$112 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Arena Hotel

3 stars
View map of 817 The Alameda, San Jose, CA 95126

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
230 reviews
I always stay there when in San Jose

The staff are very friendly and competent. The rooms are kept in top notch state of cleanliness and... See full review

  • The Man from Minnesota
  • Jul 19, 2015
Wonderful

Excellent customer service. Great buffet breakfast daily. See full review

  • Fergo
  • Jun 21, 2015

Located in the heart of downtown San Jose, the Arena Hotel offers walkable access to the HP Pavilion, downtown offices and the San Jose Caltrain station. Guests appreciate the variety of nearby dining and transportation options whether they are there for a San Jose Sharks game or a business trip. Complimentary breakfast (daily) help guests fuel up for a long day of work or night of recreation, and Jacuzzi tubs in each room ease sore muscles afterward.

Rooms

The recently renovated rooms have traditional decor, including dark-wood furnishings and printed bedspreads in dark, muted colors. Guestrooms and suites are highlighted by amenities such as 27-inch color TVs, voicemail-enabled telephones, microwaves, refrigerators, coffeemakers and even kitchenettes in some rooms. Two-person Jacuzzi bathtubs and free wireless Internet access are nice bonuses.

Property features

Corporate travelers appreciate the on-site business center, which is open daily and includes a computer workstation with Internet access and a printer. (A fax machine and photocopier are available at the front desk.) Guests who don't like checking bags can take advantage of the same-day dry-cleaning service and an on-site laundry room (fees apply). Perhaps most appreciated, though, is the complimentary breakfast available weekdays and weekends. 

Highlights
  • Free wireless Internet access in rooms and common areas
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Walking distance to HP Pavilion, downtown San Jose and Caltrain
Nearby attractions
  • HP Pavilion (.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Tech Museum of Innovation (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • San Jose Convention Center (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Children's Discovery Museum (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Santana Row (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
  • Winchester Mystery House (3.2 mi/5.2 km)
  • California's Great America (7.3 mi/11.7 km)
  • Santa Clara Convention Center (7.9 mi/12.7 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • On-site business center open daily
  • Indoor and outdoor seating areas to conduct interviews or hold small meetings
Transportation
  • San Jose International Airport (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (36.5 mi/58.8 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (37.4 mi/60.3 km)
  • Caltrain (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • VTA light rail (.6 mi/1 km)
  • VTA bus stop (across the street)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Arena Hotel also booked these hotels.

★★★
$118
3.1 / 5 57 reviews
★★★★
$126
4.4 / 5 80 reviews
★★★★
$139
4.1 / 5 31 reviews
★★★
$115
3.8 / 5 36 reviews
★★★★
$89
4.0 / 5 73 reviews
★★★★
$121
4.2 / 5 61 reviews
★★★
$149
3.0 / 5 12 reviews

Arena Hotel Rooms

DLX STE jacuzzi and sofa bed
DLX STE jacuzzi and sofa bed
DLX DBL Queen jacuzzi NS
DLX DBL Queen jacuzzi NS
KG DLX jacuzzi non-smoking
KG DLX jacuzzi non-smoking

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
Copy service
Parking
Free parking
Room
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • HP Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • SAP Center at San Jose: 0.3 mi
  • San Jose Center for the Performing Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Heritage Rose Garden: 0.8 mi
  • Children's Discovery Museum: 0.9 mi
  • St. Joseph Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • San Jose Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • San Jose Civic Auditorium: 0.9 mi
  • Plaza de Cesar Chavez Park: 0.9 mi
  • Rosicrucian Egyptian Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Jose Repertory Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Municipal Rose Garden: 1.1 mi
  • San Jose Museum of Quilts & Textiles: 1.2 mi
  • Japantown (San Jose): 1.4 mi
  • The Event Center Arena: 1.4 mi
  • HP Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • SAP Center at San Jose: 0.3 mi
  • San Jose Center for the Performing Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Heritage Rose Garden: 0.8 mi
  • Children's Discovery Museum: 0.9 mi
  • St. Joseph Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • San Jose Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • San Jose Civic Auditorium: 0.9 mi
  • Plaza de Cesar Chavez Park: 0.9 mi
  • Rosicrucian Egyptian Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Jose Repertory Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Municipal Rose Garden: 1.1 mi
  • San Jose Museum of Quilts & Textiles: 1.2 mi
  • Japantown (San Jose): 1.4 mi
  • The Event Center Arena: 1.4 mi
  • Los Gatos Creek Trail: 1.7 mi
  • Willow Glen: 1.9 mi
  • Happy Hollow Park and Zoo: 2.4 mi
  • Japanese Friendship Garden: 2.6 mi
  • Winchester Mystery House: 2.6 mi
  • History Park: 2.8 mi
  • Raging Waters: 5.1 mi
  • Alum Rock Park: 6.9 mi
  • Almaden Quicksilver County Park: 10.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Arena Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
230 out of 230
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
parrotred
Family
Roseville, CA, USA
Mar 9, 2012

Bad hotel and customer service ever!!!!

This is the worst hotel experience ever. I have tried to explain how disgusting this place is, but I keep getting a message that says I am using inappropriate language.DO NOT STAY HERE!!!! I could not get a refund even though I was appalled at the conditions.AVOID THIS MOTEL.It was dirty,smelly and gross. I guess management is OK with unhappy visitors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
parrotred
Family
Roseville, CA, USA
Mar 10, 2012

Very Dirty, Will Never Stay Again,Cannot Recommend

Hotel is disgusting. Stained carpets,walls and ceiling. Could barely get the windows open to air it out, and when we did had to hold them open with . We were there about 20 minutes,told front desk we were leaving and the manager would not give a refund.Horrible customer service.DO NOT STAY HERE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kaddy
Couples
New England
Mar 13, 2012

Not a good choice the second time

We arrived at 1 pm and were informed our accessible room that we reserved in November had been given away. The noise outside at night was awful. We also needed to stay an extra night and the staff was going to charge us $104 for the same $79 room. Only after we told the staff never mind did we get a lower rate. This hotel has just gotten much more grungy and dirty. We frequent San Jose once a month. Time to look for a new place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tony the Tiger
San Francisco
Jun 12, 2012

Would like to see this place renovated

I stayed only one night and am glad I did. The room smelled like cigarette smoke and permeated the place. Bought air freshener from drug store next door and it didn't help. It was awful. Will not stay there again. The parking was good and free the only other good thing was the breakfast it was good too and free. They management has to do something about the ratty furniture (I wouldn't chance sitting on the sofa) It did have a cool Jacuzzi in the bathroom. My room was very big too. Too bad it really needed a facelift. (Did have 3 HBO channels not mentioned in the amenities section)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pasta Pomodoro's is a great place with outdoor seating. There is a Chipolte Mexican Grill & Cafe Rosalina located up the street 1077 The Alameda, San Jose (Good food and best coffee)

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
estacada, OR
Aug 17, 2010

dad

very bad breakfast, not enough food choice and run out food all time. hotel room is pretty old and look like very dirty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
San Francisco
Oct 20, 2008

Awful and Overpriced

The Arena Hotel is one of the worst hotels that I have ever stayed. The room smelled and was unnecessarily noisy, as there was a loud old kitchen-sized refrigerator in the room next to my bed and the old air conditioning unit was equally loud. The breakfast buffet table smelled like old grease; we walked out. The only reason we chose this hotel was that it is within walking distance of HP Pavilion, but there are no restaurants on that side of the Pavilion. We found out later that we could have stayed an equal distance from the Pavilion in downtown San Jose with lots of nice restaurants and several reasonably priced hotels for just a few dollars more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
notsohappyguest
Family
Tx
Jun 18, 2011

Not what we expected

Not what was promised! The ad said it was a 4 star hotel and I wouldn't even count it a 2 star!! The outside was nice enough, the room was "clean" however it was VERY dated and dingy. The Zacuzzi tub was nice and big but so was the ring around it, again I think it was "clean" just dated and dingy! It advertized an indoor swimming pool but it didn't have one, not even outside!!! If I were to go to that area again I would not be staying there! The entire hotel needed some major renovations!! I almost forgot the bathroom fan stayed on and made a horrible rumbling sound it would turn off but only for a few minutes then start back up rumbling again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dancin duo
Single
central coast, california
Jul 27, 2009

crashpad

We chose this hotel for its location and price. And that's pretty much what we got. The jacuzzi that you "slip into" is better suited for a worn out athlete in the locker room. But it did work out for tired feet after walking about 6 blocks from downtown. I don't think I'll be pre-paying any more hotels, since this is the second time I've been given what seems to be leftover treatment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
from Hawaii with Aloha
Couples
Hawaii
Aug 5, 2011

Homeless haven

they need security and more staff (beware of the homeless wandering around all day and at night.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Northern California
Aug 5, 2011

Worst Experience of a hotel stay

When we checked in at the hotel, the carpets looked like really old and needed some cleaning. After getting to the room, the AC did not work and we had to call in the maintenance to fix it. The rooms are so dimly lit. and suddenly in the morning the bathroom lights just wont turn on. The bed was so hard, We could barely get any sleep. The only upside to the room is the jacuzzi, but this hotel is just not worth the price. I will never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top