$103 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 6, 2015 Check-out: Jun 9, 2015

Arena Hotel

3 stars
View map of 817 The Alameda, San Jose, CA 95126

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
243 reviews
Concert at SAP Center

This hotel was awesome so close to everything in san jose me and my girlfriend loved it also the... See full review

  • Cesar R.
  • Apr 30, 2015
great trip

Staff was very nice and helpful finding somewhere close to eat for dinner. See full review

  • Anita B.
  • Mar 19, 2015
Affordable downtown San Jose hotel offers easy access to everything

Located in the heart of downtown San Jose, the Arena Hotel offers walkable access to the HP Pavilion, downtown offices and the San Jose Caltrain station. Guests appreciate the variety of nearby dining and transportation options whether they are there for a San Jose Sharks game or a business trip. Complimentary breakfast (daily) help guests fuel up for a long day of work or night of recreation, and Jacuzzi tubs in each room ease sore muscles afterward.

Highlights:
  • Free wireless Internet access in rooms and common areas
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Walking distance to HP Pavilion, downtown San Jose and Caltrain
Rooms:

The recently renovated rooms have traditional decor, including dark-wood furnishings and printed bedspreads in dark, muted colors. Guestrooms and suites are highlighted by amenities such as 27-inch color TVs, voicemail-enabled telephones, microwaves, refrigerators, coffeemakers and even kitchenettes in some rooms. Two-person Jacuzzi bathtubs and free wireless Internet access are nice bonuses.

Features:

Corporate travelers appreciate the on-site business center, which is open daily and includes a computer workstation with Internet access and a printer. (A fax machine and photocopier are available at the front desk.) Guests who don't like checking bags can take advantage of the same-day dry-cleaning service and an on-site laundry room (fees apply). Perhaps most appreciated, though, is the complimentary breakfast available weekdays and weekends. 

Transportation:
  • San Jose International Airport (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (36.5 mi/58.8 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (37.4 mi/60.3 km)
  • Caltrain (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • VTA light rail (.6 mi/1 km)
  • VTA bus stop (across the street)
Attractions:
  • HP Pavilion (.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Tech Museum of Innovation (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • San Jose Convention Center (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Children's Discovery Museum (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Santana Row (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
  • Winchester Mystery House (3.2 mi/5.2 km)
  • California's Great America (7.3 mi/11.7 km)
  • Santa Clara Convention Center (7.9 mi/12.7 km)
Business:
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • On-site business center open daily
  • Indoor and outdoor seating areas to conduct interviews or hold small meetings

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Arena Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Arena Hotel Rooms

DLX STE jacuzzi and sofa bed
DLX STE jacuzzi and sofa bed
DLX DBL Queen jacuzzi NS
DLX DBL Queen jacuzzi NS
KG DLX jacuzzi non-smoking
KG DLX jacuzzi non-smoking

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
Copy service
Parking
Free parking
Room
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • HP Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • SAP Center at San Jose: 0.3 mi
  • San Jose Center for the Performing Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Heritage Rose Garden: 0.8 mi
  • Children's Discovery Museum: 0.9 mi
  • St. Joseph Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • San Jose Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • San Jose Civic Auditorium: 0.9 mi
  • Plaza de Cesar Chavez Park: 0.9 mi
  • Rosicrucian Egyptian Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Jose Repertory Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Municipal Rose Garden: 1.1 mi
  • San Jose Museum of Quilts & Textiles: 1.2 mi
  • Japantown (San Jose): 1.4 mi
  • The Event Center Arena: 1.4 mi
  • HP Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • SAP Center at San Jose: 0.3 mi
  • San Jose Center for the Performing Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Heritage Rose Garden: 0.8 mi
  • Children's Discovery Museum: 0.9 mi
  • St. Joseph Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • San Jose Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • San Jose Civic Auditorium: 0.9 mi
  • Plaza de Cesar Chavez Park: 0.9 mi
  • Rosicrucian Egyptian Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Jose Repertory Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Municipal Rose Garden: 1.1 mi
  • San Jose Museum of Quilts & Textiles: 1.2 mi
  • Japantown (San Jose): 1.4 mi
  • The Event Center Arena: 1.4 mi
  • Los Gatos Creek Trail: 1.7 mi
  • Willow Glen: 1.9 mi
  • Happy Hollow Park and Zoo: 2.4 mi
  • Japanese Friendship Garden: 2.6 mi
  • Winchester Mystery House: 2.6 mi
  • History Park: 2.8 mi
  • Raging Waters: 5.1 mi
  • Alum Rock Park: 6.9 mi
  • Almaden Quicksilver County Park: 10.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Arena Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
243 out of 243
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Qweenie86
Business
fresno, ca
Jan 12, 2014

A night in the city

After reading good reviews about Arena Hotel, my group of friends and I decided to try it out for our night out on the town. Upon arrival, the exterior of the hotel was well kept, (free)parking lot looked safe, and location was wonderful (cvs directly behind hotel & short cab ride to downtown clubs). Hotel staff at front desk was kind and helpful and check in was a breeze. The room's amenities exceeded my expectations (2 person jetted tub, microwave, mini fridge, flat panel tv, coffee maker). The free breakfast down in the dining room was a definite plus. My only suggestion would be to request extra pillows or take your own. Will definitely stay again. Thanks Arena Hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Such a great deal

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super relaxed AJ
Business
Concord
Mar 10, 2014

Love Jetted tub

The jetted tube was the best way to relax. I really enjoyed it. Beds are nice and comfy too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Weekend Getaway Couple
Business
Bakersfield, CA
Jun 28, 2011

Great Stay!

We had a great stay at the Arena Hotel. The gentleman at the front desk was very welcoming, friendly and answered our questions. The room was clean and the Jacuzzi tub was great!! The breakfast was good, with scrambled eggs, potatoes, pancakes, yogurt, cereal, several different choices of juice, the breakfast was better than other hotels "continental breakfast". Will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Weekend Getaway Couple
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Aug 24, 2011

Nice Place to Stay

The breakfast was better than a "continental" breakfast, it included eggs, bacon, biscuits and gravy along with the typical cereal, toast, and juice. The room was clean and staff very friendly and helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kate Travel with Family
Business
St Paul, MN
Jul 22, 2012

Family trip - HP Pavilion

Superior large rooms with jacuzzi. Very clean. Awesome hot buffet breakfast. Only a few minutes walk to the game at HP Pavilion and a few minutes drive to the airport. Much better experience than anything else in the same price range in San Jose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

HP Pavilion - only a few minutes walk.

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mark Viviano
Business
San Jose, California
Apr 1, 2013

Car Rental

The trip was overall good, however I wasn't allowed to rent a car because I don't have a driver's license. The worker at the car rental place said I could get my money back. I would like to have an update on that. -Mark

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travelinggrandma
Business
Texas
Aug 5, 2013

Wow!!!

Great neighborhood!!! Close to everything!!! Super nice and clean rooms!! It was perfect!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kane9
Business
San Jose, CA
Oct 6, 2013

No Compaints

I read other reviews before my trip and agree that this is an older hotel but still pretty well maintained. I did not experience the things those rated it lower did. But, I'm pretty easy to please and just expected a clean place to stay for my 2 nights which I received. Yes, there was a Jaccuzi in my room, but I never used it. The staff were excellent and the complementary breakfast was satisfying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Packerfan4evr
Business
Central Coast
Oct 25, 2013

The place to stay in San Jose!

Wonderful Hotel!! I loved the fact that there was a microwave and fridge in the room. This made it much more comfortable for my three night stay. There is a CVS next door and a Chipotle restaurant a block away. The conference center was only a 5 min drive away. The night time clerk was exceptional!! I plan to come back to San Jose with my family and I will stay at The Arena again! Thank you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Metalicitem
Business
Petaluma, ca
Nov 4, 2013

Best Place to Stay for any SAP Center Event

Great location, spacious room, awesome jacuzzi tub, comfortable bed, and great looking hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

SAP Center, Downtown a little walk, great restaurants near by. Check out the Farmers Union. GO SHARKS!

Back to menu Return to top