$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 21, 2014 Check-out: Sep 22, 2014

Arena Hotel

3 stars
817 The Alameda, San Jose, CA 95126
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
199 reviews
Convenient for area college visits

Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Complimentary breakfast was great. Room was quiet and... See full review

  • Srs 2019
  • Aug 2, 2014
going back

nice place to stay near downtown, kitchen and tub nice for family See full review

  • Will have fun
  • Jul 25, 2014
Affordable downtown San Jose hotel offers easy access to everything

Located in the heart of downtown San Jose, the Arena Hotel offers walkable access to the HP Pavilion, downtown offices and the San Jose Caltrain station. Guests appreciate the variety of nearby dining and transportation options whether they are there for a San Jose Sharks game or a business trip. Complimentary breakfast (daily) help guests fuel up for a long day of work or night of recreation, and Jacuzzi tubs in each room ease sore muscles afterward.

Highlights:
  • Free wireless Internet access in rooms and common areas
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Walking distance to HP Pavilion, downtown San Jose and Caltrain
Rooms:

The recently renovated rooms have traditional decor, including dark-wood furnishings and printed bedspreads in dark, muted colors. Guestrooms and suites are highlighted by amenities such as 27-inch color TVs, voicemail-enabled telephones, microwaves, refrigerators, coffeemakers and even kitchenettes in some rooms. Two-person Jacuzzi bathtubs and free wireless Internet access are nice bonuses.

Features:

Corporate travelers appreciate the on-site business center, which is open daily and includes a computer workstation with Internet access and a printer. (A fax machine and photocopier are available at the front desk.) Guests who don't like checking bags can take advantage of the same-day dry-cleaning service and an on-site laundry room (fees apply). Perhaps most appreciated, though, is the complimentary breakfast available weekdays and weekends. 

Transportation:
  • San Jose International Airport (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (36.5 mi/58.8 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (37.4 mi/60.3 km)
  • Caltrain (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • VTA light rail (.6 mi/1 km)
  • VTA bus stop (across the street)
Attractions:
  • HP Pavilion (.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Tech Museum of Innovation (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • San Jose Convention Center (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Children's Discovery Museum (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Santana Row (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
  • Winchester Mystery House (3.2 mi/5.2 km)
  • California's Great America (7.3 mi/11.7 km)
  • Santa Clara Convention Center (7.9 mi/12.7 km)
Business:
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • On-site business center open daily
  • Indoor and outdoor seating areas to conduct interviews or hold small meetings

Hotel Map

37.3324 -121.9062
Nearby airports
(OAK), 37.00, MI; (SFO), 36.00, MI; (SJC), 4.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Arena Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5

Arena Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Double Queen with jacuzzi
Deluxe Room-Double Queen-Jacuzzi-Non Smoking
Deluxe Suite with jacuzzi and so
Deluxe Suite with jacuzzi and sofa bed
King Deluxe with jacuzzi non-smo
King Deluxe with jacuzzi non-smoking

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • HP Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • SAP Center at San Jose: 0.3 mi
  • San Jose Center for the Performing Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Heritage Rose Garden: 0.8 mi
  • Children's Discovery Museum: 0.9 mi
  • St. Joseph Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • San Jose Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • San Jose Civic Auditorium: 0.9 mi
  • Plaza de Cesar Chavez Park: 0.9 mi
  • Rosicrucian Egyptian Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Jose Repertory Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Municipal Rose Garden: 1.1 mi
  • San Jose Museum of Quilts & Textiles: 1.2 mi
  • Japantown (San Jose): 1.4 mi
  • The Event Center Arena: 1.4 mi
  • HP Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • SAP Center at San Jose: 0.3 mi
  • San Jose Center for the Performing Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Heritage Rose Garden: 0.8 mi
  • Children's Discovery Museum: 0.9 mi
  • St. Joseph Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • San Jose Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • San Jose Civic Auditorium: 0.9 mi
  • Plaza de Cesar Chavez Park: 0.9 mi
  • Rosicrucian Egyptian Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Jose Repertory Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Municipal Rose Garden: 1.1 mi
  • San Jose Museum of Quilts & Textiles: 1.2 mi
  • Japantown (San Jose): 1.4 mi
  • The Event Center Arena: 1.4 mi
  • Los Gatos Creek Trail: 1.7 mi
  • Willow Glen: 1.9 mi
  • Happy Hollow Park and Zoo: 2.4 mi
  • Japanese Friendship Garden: 2.6 mi
  • Winchester Mystery House: 2.6 mi
  • History Park: 2.8 mi
  • Raging Waters: 5.1 mi
  • Alum Rock Park: 6.9 mi
  • Almaden Quicksilver County Park: 10.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (199)

Ratings and reviews for Arena Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 199
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ktpaul
San Jose
Aug 27, 2014

Not that clean/new

It was okay, but expensive for what you get. Breakfast was good, but otherwise, the walls are super thin, carpets are old/musty. The bed was good too, clean sheets/towels daily. Parking is free and convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

I think there are newer renovated rooms?

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Business Traveler from Cleveland
Concord, OH
Apr 15, 2014

Great place for the price

This will be my spot when I come to San Jose.I like this place. It's like a throw back to the seventies or eighties but in a good way. They don't have the disposable type of furniture, carpet and fixtures like most hotels have now. The hotel staff was super helpful too. All i had was a hundred, and the night clerk was happy to make change so i could get some water from the vending machine. If more places were like this, i would rarely stay at the chain hotels. Decent price too. The continental breakfast was the only disappointment in my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J Locz
Salinas, CA
Jan 28, 2014

Great Quick Romantic Getaway

My girlfriend and I loved our room. Especially the jucuzzi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Good complimentary breakfast

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kane9
San Jose, CA
Oct 6, 2013

No Compaints

I read other reviews before my trip and agree that this is an older hotel but still pretty well maintained. I did not experience the things those rated it lower did. But, I'm pretty easy to please and just expected a clean place to stay for my 2 nights which I received. Yes, there was a Jaccuzi in my room, but I never used it. The staff were excellent and the complementary breakfast was satisfying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
T Prov
Ft. Lauderdale
Aug 2, 2013

Fantastic Getaway

Minus a strong smell of cleaning solution in my room, my hotel stay was great. All of the staff was very friendly and super helpful. I didn't really like my view it was just trees that were so close together that I couldn't see through it. Location was great though and the bed was very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TravelCool
San Jose, California
Jul 8, 2013

Fourth of July Relax Time

I very surprised to receive all that I got at the hotel for the price. It is a very nice value. The hotel is away from all of the hustle and noise. I like the layout of the entire hotel. For a couple or single person looking for a weekend getaway I would recommend this hotel. Very nice jacuzzi!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
T Prov
Ft. Lauderdale
Jun 23, 2013

perfect hideaway

I just needed a place to get away for a few days. The staff was always super friendly & accommodating. The room was a good size and the hot tub was fantastic! The only thing thing I didn't like was the cleaning smell my room had. Kind of a Clorox smell but I forgot about it after awhile

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bicycle race fan
Atlanta, GA
May 21, 2013

An old style Hotel

This hotel is showing its age, in the styling of the lobby, rooms, decor, and in the worn out carpeting and general shabbiness of the furniture. It needs a fresh coat of paint in the hall ways, new carpets, updated bathroom facilities. There are small garden areas around the parking lot, within the hotel's entrance way. It is located along a vibrant and active part of town, close to several coffee shops, restaurants, and cross the street from the LGBT community center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There are lots of night life activities just a few blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Teluria
Naylor, Georgia
May 16, 2013

Good, Clean Little Gem

If you want a clean room in a quiet motel , stay here. It is not fancy but the rooms are well-kept and are just enough for a brief stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RamF
San Jose, CA, USA
Apr 28, 2012

Nice comfortable room

Nice comfortable room with good two-person jacuzzi

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search