$219 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 2, 2014

White Swan Inn

3 stars
845 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
45 reviews
Utterly welcoming

A great in-room fireplace. Excellent English breakfast, and afternoon buffet. Relaxing lounge.... See full review

  • San Franc traveler
  • May 31, 2013
Charming and friendly

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at the inn. I thought the room was comfortable and clean. Enjoyed... See full review

  • francio
  • Aug 17, 2014
Best of British charm on Nob Hill

The White Swan Inn in the pleasant Nob Hill District of San Francisco is styled like an old-fashioned London hotel with traditional English Victorian style furnishings and a welcoming and intimate feel. Step back into a more elegant time in a cozy hotel that feels a world away from identikit chain hotels that look the same from coast to coast. The White Swan Inn also offers a complimentary breakfast buffet, tea and cookies, and wine and hors d'oeuvres by the fireplace in the comfortable parlor.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Enjoy tea and freshly baked cookies at the cozy fireside
  • Quaint and traditional English style decor
  • Complimentary gourmet breakfast and selection of drinks and snacks

 

 

The White Swan Inn Hotel Rooms

Built in 1915, the five-floor White Swan Inn provides 26 guest rooms, all furnished and decorated in an individual old-fashioned English style. Rich dark woods feature throughout, and the magnificent grandfather clock in the hotel lobby sets the historic tone. Whether you choose from a deluxe king or queen room, you will be in for a treat as you feast your eyes on teddy bears sitting on the Victorian style two- or four-poster wooden beds amidst a riot of floral wallpaper, wing backed armchairs and classic floral or tartan bedspreads and fabrics. Working gas fireplaces grace every room and the bathrooms feature marble countertops and bathrobes. There are some extra features, too, such as a turndown service that includes chocolates and complimentary beverages, and bottled water in the wet bar. The White Swan Inn has not forgot the 21st century, as satellite televisions and Internet access are available in all rooms, and valet and room services are available (fees apply).

Things To Do:
  • Union Square (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Chinatown (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Financial District (1.3 mi/2.1 km)

Hotel Map

37.7896 -122.4112
Area served
San Francisco.
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport.
Area description
San Francisco's White Swan Inn is located on Bush St. between Mason and Taylor atop Nob Hill, up the hill from Union Square and minutes from the Powell Street Cable Car, the Financial District, Chinatown, North Beach and many of the City's finest restaurants.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed White Swan Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

White Swan Inn Rooms

DELUXE - ROOM
Deluxe Queen room offers one queen bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Telephone, Valet service and Voicemail. This deluxe guestroom with queen bed and fireplace includes gourmet continental breakfast buffet and evening wine and hors d'oeuvres served fireside in the cozy parlor, evening turndown with chocolates, a fireplace, wet bar stocked with complimentary beverages, a sitting area, bathrobes, voicemail with dataport, iron and board, and hairdryer. The White Swan Inn is a non-smoking property.310 Sq ft or 29 Sq meters
DELUXE - ROOM
Deluxe King room offers one king bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Telephone, Valet service and Voicemail. This deluxe guestroom with king bed and fireplace includes gourmet continental breakfast buffet and evening wine and hors d'oeuvres served fireside in the cozy parlor, evening turndown with chocolates, a fireplace, wet bar stocked with complimentary beverages, a sitting area, bathrobes, voicemail with dataport, iron and board, and hairdryer. The White Swan Inn is a non-smoking property.340 Sq ft or 32 Sq meters

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.7 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.3 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.3 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (45)

Ratings and reviews for White Swan Inn

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
45 out of 45
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.5

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MrsDotNot
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 25, 2013

Cozy

I really like this charming boutique hotel with its fireplace and fridge in every room. The in-room coffee was quite good and the breakfast was excellent. The evening wine and cheese reception was very welcome. I love all the cozy chairs and decent lighting. I had to knock off a star because the cleaning fluids they use leave a sickening smell -- so much so that I specifically asked the maids to not use it the second day I was there. Even opening the windows didn't help much. I loved that the hot water came very fast, which is very green, but hate the fact that the maids did not follow the very clear guidelines -- leave the card on the pillow and/or the towels on the floor if you want them changed. I did neither yet my towels and sheets were changed. This is such a common occurence that I have stopped expecting anything better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GrannyR
Los Angeles
Oct 31, 2013

Charming

If you're looking for relaxed and comfortable, this is it. While the big chains are kind of faceless and sterile, this hotel is warm and friendly. The breakfast buffet was truly outstanding, fluffy eggs, wonderful biscuits and croissants, good hot coffee. I'll stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

French cafe Claude, just off Bush was excellent. Try the roasted duck.

Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Emanon
Denver
Sep 11, 2011

White Swan San Francisco

We enjoyed our stay at the White Swan very much. The wait staff and, in particularly, Andy the bellhop, was so friendly and helpful with suggesting places to go and see. Their directions and information was all very useful. We also enjoyed having a wonderful breakfast every morning since the prices for food in San Francisco can be quite expensive. The daily breakfast saved us some serious money indeed. We would definitely recommend this establishment to anyone staying in the Union Square area as it's so centrally located.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get the multi-day Muni/Bus/Cablecar pass. We purchased the 7 day for $27 which enabled us to take the bus, and cablecar as often as we wanted for the seven days stayed. We didn't take the Muni but could have as well with this pass. One cablecar ride is $6 so right there we saved a bundle!

Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
OH
May 9, 2010

Good value

The breakfast was very good. The desk staff was knowledgeable and made good restaurant recommendations for dinner!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MercurialMagpie
Northern California
Jun 19, 2010

Charming, shabby chic and comfortable

The White Swan was overall a very charming place to stay. Bonuses in our book were the great customer service from every member of the staff we met who provided competent and quick answers to our questions; the complimentary tea, coffee and baked goods available at all times; great complimentary breakfast (fresh fruit, delicious bread, quiche, sausage, oatmeal, pastries, cereal, yogurt, etc.); the dining area had a lovely fireplace, library, comfy chairs, and just lots of cute English details. The king-sized bed was very comfortable and warm, we loved the gas fireplace (the switch for it is on the wall by the bed, btw), and it was quiet and roomy. The only problem we had was that the hot water in our shower didn't work, which we found out late at night much to our dismay. The hotel staff offered to switch our room, which worked out well, and before lunch the next day, there was already a workman fixing the shower. The hotel held onto our bags and car while we were out exploring the city the day we checked out. We had had valet parking and storage for the car, and they even waived the fee for that as a way to apologize for the lack of hot water in our room. The location was very good - a leisurely 10 minute walk to Chinatown, the same to the cable car line, and plenty of businesses and shops in the area. If you are the kind of person who is accustomed to hotels that largely cater to business clientele, with modern pristine decor, and the whole pool, spa, huge business room, and convention halls, this isn't the hotel for you. Expect a little shabby chic, expect classical music, and expect cozy comfort without the hifalutin snobbery.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinatown, Union Square

Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mom meets daughter for Spring Break
Denver, CO
Mar 16, 2010

Good location and cozy

The hotel is past its prime, but the rooms were cozy and we very much enjoyed the gas fireplace. The bed was comfortable. plenty of pillows. Most of front desk staff very friendly and helpful, especially [...]. Housekeeping staff very accommodating. Complimentary bottled water daily. Short walk to get to cable car stop. Right next door to the San Franciso Actors Theatre and we enjoyed a Thursday night performance. On Thursday night the tickets are on a sliding scale starting at $15.00.Busch Market across the street for small incidentals or snacks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

One of the first things [...] advised was to buy a Muni pass. For Seniors it is $15 for a month pass(great deal) otherwise you can buy a 1. 3 or 7 day passport. Can be used on cable cars and Muni buses. (A one way trip individually is $5.00)

Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Camino, CA
Apr 12, 2010

A neat hideaway for an S.F. weekend

We used the White Swan as our stay for a Giants game on the weekend. It is a $10.00 cab ride to ATT park. The hotel is very cute and comfortable. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The wine reception in the evening was very pleasing and comfortable and the complimentary breakfast was amazing. We'll certainly return to White Swan on a future trip to the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Midwest
Jan 30, 2011

Cozy, convenient, and very reasonable!

The White Swan was very nice--the room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. The breakfast was great, and the in-room coffee (for a change!) was good coffee rather than Folgers or comparable. The fireplace was nice, and the service was very accommodating. The only issues were 1) that the clock radio had the wrong time and the setting couldn't be changed; and 2) that the message light on the phone blinked and I had no messages and couldn't get it turned off. It is hard to imagine a nicer, more character-laden hotel in SF, and the location (about 3 blocks from Union Square in a primarily residential area, though on a main street) was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
So Love to Travel
Business
Marietta, Ga
Sep 15, 2010

I wish I could say that I was perfect.

I started planning my first trip to San Francisco on a whim about a year ago and fell in love with this hotel. Most of the reviews were awesome and it sounded like a great place to unwind after running around all day. I must say that my stay was what expected and more. The accommodations were like staying someone else's home, not perfect but just quirky. The room was comfortable and clean, a working fireplace that we even got the chance to use in July. Although the bathroom took a little getting use to (large old tub). The decorations was sweet and just so welcoming to sit and talk to other people. The couple of times I got to evening tea were memorable, meet some great people. The breakfast was awesome usually my best meal of the day. (Cooked meals everyday) One morning I went down early to make myself some time tea and the staff hadn't had a chance to prepare anything. The lady on duty was so nice to drop what she was doing just to boil me so water. This hotel is within walking distance of shopping, dining, Chinatown and the streetcars so we got around pretty easy. Like I said I was I could say it was perfect. I called a couple weeks before arriving to request a early check-in. The operator said that she couldn't promise anything and that was fair but I had also requested a room away for the busy street (good point to remember since you are downtown). When I arrive the front desk said that my room wasn't ready. No problem. But, the room they place us in was not only on the street but all the way on the top floor. So with the hotel's antiquated elevator (we never used to whole time we were there) this was not going to be acceptable. So after waiting a little (went to have lunch somewhere) we were place in a room on the back on the second floor where we were comfortable. I specifically told the front desk at that time that my mother would be checking in the following day so she wouldn't have a hard time. But, that is exactly what happened, she was given a hard time and was told that she could not check in. The last thing that really just left me with not so a great impression. Again the employee who check me in that first day, charged my card for $1000 for incidentals. When I asked about this, the young man that was on duty that day even thought that this was a ridiculous amount and doesn't know what that man was smoking that day. It took me a couple of visits to the front desk to straighten it out. Everyone else was so nice and professional, I don't know what was this guy's problem. The sad thing is I have yet to hear from management when I complained about it. So much for being perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Just to remember that San Francisco is famous for its hills. Staying at this hotel gave me a lot of chances for power walking.

Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
francio
chicago, il
Aug 17, 2014

Charming and friendly

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at the inn. I thought the room was comfortable and clean. Enjoyed the breakfast buffet and Wine hour. Staff was helpful and friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search