like the tables and counter tops were wiped using just water, no pine soll, bleach, or anything. Smelled really bad. Asain guy at the front desk was rude, he never greeted the guests entering the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dilkhush
Business
New York, NY
Feb 27, 2008

Cheap but Noisy

This hotel was OK, but the walls were so thin that I thought that someone was in my room when I was standing in the hall. Later that night, I could hear couples in the room next door. They were very energetic, and louder than my TV. Definitely BRING EARPLUGS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to the Arena in San Jose.

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Modesto, CA
Dec 3, 2010

Good Location

Walking distance to the Arena.Check in staff not very friendly or helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
phenox
Apr 16, 2011

arena hotel

sleep, I liked the location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

lots of resturants

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LaurenPr
Business
San Francisco
Aug 15, 2014

Great location but not worth it

The location is great and is super close to SAP center. I loved the jacuzzi tub and the room was pretty big. The room didn't seem completely clean and it definitely needs a remodel. Walls are very thin and you can hear people above and below you. I did not sleep well. I wouldn't recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose,CA.
Nov 25, 2009

so so

I visited my parent that It close location.I wrote option to hotel counter and still saw bath had mud.May need professioner do it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CRandy
Business
Dallas
Jan 25, 2014

Good Value

Hotel is older but a great location. They have made some updates to the property. Very friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very friendly coffee shop across the street. Serves very nice breakfast sandwiches and light lunch sandwiches.

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bing2387
Business
San Jose California
Jan 29, 2014

Sharks game getaway

Good value, doesn't have all the bells and whistles.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Santana row

Back to menu Return to top