$112 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Arena Hotel

3 stars
View map of 817 The Alameda, San Jose, CA 95126

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Arena Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
230 out of 230
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Atascadero,Ca
Jul 10, 2011

Misleading

This hotel was chosen because it said free transportation to the airport. When we inquired of shuttle times, their reply was we don't offer transportation. When shown the web site with the "free transportation" he said it was a misprint & couldn't help us. Walls very thin, could hear neighbors talking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

no free transportation

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Arroyo Grande, Ca
Dec 9, 2010

Pretty dirty place

Nice room but DIRTY!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nako
Family
Aurora, CO, USA
Jan 23, 2012

Free Breakfast - Big Joke

they have limited variety of food for breakfast. we were there for 5 days and they served the same thing over and over. also, the door for the bathroom is scary, it felt like it will fall on us when we open/close it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mommamandy
Couples
San Jose, CA, USA
Feb 2, 2012

just ok

Needs to be up dated. The floor in bathroom and around tub was cracked. Tiles were broken. Jacuzzi had missing fixtures. The kitchenette needed to be updated. Old wood. Colors in the whole room were old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Original Joe's

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kacz
Business
Clovis, CA, USA
Feb 2, 2012

Disappointing Dark and Dirty

At first when I pulled into the parking lot I was quite pleased by the outside look of the place. Even when I entered the lobby I was not terribly turned off. The clerk behind the counter was pleasant. It went all down hill from there when she told me there was no exercise facility. As I went to my room I noticed that the hallway carpets were dirty (stained). There were fold up beds stationed in the hallway and it looked like a college dorm room. The room itself had fake wood floors and was cold and dank. I turned up the portable heater and it made loud noises keeping me up all nite. I finally turned it off so I could sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Adventure is the game
Friends
Folsom
Oct 4, 2012

location good for Arena

The hotel itself was average and the staff was very friendly. The downside is that, upon walking to the hotel from the parking lot, there were people sitting outside at the picnic tables with a case of beer and not using the best language. The air conditioner was extremely loud and to hear the tv, you would have made it uncomfortable for the other guests, so we just turned it off. The upstairs guests were running and jumping till after 2am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hockey fan.
Couples
Bay Area, CA
Nov 11, 2012

Great location but....

Hotel is perfect for any event at HP but the bed and pillows in their rooms are 30+ years old. Not a fan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bicycle race fan
Single
Atlanta, GA
May 21, 2013

An old style Hotel

This hotel is showing its age, in the styling of the lobby, rooms, decor, and in the worn out carpeting and general shabbiness of the furniture. It needs a fresh coat of paint in the hall ways, new carpets, updated bathroom facilities. There are small garden areas around the parking lot, within the hotel's entrance way. It is located along a vibrant and active part of town, close to several coffee shops, restaurants, and cross the street from the LGBT community center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There are lots of night life activities just a few blocks away.

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dwight540
Business
roanoke va
Nov 24, 2013

San Jose

It's ok...rooms are outdated. Needs too be updated. Has potential but rough...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 22, 2009

You Get What You Pay For

This hotel is in a great location if you are going to a Sharks game or something else at the Arena. It is also very inexpensive. That said, you get what you pay for. Rooms are old and very dated. The entire floor smells like cigarette smoke, even though the smoking section is on the other side of the hotel. There was literally vomit on the wall in the vending/ice room - and wasn't completely cleaned up the entire time we were there. The second night we opted to "upgrade" to a suite. This time it was much more roomy and there was a kitchenette. However, we listened to a group of people next door loudly fighting until the wee hours of the morning. If cheap and Arena close is what is important - this is the place for you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to the Arena.

Back to menu Return to top