$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 11, 2014

Arena Hotel

3 stars
817 The Alameda, San Jose, CA 95126
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
299 reviews
Great stay

Check in was easy. The staff was very helpful Room was clean. Very quiet stay. Breakfast was very... See full review

  • Annie Mae
  • Jun 12, 2014
Love Jetted tub

The jetted tube was the best way to relax. I really enjoyed it. Beds are nice and comfy too. See full review

  • Super relaxed AJ
  • Mar 10, 2014
Affordable downtown San Jose hotel offers easy access to everything

Located in the heart of downtown San Jose, the Arena Hotel offers walkable access to the HP Pavilion, downtown offices and the San Jose Caltrain station. Guests appreciate the variety of nearby dining and transportation options whether they are there for a San Jose Sharks game or a business trip. Complimentary breakfast (daily) help guests fuel up for a long day of work or night of recreation, and Jacuzzi tubs in each room ease sore muscles afterward.

Highlights:
  • Free wireless Internet access in rooms and common areas
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Walking distance to HP Pavilion, downtown San Jose and Caltrain
Rooms:

The recently renovated rooms have traditional decor, including dark-wood furnishings and printed bedspreads in dark, muted colors. Guestrooms and suites are highlighted by amenities such as 27-inch color TVs, voicemail-enabled telephones, microwaves, refrigerators, coffeemakers and even kitchenettes in some rooms. Two-person Jacuzzi bathtubs and free wireless Internet access are nice bonuses.

Features:

Corporate travelers appreciate the on-site business center, which is open daily and includes a computer workstation with Internet access and a printer. (A fax machine and photocopier are available at the front desk.) Guests who don't like checking bags can take advantage of the same-day dry-cleaning service and an on-site laundry room (fees apply). Perhaps most appreciated, though, is the complimentary breakfast available weekdays and weekends. 

Transportation:
  • San Jose International Airport (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (36.5 mi/58.8 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (37.4 mi/60.3 km)
  • Caltrain (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • VTA light rail (.6 mi/1 km)
  • VTA bus stop (across the street)
Attractions:
  • HP Pavilion (.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Tech Museum of Innovation (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • San Jose Convention Center (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Children's Discovery Museum (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Santana Row (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
  • Winchester Mystery House (3.2 mi/5.2 km)
  • California's Great America (7.3 mi/11.7 km)
  • Santa Clara Convention Center (7.9 mi/12.7 km)
Business:
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • On-site business center open daily
  • Indoor and outdoor seating areas to conduct interviews or hold small meetings

Hotel Map

37.3324 -121.9062
Nearby airports
(OAK), 37.00, MI; (SFO), 36.00, MI; (SJC), 4.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Arena Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.2 out of 5

Arena Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Double Queen with jacuzzi
Deluxe Room-Double Queen-Jacuzzi-Non Smoking
Deluxe Suite with jacuzzi and so
Deluxe Suite with jacuzzi and sofa bed
King Deluxe with jacuzzi non-smo
King Deluxe with jacuzzi non-smoking

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • HP Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • SAP Center at San Jose: 0.3 mi
  • San Jose Center for the Performing Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Heritage Rose Garden: 0.8 mi
  • Children's Discovery Museum: 0.9 mi
  • St. Joseph Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • San Jose Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • San Jose Civic Auditorium: 0.9 mi
  • Plaza de Cesar Chavez Park: 0.9 mi
  • Rosicrucian Egyptian Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Jose Repertory Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Municipal Rose Garden: 1.1 mi
  • San Jose Museum of Quilts & Textiles: 1.2 mi
  • Japantown (San Jose): 1.4 mi
  • The Event Center Arena: 1.4 mi
  • HP Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • SAP Center at San Jose: 0.3 mi
  • San Jose Center for the Performing Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Heritage Rose Garden: 0.8 mi
  • Children's Discovery Museum: 0.9 mi
  • St. Joseph Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • San Jose Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • San Jose Civic Auditorium: 0.9 mi
  • Plaza de Cesar Chavez Park: 0.9 mi
  • Rosicrucian Egyptian Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Jose Repertory Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Municipal Rose Garden: 1.1 mi
  • San Jose Museum of Quilts & Textiles: 1.2 mi
  • Japantown (San Jose): 1.4 mi
  • The Event Center Arena: 1.4 mi
  • Los Gatos Creek Trail: 1.7 mi
  • Willow Glen: 1.9 mi
  • Happy Hollow Park and Zoo: 2.4 mi
  • Japanese Friendship Garden: 2.6 mi
  • Winchester Mystery House: 2.6 mi
  • History Park: 2.8 mi
  • Raging Waters: 5.1 mi
  • Alum Rock Park: 6.9 mi
  • Almaden Quicksilver County Park: 10.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (299)

Ratings and reviews for Arena Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
299 out of 299
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kate Travel with Family
St Paul, MN
Jul 22, 2012

Family trip - HP Pavilion

Superior large rooms with jacuzzi. Very clean. Awesome hot buffet breakfast. Only a few minutes walk to the game at HP Pavilion and a few minutes drive to the airport. Much better experience than anything else in the same price range in San Jose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

HP Pavilion - only a few minutes walk.

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tony the Tiger
San Francisco
Jun 12, 2012

Would like to see this place renovated

I stayed only one night and am glad I did. The room smelled like cigarette smoke and permeated the place. Bought air freshener from drug store next door and it didn't help. It was awful. Will not stay there again. The parking was good and free the only other good thing was the breakfast it was good too and free. They management has to do something about the ratty furniture (I wouldn't chance sitting on the sofa) It did have a cool Jacuzzi in the bathroom. My room was very big too. Too bad it really needed a facelift. (Did have 3 HBO channels not mentioned in the amenities section)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pasta Pomodoro's is a great place with outdoor seating. There is a Chipolte Mexican Grill & Cafe Rosalina located up the street 1077 The Alameda, San Jose (Good food and best coffee)

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RamF
San Jose, CA, USA
Jun 9, 2012

Excellent getaway

Nice 1 bedroom suite with two TVs, Jacuzzi, with Sofas in the living room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RamF
San Jose, CA, USA
Apr 28, 2012

Nice comfortable room

Nice comfortable room with good two-person jacuzzi

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grampawongstein
Lake Forest, CA, USA
Apr 24, 2012

If you need the location you can not do better

This is an older nice hotel in a marginal transition area of town. If you need a place near the HP Center or near downtown you can not beat the price for the buck. The rooms are very large, with a coffee maker, fridge and Microwave. Rooms are older but well maintained and very clean but on the dark side. Excellent off street parking and quite rooms for sleeping with excellent air conditioning. Area is safe but empty at night except for a few homeless and bums. Excellent restaurants are within walking distance downtown (1/2 mile) and a CVS pharmacy within a few feet of the hotel. It is well lit for walking on the main streets but I would not stray to far from the main streets. Easy 5 minute walk to the train station. Breakfast was excellent but the same each day with eggs, sausage, potatoes, pancakes and french toast and the best biscuits and gravy I have had in years. Some fruit and yogurt, with hot drinks and juice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The main downtown dining areas are withing walking distance, but it looks like the downtown is not doing well with a lot of closed restaurants.

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kaddy
New England
Mar 13, 2012

Not a good choice the second time

We arrived at 1 pm and were informed our accessible room that we reserved in November had been given away. The noise outside at night was awful. We also needed to stay an extra night and the staff was going to charge us $104 for the same $79 room. Only after we told the staff never mind did we get a lower rate. This hotel has just gotten much more grungy and dirty. We frequent San Jose once a month. Time to look for a new place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mjdickinson
Berkeley, CA, USA
Mar 12, 2012

OK

I stayed here with my family only because we were visiting friends in San Jose. The communal areas were pleasant enough. The room was a little dates, but served its purpose. Breakfast was included and good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking distance to Diridon Station and buses.

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
parrotred
Roseville, CA, USA
Mar 10, 2012

Very Dirty, Will Never Stay Again,Cannot Recommend

Hotel is disgusting. Stained carpets,walls and ceiling. Could barely get the windows open to air it out, and when we did had to hold them open with . We were there about 20 minutes,told front desk we were leaving and the manager would not give a refund.Horrible customer service.DO NOT STAY HERE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
parrotred
Roseville, CA, USA
Mar 9, 2012

Bad hotel and customer service ever!!!!

This is the worst hotel experience ever. I have tried to explain how disgusting this place is, but I keep getting a message that says I am using inappropriate language.DO NOT STAY HERE!!!! I could not get a refund even though I was appalled at the conditions.AVOID THIS MOTEL.It was dirty,smelly and gross. I guess management is OK with unhappy visitors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mommamandy
San Jose, CA, USA
Feb 5, 2012

Anniversary Night

We got this hotel room specifically for the jacuzzi tub. That was fine. The location was great. Room was clean. Couch was worn and uncomfortable. There were signs of an aging building everywhere. This is a very nice building and would be a incredible Hotel if the money was spent on the right maintenance. We were satisfied overall and would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top