$209 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

White Swan Inn

3 stars
845 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
57 reviews
Utterly welcoming

A great in-room fireplace. Excellent English breakfast, and afternoon buffet. Relaxing lounge.... See full review

  • San Franc traveler
  • May 31, 2013
Spring Break 2014

Very friendly and accommodating staff. Noise level in rooms very high with city sounds. Had to... See full review

  • Toby jo
  • Mar 16, 2014
Best of British charm on Nob Hill

The White Swan Inn in the pleasant Nob Hill District of San Francisco is styled like an old-fashioned London hotel with traditional English Victorian style furnishings and a welcoming and intimate feel. Step back into a more elegant time in a cozy hotel that feels a world away from identikit chain hotels that look the same from coast to coast. The White Swan Inn also offers a complimentary breakfast buffet, tea and cookies, and wine and hors d'oeuvres by the fireplace in the comfortable parlor.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Enjoy tea and freshly baked cookies at the cozy fireside
  • Quaint and traditional English style decor
  • Complimentary gourmet breakfast and selection of drinks and snacks

 

 

The White Swan Inn Hotel Rooms

Built in 1915, the five-floor White Swan Inn provides 26 guest rooms, all furnished and decorated in an individual old-fashioned English style. Rich dark woods feature throughout, and the magnificent grandfather clock in the hotel lobby sets the historic tone. Whether you choose from a deluxe king or queen room, you will be in for a treat as you feast your eyes on teddy bears sitting on the Victorian style two- or four-poster wooden beds amidst a riot of floral wallpaper, wing backed armchairs and classic floral or tartan bedspreads and fabrics. Working gas fireplaces grace every room and the bathrooms feature marble countertops and bathrobes. There are some extra features, too, such as a turndown service that includes chocolates and complimentary beverages, and bottled water in the wet bar. The White Swan Inn has not forgot the 21st century, as satellite televisions and Internet access are available in all rooms, and valet and room services are available (fees apply).

Things To Do:
  • Union Square (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Chinatown (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Financial District (1.3 mi/2.1 km)

White Swan Inn Rooms

DELUXE - ROOM
Deluxe Queen room offers one queen bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Telephone, Valet service and Voicemail. This deluxe guestroom with queen bed and fireplace includes gourmet continental breakfast buffet and evening wine and hors d'oeuvres served fireside in the cozy parlor, evening turndown with chocolates, a fireplace, wet bar stocked with complimentary beverages, a sitting area, bathrobes, voicemail with dataport, iron and board, and hairdryer. The White Swan Inn is a non-smoking property.310 Sq ft or 29 Sq meters
DELUXE - ROOM
Deluxe King room offers one king bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Telephone, Valet service and Voicemail. This deluxe guestroom with king bed and fireplace includes gourmet continental breakfast buffet and evening wine and hors d'oeuvres served fireside in the cozy parlor, evening turndown with chocolates, a fireplace, wet bar stocked with complimentary beverages, a sitting area, bathrobes, voicemail with dataport, iron and board, and hairdryer. The White Swan Inn is a non-smoking property.340 Sq ft or 32 Sq meters

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed White Swan Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7896 -122.4112
Area served
San Francisco.
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport.
Area description
San Francisco's White Swan Inn is located on Bush St. between Mason and Taylor atop Nob Hill, up the hill from Union Square and minutes from the Powell Street Cable Car, the Financial District, Chinatown, North Beach and many of the City's finest restaurants.

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.7 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.3 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.3 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (57)

Ratings and reviews for White Swan Inn

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 57
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.7

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Camino, CA
Apr 12, 2010

A neat hideaway for an S.F. weekend

We used the White Swan as our stay for a Giants game on the weekend. It is a $10.00 cab ride to ATT park. The hotel is very cute and comfortable. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The wine reception in the evening was very pleasing and comfortable and the complimentary breakfast was amazing. We'll certainly return to White Swan on a future trip to the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
OH
May 9, 2010

Good value

The breakfast was very good. The desk staff was knowledgeable and made good restaurant recommendations for dinner!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
OH
May 9, 2010

Good value

The breakfast was very good. The desk staff was knowledgeable and made good restaurant recommendations for dinner!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Qatatonic
Orange County, CA
Jan 6, 2013

A delightful stay

I wanted to get a "bed and breakfast" experience with the convenience of a hotel, and this certainly fit the bill. The staff was friendly and helpful, a hearty breakfast was served every morning, with cookies in the lobby, and wine and snacks in the evening. The food wasn't the very best I've ever had, but I am not picky, and I had one less thing I had to think about during my stay. Complimentary water and soda were also available at any time of day. Though most major hotels use key cards these days, I though the actual keys they gave us to the door and our room was nice. I also loved the fireplace in our room; I had it running all night and it really warmed the place up. I also appreciated the free wi-fi. The location was really the best part - I was able to walk or take public transportation to the Wharf, Golden Gate Park, Union Square, and a couple of nice bars and restaurants. The only things I didn't like about staying here were the parking and the work out room. Valet is like $35 a day plus tax, and a 20-30 minute wait. We ended up parking at a garage two city blocks (about a 5 minute walk) down on Stockton. The price is a little cheaper. Just be careful though - we did read some reviews on Yelp about some recent car thefts that took place here, but we were lucky and our car was fine for our 3 day stay. Also, the treadmill and exercise bike they have there are pretty lame. You are better off running around the block a couple times if you want to work out during your stay. Overall though, I thought it was a great experience. I would be happy to stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MercurialMagpie
Northern California
Jun 19, 2010

Charming, shabby chic and comfortable

The White Swan was overall a very charming place to stay. Bonuses in our book were the great customer service from every member of the staff we met who provided competent and quick answers to our questions; the complimentary tea, coffee and baked goods available at all times; great complimentary breakfast (fresh fruit, delicious bread, quiche, sausage, oatmeal, pastries, cereal, yogurt, etc.); the dining area had a lovely fireplace, library, comfy chairs, and just lots of cute English details. The king-sized bed was very comfortable and warm, we loved the gas fireplace (the switch for it is on the wall by the bed, btw), and it was quiet and roomy. The only problem we had was that the hot water in our shower didn't work, which we found out late at night much to our dismay. The hotel staff offered to switch our room, which worked out well, and before lunch the next day, there was already a workman fixing the shower. The hotel held onto our bags and car while we were out exploring the city the day we checked out. We had had valet parking and storage for the car, and they even waived the fee for that as a way to apologize for the lack of hot water in our room. The location was very good - a leisurely 10 minute walk to Chinatown, the same to the cable car line, and plenty of businesses and shops in the area. If you are the kind of person who is accustomed to hotels that largely cater to business clientele, with modern pristine decor, and the whole pool, spa, huge business room, and convention halls, this isn't the hotel for you. Expect a little shabby chic, expect classical music, and expect cozy comfort without the hifalutin snobbery.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinatown, Union Square

Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Camino, CA
Apr 12, 2010

A neat hideaway for an S.F. weekend

We used the White Swan as our stay for a Giants game on the weekend. It is a $10.00 cab ride to ATT park. The hotel is very cute and comfortable. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The wine reception in the evening was very pleasing and comfortable and the complimentary breakfast was amazing. We'll certainly return to White Swan on a future trip to the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MercurialMagpie
Northern California
Jun 19, 2010

Charming, shabby chic and comfortable

The White Swan was overall a very charming place to stay. Bonuses in our book were the great customer service from every member of the staff we met who provided competent and quick answers to our questions; the complimentary tea, coffee and baked goods available at all times; great complimentary breakfast (fresh fruit, delicious bread, quiche, sausage, oatmeal, pastries, cereal, yogurt, etc.); the dining area had a lovely fireplace, library, comfy chairs, and just lots of cute English details. The king-sized bed was very comfortable and warm, we loved the gas fireplace (the switch for it is on the wall by the bed, btw), and it was quiet and roomy. The only problem we had was that the hot water in our shower didn't work, which we found out late at night much to our dismay. The hotel staff offered to switch our room, which worked out well, and before lunch the next day, there was already a workman fixing the shower. The hotel held onto our bags and car while we were out exploring the city the day we checked out. We had had valet parking and storage for the car, and they even waived the fee for that as a way to apologize for the lack of hot water in our room. The location was very good - a leisurely 10 minute walk to Chinatown, the same to the cable car line, and plenty of businesses and shops in the area. If you are the kind of person who is accustomed to hotels that largely cater to business clientele, with modern pristine decor, and the whole pool, spa, huge business room, and convention halls, this isn't the hotel for you. Expect a little shabby chic, expect classical music, and expect cozy comfort without the hifalutin snobbery.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinatown, Union Square

Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Arizona
Mar 23, 2010

Hidden Treasure

Our stay was pleasant start to finish. The staff were friendly and helpful, going out of their way to make sure our needs were met. We met wonderful people from other countries at the evening reception and looked forward to attending it each day. We enjoyed being able to eat breakfast at the hotel before heading out each day. The hotel is a little out of the way from others we have stayed at in San Francisco making it a bit quieter. We plan to definately stay again when we return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Forest Grove, OR
Dec 17, 2010

Absolutely Fantastic!

It was a quaint hotel. You feel the warmth the moment you walk in the door. It was my sister and I's first time staying in San Francisco and we were very nervous. The hotel staff was so helpful and kind. Our room was spacious and warm. The bed was huge and extremely comfortable. The hotel also offered a great complementary breakfast. It was close to many different attractions such as the trolly and union square. I was sad to leave, but if I ever return to San Francisco I will make my hotel reservations at the White Swan Inn!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is close to the trolly and to union square. There are many nice restaurants close by and some shopping nearby. Union square is only a couple blocks over and down the hill. My sister and I went walking around and next thing we knew we were at Union Square. Nicely located!

Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Forest Grove, OR
Dec 17, 2010

Absolutely Fantastic!

It was a quaint hotel. You feel the warmth the moment you walk in the door. It was my sister and I's first time staying in San Francisco and we were very nervous. The hotel staff was so helpful and kind. Our room was spacious and warm. The bed was huge and extremely comfortable. The hotel also offered a great complementary breakfast. It was close to many different attractions such as the trolly and union square. I was sad to leave, but if I ever return to San Francisco I will make my hotel reservations at the White Swan Inn!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is close to the trolly and to union square. There are many nice restaurants close by and some shopping nearby. Union square is only a couple blocks over and down the hill. My sister and I went walking around and next thing we knew we were at Union Square. Nicely located!

Back to menu Return to top