$103 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 6, 2015 Check-out: Jun 9, 2015

Arena Hotel

3 stars
View map of 817 The Alameda, San Jose, CA 95126

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Arena Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
243 out of 243
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jessmezzo
Business
Hillsborough, NJ
May 12, 2014

Dated, but elegant

This hotel has some good bones under some very dated skin. The furniture, decor and carpets are worn out and threadbare, but the service is friendly and helpful and the rooms are immaculately clean. There is a slight smell in the room that just happens inevitably with old furniture, I think, but it wasn't intrusively bad. The main spaces in the hotel were obviously once quite elegant. For the price, I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try out Bluefin across the street if you enjoy sushi and sake. It is truly wonderful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brandofiji
Business
California
Apr 28, 2014

In San Jose for training

This hotel was just a 15min drive from our training. Jacuzzi tubs were a definite plus. Would stay there again. We worth paying a little more to avoid Motel 6.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out Blue Fin Sushi across the street. Try the snow crab with macadamia nut roll.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GlobeTrotter22
Business
Huntington Beach, CA, USA
Apr 22, 2014

Just what we were looking for

In town for two nights to see a hockey game, which was great, and also had a good time walking around the city during the day. Slice of NY Pizza is extremely good and just a short drive, and everything else you'd need is just a short walk or drive as well, including a CVS directly next to the hotel. Would definitely come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Slice of NY Pizza, SO GOOD!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Misz. Nisha
Business
San jose
Apr 19, 2014

Family getaway

I liked the location close to stores and place to eat. The room was nice as will. I would have liked a room that was more up dated. The door was open to one room and it had hard wood flooring so I would have love to have the hard wood floor in my room. All in all the hotel was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Business Traveler from Cleveland
Business
Concord, OH
Apr 15, 2014

Great place for the price

This will be my spot when I come to San Jose.I like this place. It's like a throw back to the seventies or eighties but in a good way. They don't have the disposable type of furniture, carpet and fixtures like most hotels have now. The hotel staff was super helpful too. All i had was a hundred, and the night clerk was happy to make change so i could get some water from the vending machine. If more places were like this, i would rarely stay at the chain hotels. Decent price too. The continental breakfast was the only disappointment in my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Myriani
Business
Fresno, Ca
Mar 28, 2014

great location!

Perfect for SAP events! Short walk downtown (6 blocks?) for some great food. Little in the shabby side, but was clean, comfy and there were no bugs or excessive noise. All in all, I'll use it again for SAP events.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Pub, italian, breweries, pizza, you name it, just about 6 blks away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bewa
Business
San Jose, California
Mar 23, 2014

Convenient and decent

Great place for an easy walk to and from the SAP center

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
leaf sharks fan
Business
San Jose
Mar 18, 2014

Good helpful stay

The staff were very friendly and helpful in assisting me on getting around. Offered to print maps and directions. Always smiling. Enjoyed our stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Joe Golf
Business
San Ramon, CA
Mar 11, 2014

Perfect spot for SAP Center Events

This hotel is the perfect spot if you are coming in from out of town for an event at the SAP Center (Former HP Pavillion). It is walking distance from the arena and the downtown area for shopping and dining. The room was generously sized with lot's of in room amenities such as a small refridgerator, coffee maker & coffee, paper plates, napkins and plastic ware for in-room dining or leftovers from dinner out. There is free Wi-Fi and included breakfast buffet in the morning with a good selection of hot and cold items. Great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Book early for best rates and if you have a family with small children think about snacks and food for eating in the room before or after that Sharks game.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super relaxed AJ
Business
Concord
Mar 10, 2014

Love Jetted tub

The jetted tube was the best way to relax. I really enjoyed it. Beds are nice and comfy too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top