$95 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Arena Hotel

3 stars
View map of 817 The Alameda, San Jose, CA 95126

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Arena Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
225 out of 225
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Budmobile
Business
Brentwood, Ca.
Aug 9, 2012

Overnighter

We go to alot of concerts in San Jose, and we usually stay at the Arena Hotel. It is within easy walking distance to HP Pavilion, and to a few good restaurants. Easy to get to, and always friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
elainelucille
Business
Templeton, California
Aug 9, 2012

Pavilion Proximity

This hotel is within walking distance of the HP Pavilion. It has off street parking for guests. Free breakfast is awesome! Rooms are clean and not huge but big enough for two not to get in each other's way! Staff is very friendly. Have stayed here before and will stay again if the occasion arises.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Be sure to "stay for breakfast"!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
baby angel
Business
novato, ca
Aug 9, 2012

concert getaway

This is the second time I have stayed at the Arena Hotel to attened a concert at the HP Pavillion and the location could not be any better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

3 blocks west of the hotel you will find a cafe called Roseallindas that makes the best sandwiches

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kate Travel with Family
Business
St Paul, MN
Jul 22, 2012

Family trip - HP Pavilion

Superior large rooms with jacuzzi. Very clean. Awesome hot buffet breakfast. Only a few minutes walk to the game at HP Pavilion and a few minutes drive to the airport. Much better experience than anything else in the same price range in San Jose.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

HP Pavilion - only a few minutes walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tony the Tiger
Business
San Francisco
Jun 12, 2012

Would like to see this place renovated

I stayed only one night and am glad I did. The room smelled like cigarette smoke and permeated the place. Bought air freshener from drug store next door and it didn't help. It was awful. Will not stay there again. The parking was good and free the only other good thing was the breakfast it was good too and free. They management has to do something about the ratty furniture (I wouldn't chance sitting on the sofa) It did have a cool Jacuzzi in the bathroom. My room was very big too. Too bad it really needed a facelift. (Did have 3 HBO channels not mentioned in the amenities section)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pasta Pomodoro's is a great place with outdoor seating. There is a Chipolte Mexican Grill & Cafe Rosalina located up the street 1077 The Alameda, San Jose (Good food and best coffee)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RamF
Business
San Jose, CA, USA
Jun 9, 2012

Excellent getaway

Nice 1 bedroom suite with two TVs, Jacuzzi, with Sofas in the living room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RamF
Business
San Jose, CA, USA
Apr 28, 2012

Nice comfortable room

Nice comfortable room with good two-person jacuzzi

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Grampawongstein
Business
Lake Forest, CA, USA
Apr 24, 2012

If you need the location you can not do better

This is an older nice hotel in a marginal transition area of town. If you need a place near the HP Center or near downtown you can not beat the price for the buck. The rooms are very large, with a coffee maker, fridge and Microwave. Rooms are older but well maintained and very clean but on the dark side. Excellent off street parking and quite rooms for sleeping with excellent air conditioning. Area is safe but empty at night except for a few homeless and bums. Excellent restaurants are within walking distance downtown (1/2 mile) and a CVS pharmacy within a few feet of the hotel. It is well lit for walking on the main streets but I would not stray to far from the main streets. Easy 5 minute walk to the train station. Breakfast was excellent but the same each day with eggs, sausage, potatoes, pancakes and french toast and the best biscuits and gravy I have had in years. Some fruit and yogurt, with hot drinks and juice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The main downtown dining areas are withing walking distance, but it looks like the downtown is not doing well with a lot of closed restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kaddy
Business
New England
Mar 13, 2012

Not a good choice the second time

We arrived at 1 pm and were informed our accessible room that we reserved in November had been given away. The noise outside at night was awful. We also needed to stay an extra night and the staff was going to charge us $104 for the same $79 room. Only after we told the staff never mind did we get a lower rate. This hotel has just gotten much more grungy and dirty. We frequent San Jose once a month. Time to look for a new place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Arena Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mjdickinson
Business
Berkeley, CA, USA
Mar 12, 2012

OK

I stayed here with my family only because we were visiting friends in San Jose. The communal areas were pleasant enough. The room was a little dates, but served its purpose. Breakfast was included and good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking distance to Diridon Station and buses.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top