$110 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 19, 2014 Check-out: Jul 21, 2014

Arena Hotel

3 stars
817 The Alameda, San Jose, CA 95126
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
299 reviews
Great stay

Check in was easy. The staff was very helpful Room was clean. Very quiet stay. Breakfast was very... See full review

  • Annie Mae
  • Jun 12, 2014
Love Jetted tub

The jetted tube was the best way to relax. I really enjoyed it. Beds are nice and comfy too. See full review

  • Super relaxed AJ
  • Mar 10, 2014
Affordable downtown San Jose hotel offers easy access to everything

Located in the heart of downtown San Jose, the Arena Hotel offers walkable access to the HP Pavilion, downtown offices and the San Jose Caltrain station. Guests appreciate the variety of nearby dining and transportation options whether they are there for a San Jose Sharks game or a business trip. Complimentary breakfast (daily) help guests fuel up for a long day of work or night of recreation, and Jacuzzi tubs in each room ease sore muscles afterward.

Highlights:
  • Free wireless Internet access in rooms and common areas
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Walking distance to HP Pavilion, downtown San Jose and Caltrain
Rooms:

The recently renovated rooms have traditional decor, including dark-wood furnishings and printed bedspreads in dark, muted colors. Guestrooms and suites are highlighted by amenities such as 27-inch color TVs, voicemail-enabled telephones, microwaves, refrigerators, coffeemakers and even kitchenettes in some rooms. Two-person Jacuzzi bathtubs and free wireless Internet access are nice bonuses.

Features:

Corporate travelers appreciate the on-site business center, which is open daily and includes a computer workstation with Internet access and a printer. (A fax machine and photocopier are available at the front desk.) Guests who don't like checking bags can take advantage of the same-day dry-cleaning service and an on-site laundry room (fees apply). Perhaps most appreciated, though, is the complimentary breakfast available weekdays and weekends. 

Transportation:
  • San Jose International Airport (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • Oakland International Airport (36.5 mi/58.8 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (37.4 mi/60.3 km)
  • Caltrain (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • VTA light rail (.6 mi/1 km)
  • VTA bus stop (across the street)
Attractions:
  • HP Pavilion (.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Tech Museum of Innovation (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
  • San Jose Convention Center (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Children's Discovery Museum (1.6 mi/2.5 km)
  • Santana Row (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
  • Winchester Mystery House (3.2 mi/5.2 km)
  • California's Great America (7.3 mi/11.7 km)
  • Santa Clara Convention Center (7.9 mi/12.7 km)
Business:
  • Free high-speed wireless Internet access
  • On-site business center open daily
  • Indoor and outdoor seating areas to conduct interviews or hold small meetings

Hotel Map

37.3324 -121.9062
Nearby airports
(OAK), 37.00, MI; (SFO), 36.00, MI; (SJC), 4.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Arena Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.2 out of 5

Arena Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Double Queen with jacuzzi
Deluxe Room-Double Queen-Jacuzzi-Non Smoking
Deluxe Suite with jacuzzi and so
Deluxe Suite with jacuzzi and sofa bed
King Deluxe with jacuzzi non-smo
King Deluxe with jacuzzi non-smoking

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
FAX
Copy service
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • HP Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • SAP Center at San Jose: 0.3 mi
  • San Jose Center for the Performing Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Heritage Rose Garden: 0.8 mi
  • Children's Discovery Museum: 0.9 mi
  • St. Joseph Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • San Jose Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • San Jose Civic Auditorium: 0.9 mi
  • Plaza de Cesar Chavez Park: 0.9 mi
  • Rosicrucian Egyptian Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Jose Repertory Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Municipal Rose Garden: 1.1 mi
  • San Jose Museum of Quilts & Textiles: 1.2 mi
  • Japantown (San Jose): 1.4 mi
  • The Event Center Arena: 1.4 mi
  • HP Pavilion: 0.3 mi
  • SAP Center at San Jose: 0.3 mi
  • San Jose Center for the Performing Arts: 0.8 mi
  • Heritage Rose Garden: 0.8 mi
  • Children's Discovery Museum: 0.9 mi
  • St. Joseph Cathedral: 0.9 mi
  • San Jose Museum of Art: 0.9 mi
  • San Jose Civic Auditorium: 0.9 mi
  • Plaza de Cesar Chavez Park: 0.9 mi
  • Rosicrucian Egyptian Museum: 0.9 mi
  • San Jose Repertory Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Municipal Rose Garden: 1.1 mi
  • San Jose Museum of Quilts & Textiles: 1.2 mi
  • Japantown (San Jose): 1.4 mi
  • The Event Center Arena: 1.4 mi
  • Los Gatos Creek Trail: 1.7 mi
  • Willow Glen: 1.9 mi
  • Happy Hollow Park and Zoo: 2.4 mi
  • Japanese Friendship Garden: 2.6 mi
  • Winchester Mystery House: 2.6 mi
  • History Park: 2.8 mi
  • Raging Waters: 5.1 mi
  • Alum Rock Park: 6.9 mi
  • Almaden Quicksilver County Park: 10.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (299)

Ratings and reviews for Arena Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
299 out of 299
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Qweenie86
fresno, ca
Jan 12, 2014

A night in the city

After reading good reviews about Arena Hotel, my group of friends and I decided to try it out for our night out on the town. Upon arrival, the exterior of the hotel was well kept, (free)parking lot looked safe, and location was wonderful (cvs directly behind hotel & short cab ride to downtown clubs). Hotel staff at front desk was kind and helpful and check in was a breeze. The room's amenities exceeded my expectations (2 person jetted tub, microwave, mini fridge, flat panel tv, coffee maker). The free breakfast down in the dining room was a definite plus. My only suggestion would be to request extra pillows or take your own. Will definitely stay again. Thanks Arena Hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Such a great deal

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr. Dribb
Antioch, Ca.
Dec 23, 2013

Only One Complaint

Our overall experience ar Arena Hotel was fairly pleasant. It's only about a 10 min ride to Santana Row which is where our dinner party was situated. Staffing was excellent! Everything I had asked for iver the phone was granted and the I was even remembered once I gave my name. My only complaint was the pillows. They were short and much too firm for my personal sleep needs. My wife slept like a "baby after feeding time", so it's just a matter of preference.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Santana Row - shopping, entertainment and dining. Check Maggiano's Italian Restaurant.

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dwight540
Business
roanoke va
Nov 24, 2013

San Jose

It's ok...rooms are outdated. Needs too be updated. Has potential but rough...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rhoda167
Madison, WI
Nov 12, 2013

Good Value

I got a very good rate on this hotel and I was very impressed with the appearance of the main exterior and the lobby. The rooms could use a facelift, but I was very impressed with the service of the night manager and the cleanliness of the rooms. It's very close to the SAP Center (a short walk).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
James TH
Business
Singapore
Nov 10, 2013

Business trip at San Jose McEnery convention center

Excellent pricing, good free breakfast and big room. Hotel is located beside a CVS pharmacy and 5 minutes' walk to the light rail or Caltrain station. I was there to attend a meeting at San Jose McEnery convention center. The light rail ride to convention center is about 8 minutes from San Diridon station to convention center, but do take note that light rail only operates in 20-30 minutes' intervals. Overall staying experience in hotel has been great except for a toilet bowl which operates by itself at regular intervals. Repair man was prompt to arrive to change the parts but did not quite get the problem resolved. Quite a clean hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

One Japanese restaurant and one Mexican Chipotle outlet are just a short walk away. There is also a Starbucks and a small Chinese food outlet (China Inn) about 10 minutes' walk from hotel.

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Metalicitem
Petaluma, ca
Nov 4, 2013

Best Place to Stay for any SAP Center Event

Great location, spacious room, awesome jacuzzi tub, comfortable bed, and great looking hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

SAP Center, Downtown a little walk, great restaurants near by. Check out the Farmers Union. GO SHARKS!

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Packerfan4evr
Business
Central Coast
Oct 25, 2013

The place to stay in San Jose!

Wonderful Hotel!! I loved the fact that there was a microwave and fridge in the room. This made it much more comfortable for my three night stay. There is a CVS next door and a Chipotle restaurant a block away. The conference center was only a 5 min drive away. The night time clerk was exceptional!! I plan to come back to San Jose with my family and I will stay at The Arena again! Thank you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kane9
San Jose, CA
Oct 6, 2013

No Compaints

I read other reviews before my trip and agree that this is an older hotel but still pretty well maintained. I did not experience the things those rated it lower did. But, I'm pretty easy to please and just expected a clean place to stay for my 2 nights which I received. Yes, there was a Jaccuzi in my room, but I never used it. The staff were excellent and the complementary breakfast was satisfying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SusieBoozie
Burbank, CA
Aug 16, 2013

Perfect location for anything

My boyfriend and I went for a short vacation in order to see the Winchester Mansion and Alcatraz. It's location is awesome. Right next to downtown with lots of eateries and plenty of site seeing within walking distance. Even if you have to drive it is a short drive and freeways are close to hotel. Bring a GPS though. Staff is the friendliest. Room was standard. Nice big king bed, maid service, etc.TV was old school and had horrible reception, but who goes on vacation to watch tv anyway. Perk is there is a big two person jacuzzi tub which made the end of a long day of walking around nice. And a handy dandy CVS next door if you don't trust the tub, bleach by the gallon is around the corner!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The cathedral is beautiful only a .5 mile walk!

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Avgs
Los Angeles
Aug 5, 2013

A good bargain.

Clean and comfortable rooms. The room was spacious enough for myself, wife and daughter. It was close enough to the highways and had plenty of places to sight see around. We had a problem with the AC and they sent someone right away to fix it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top