$98 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 22, 2015 Check-out: Aug 23, 2015

Arena Hotel

3 stars
View map of 817 The Alameda, San Jose, CA 95126

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Arena Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
230 out of 230
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Goldie locks
Business
San Jose, California
Dec 1, 2014

Great Hotel

Great Hotel, Great room and Service. Really nice for the price I paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ASDFGHN
Business
Bay Area
Nov 23, 2014

Great Location!

This is the most convenient place to stay if you are going to attend a Shark's game, or any event at The SAP Center! It's a short walk, and plenty of stuff to do.!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joe Golf
Business
San Ramon, CA
Nov 20, 2014

Great for SAP Center Events

This place is really walkable to the SAP Center and downtown San Jose, making it really convienient, and it includes parking and a buffet breakfast in the morning. Rooms are nothing fancy, but do have jaccuzzi bath tubs so bring some salts or bubble bath. Also very kid friendly with microwave and fridge for any leftovers or special foods.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

book early before an event to save on this location.

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Daniel Love
Business
From Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Nov 14, 2014

Wonderful for business and leasure

Arena is a vintage hotel. Lots of wood accents, seemingly a step back in time. Seems cleaning went on about 18 hours each day. I could not have asked for a nicer suite. Plenty of room to both work and relax when the work was done. My suite had a kitchen with two burner stove, microwave, sink and nice hotel fridge. Housekeeping was superb, very nice housekeepers, quick with an extra blanket or more towels or even more coffee as needed. The morning breakfast buffet was first class. I have Not been to a better hotel breakfast buffet, with hot and cold selections. Nice coffee/tea selection, eggs, pancakes or French toast, potatoes, sausage, fruit, yoghurt , cereals of several kinds, toast, bagels you name it. Everything was fresh and really made a good start to the day. Wonderful Jacuzzis, ample bathroom, nice bedroom. Many windows which opened. My section was non smoking and no old or otherwise unpleasant odors. Very clean. This is my third trip to the Arena hotel and I will be returning next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

CVS across the street. Superb hand made chocolate shop directly across the street. Excellent pasta restaurant, Chinese restaurant, Starbucks, Subway sandwiches, Whole Foods all within a mile, usually much closer than a mile, easy walk to all.

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
penstarr
Business
California, USA
Oct 22, 2014

good value

nothing particularly special about this hotel except that it is very conveniently located to some good restaurants, and show venues. service, cleanliness, and amenities were very average. it's a very decent place to stay for a good price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

across the street is a good sushi restaurant.

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sparkee
Business
Kihei, maui
Oct 9, 2014

Wonderful room

Nice to get off plane from maui and enjoy large room with jacuzzi and quiet!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
desertgirl
Business
Sparks, NV, USA
Oct 7, 2014

Close to SAP Center - Perfect!

My husband and I were looking for a hotel close to the SAP Center to attend a concert. The reviews for the Arena Hotel were good, so we decided to try it. The hotel is in a nice area, within walking distance to the SAP Center and restaurants. The staff was friendly and helpful - providing a list of restaurants that were close by. The room was somewhat dated, but it was quiet, clean and comfortable. They had a continental breakfast in the morning, which was adequate. Cereal, muffins & bread, eggs, pancakes, potatoes and bacon. All in all, I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

If you want to eat at Henry's Hi-Life before a concert - go early!! It gets packed! But well worth it.

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Business travelerZ
Business
Southern California
Oct 6, 2014

Overnight stay for business

I chose this hotel based upon its location to my business meeting, which was perfect. The price was a little high for the condition of the hotel. They've made some upgrades over time, but it seems like they only improve one area and not another. For instance my bathroom floor and tub were upgraded, but the walls needed to be painted and the counter/cabinets were really outdated. The carpet upstairs badly needs replacing, but the lobby is nicely updated. Overall not a bad place to stay, just pricey for the condition of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dave Traveling for Work
Business
Illinois
Oct 3, 2014

Quick Business Trip

The hotel was convenient and available. It honestly would not have been my first choice but there was little availability. Nonetheless it exceeded my expectations. The staff was great and the room was clean but somewhat run down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Raj5
Business
Sacramento, CA
Oct 1, 2014

Fantastic Room!

Staff were pleasant and helpful. Would do it again in a heartbeat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top