$198 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 9, 2015

White Swan Inn

3 stars
View map of 845 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for White Swan Inn

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 44
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.5

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lrm
Couples
Concord, Ca
Feb 4, 2010

Excellent Place

This hotel is in a quieter part of the Union Square district. We went to see Wicked (another 5 stars) and decided to stay overnight here. The service was outstanding, and from the moment we walked into our room and found our personalized letter welcoming us to San Francisco to the call we received minutes later just checking to make sure everything was perfect we were quite pleased. The free breakfast was fantastic; fresh orange juice and danishes (not the boxed kind) as well as home made quiche and an assortment of other items. The breakfast area was very peaceful and quite comfortable. The rooms are tastefully decorated and well appointed. My favorite SF Hotel so far We called a day early to ask if we could drop our bags off before check in and spend some time in the city, but when we got there (4 hours before check in) they had already set up our room. Overall an excellent experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bagpipe_mouse
Couples
Sugar Land, Texas
Mar 21, 2010

Comfortable and romantic home base.

We love San Francisco, but it can be a demanding town. White Swan provided a comfortable home base, with a cozy bed and plenty of room to spread out and recover from the day. Welcoming public rooms encourage guests to chat and exchange tips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Denver
Jan 18, 2010

Great weekend getaway

Very nice and friendly service. Good knowledge of the area and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location to China Town.

Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Denver
Nov 28, 2009

Wonderful find!

The Inn is one of SF's real bargains. Location is great, room was charming - love the fireplace! Breakfast in the A.M. was terrific as was the wine social hour at night. I'll go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get a MUNI pass - you can go everywhere for pennies.

Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Chicago
Jul 5, 2010

San Francisco/White Swan

Very friendly and helpful staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Muni-pass sold at Walgreens

Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
New York City
Aug 9, 2009

A very special place

The room was large and beautifully kept. Exactly as described. The lounge area is huge and perfect for sitting and sipping the complimentary snack and whine during an afternoon happy hour.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are determined to do a trolly ride, do it early. There were long lines.

Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Arizona
Mar 23, 2010

Hidden Treasure

Our stay was pleasant start to finish. The staff were friendly and helpful, going out of their way to make sure our needs were met. We met wonderful people from other countries at the evening reception and looked forward to attending it each day. We enjoyed being able to eat breakfast at the hotel before heading out each day. The hotel is a little out of the way from others we have stayed at in San Francisco making it a bit quieter. We plan to definately stay again when we return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Canberra Australia
Mar 17, 2010

The White Swan

If you want a hotel that is modern and shiny, The White Swan is not for you. If you want a hotel that has some of the friendliest and most helpful staff, is in a great location (2 blocks from 2 cable car tracks) and serves a great breakfast and afternoon tea then I doubt you can find better accommodation in San Francisco. When next in San Francisco we know where we will be staying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a Muni pass to use the public transport. It will save you heaps.

Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BonacBelle
Business
East Hampton
Dec 29, 2014

Loved this place! So cozy, and good breakfast, too

This was an incredibly cozy place. Open fireplace, big four-poster bed, a hu-u-ge room, by city standards. The "antique" elevator was fun, too, as was the crazy-quilt of intentionally mismatched wallpaper prints. The free breakfast buffet included in my rate was definitely above parr, too, with hot omelet or eggs with chives, all sorts of pastries, fruit salads, etc etc. If you like non-generic hotels or inns, and you like history, give it a try. I was also impressed with the genuine kindness and friendliness of all the staff I met. They seemed to enjoy working at White Swan, and not to be just faking their smiles.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Two blocks from Union Square, which is a tourist hub, but the White Swan was just off the main drag so you didn't feel like you were staying in a touristy location, per se.

Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BonacBelle
Business
East Hampton
Dec 16, 2014

Loved this place! So cozy, and good breakfast, too

This was an incredibly cozy place. Open fireplace, big four-poster bed, a hu-u-ge room, by city standards. The "antique" elevator was fun, too, as was the crazy-quilt of intentionally mismatched wallpaper prints. The free breakfast buffet included in my rate was definitely above parr, too, with hot omelet or eggs with chives, all sorts of pastries, fruit salads, etc etc. If you like non-generic hotels or inns, and you like history, give it a try. I was also impressed with the genuine kindness and friendliness of all the staff I met. They seemed to enjoy working at White Swan, and not to be just faking their smiles.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top