$112 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Arena Hotel

3 stars
View map of 817 The Alameda, San Jose, CA 95126

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Arena Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
230 out of 230
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bing2387
Couples
San Jose California
Jan 29, 2014

Sharks game getaway

Good value, doesn't have all the bells and whistles.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Santana row

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J Locz
Single
Salinas, CA
Jan 28, 2014

Great Quick Romantic Getaway

My girlfriend and I loved our room. Especially the jucuzzi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Good complimentary breakfast

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CRandy
Business
Dallas
Jan 25, 2014

Good Value

Hotel is older but a great location. They have made some updates to the property. Very friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very friendly coffee shop across the street. Serves very nice breakfast sandwiches and light lunch sandwiches.

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Qweenie86
Friends
fresno, ca
Jan 12, 2014

A night in the city

After reading good reviews about Arena Hotel, my group of friends and I decided to try it out for our night out on the town. Upon arrival, the exterior of the hotel was well kept, (free)parking lot looked safe, and location was wonderful (cvs directly behind hotel & short cab ride to downtown clubs). Hotel staff at front desk was kind and helpful and check in was a breeze. The room's amenities exceeded my expectations (2 person jetted tub, microwave, mini fridge, flat panel tv, coffee maker). The free breakfast down in the dining room was a definite plus. My only suggestion would be to request extra pillows or take your own. Will definitely stay again. Thanks Arena Hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Such a great deal

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr. Dribb
Couples
Antioch, Ca.
Dec 23, 2013

Only One Complaint

Our overall experience ar Arena Hotel was fairly pleasant. It's only about a 10 min ride to Santana Row which is where our dinner party was situated. Staffing was excellent! Everything I had asked for iver the phone was granted and the I was even remembered once I gave my name. My only complaint was the pillows. They were short and much too firm for my personal sleep needs. My wife slept like a "baby after feeding time", so it's just a matter of preference.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Santana Row - shopping, entertainment and dining. Check Maggiano's Italian Restaurant.

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dwight540
Business
roanoke va
Nov 24, 2013

San Jose

It's ok...rooms are outdated. Needs too be updated. Has potential but rough...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rhoda167
Couples
Madison, WI
Nov 12, 2013

Good Value

I got a very good rate on this hotel and I was very impressed with the appearance of the main exterior and the lobby. The rooms could use a facelift, but I was very impressed with the service of the night manager and the cleanliness of the rooms. It's very close to the SAP Center (a short walk).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
James TH
Business
Singapore
Nov 10, 2013

Business trip at San Jose McEnery convention center

Excellent pricing, good free breakfast and big room. Hotel is located beside a CVS pharmacy and 5 minutes' walk to the light rail or Caltrain station. I was there to attend a meeting at San Jose McEnery convention center. The light rail ride to convention center is about 8 minutes from San Diridon station to convention center, but do take note that light rail only operates in 20-30 minutes' intervals. Overall staying experience in hotel has been great except for a toilet bowl which operates by itself at regular intervals. Repair man was prompt to arrive to change the parts but did not quite get the problem resolved. Quite a clean hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

One Japanese restaurant and one Mexican Chipotle outlet are just a short walk away. There is also a Starbucks and a small Chinese food outlet (China Inn) about 10 minutes' walk from hotel.

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Metalicitem
Couples
Petaluma, ca
Nov 4, 2013

Best Place to Stay for any SAP Center Event

Great location, spacious room, awesome jacuzzi tub, comfortable bed, and great looking hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

SAP Center, Downtown a little walk, great restaurants near by. Check out the Farmers Union. GO SHARKS!

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Packerfan4evr
Business
Central Coast
Oct 25, 2013

The place to stay in San Jose!

Wonderful Hotel!! I loved the fact that there was a microwave and fridge in the room. This made it much more comfortable for my three night stay. There is a CVS next door and a Chipotle restaurant a block away. The conference center was only a 5 min drive away. The night time clerk was exceptional!! I plan to come back to San Jose with my family and I will stay at The Arena again! Thank you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top