$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 28, 2015 Check-out: May 29, 2015

White Swan Inn

3 stars
View map of 845 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for White Swan Inn

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 46
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.5

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stephanie Lei
Business
Honolulu
Sep 12, 2012

Like Home, a Little Tired but Welcoming

This hotel could use some sprucing up, but overall a very good experience. The ground floor, where you enter the hotel from the street, and also where the complimentary breakfast is held, does not seem to be wheelchair-accessible, it has stairs, so just know that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Qatatonic
Business
Orange County, CA
Jan 6, 2013

A delightful stay

I wanted to get a "bed and breakfast" experience with the convenience of a hotel, and this certainly fit the bill. The staff was friendly and helpful, a hearty breakfast was served every morning, with cookies in the lobby, and wine and snacks in the evening. The food wasn't the very best I've ever had, but I am not picky, and I had one less thing I had to think about during my stay. Complimentary water and soda were also available at any time of day. Though most major hotels use key cards these days, I though the actual keys they gave us to the door and our room was nice. I also loved the fireplace in our room; I had it running all night and it really warmed the place up. I also appreciated the free wi-fi. The location was really the best part - I was able to walk or take public transportation to the Wharf, Golden Gate Park, Union Square, and a couple of nice bars and restaurants. The only things I didn't like about staying here were the parking and the work out room. Valet is like $35 a day plus tax, and a 20-30 minute wait. We ended up parking at a garage two city blocks (about a 5 minute walk) down on Stockton. The price is a little cheaper. Just be careful though - we did read some reviews on Yelp about some recent car thefts that took place here, but we were lucky and our car was fine for our 3 day stay. Also, the treadmill and exercise bike they have there are pretty lame. You are better off running around the block a couple times if you want to work out during your stay. Overall though, I thought it was a great experience. I would be happy to stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kirk Leap
Business
Dana Point
Feb 7, 2013

Quaint & Homey, Homey !

Room with a fireplace & comfortable bed and a overall ambiance that screams "English Estate" a mini Downton Abbey of sorts. I found myself swigging Single Malts & participating in their tastey breakfast in the morn & wine and snacks in the evening. Staff was very helpful and corteous. Really a cool place in San Fran. Walking distance to the Finacial dist & Embacadero & Chinatown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Yank Sings at the Rincon Center & Kulettos Italian.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MrsDotNot
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 25, 2013

Cozy

I really like this charming boutique hotel with its fireplace and fridge in every room. The in-room coffee was quite good and the breakfast was excellent. The evening wine and cheese reception was very welcome. I love all the cozy chairs and decent lighting. I had to knock off a star because the cleaning fluids they use leave a sickening smell -- so much so that I specifically asked the maids to not use it the second day I was there. Even opening the windows didn't help much. I loved that the hot water came very fast, which is very green, but hate the fact that the maids did not follow the very clear guidelines -- leave the card on the pillow and/or the towels on the floor if you want them changed. I did neither yet my towels and sheets were changed. This is such a common occurence that I have stopped expecting anything better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GrannyR
Business
Los Angeles
Oct 31, 2013

Charming

If you're looking for relaxed and comfortable, this is it. While the big chains are kind of faceless and sterile, this hotel is warm and friendly. The breakfast buffet was truly outstanding, fluffy eggs, wonderful biscuits and croissants, good hot coffee. I'll stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

French cafe Claude, just off Bush was excellent. Try the roasted duck.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Emanon
Business
Denver
Sep 11, 2011

White Swan San Francisco

We enjoyed our stay at the White Swan very much. The wait staff and, in particularly, Andy the bellhop, was so friendly and helpful with suggesting places to go and see. Their directions and information was all very useful. We also enjoyed having a wonderful breakfast every morning since the prices for food in San Francisco can be quite expensive. The daily breakfast saved us some serious money indeed. We would definitely recommend this establishment to anyone staying in the Union Square area as it's so centrally located.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get the multi-day Muni/Bus/Cablecar pass. We purchased the 7 day for $27 which enabled us to take the bus, and cablecar as often as we wanted for the seven days stayed. We didn't take the Muni but could have as well with this pass. One cablecar ride is $6 so right there we saved a bundle!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
OH
May 9, 2010

Good value

The breakfast was very good. The desk staff was knowledgeable and made good restaurant recommendations for dinner!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MercurialMagpie
Business
Northern California
Jun 19, 2010

Charming, shabby chic and comfortable

The White Swan was overall a very charming place to stay. Bonuses in our book were the great customer service from every member of the staff we met who provided competent and quick answers to our questions; the complimentary tea, coffee and baked goods available at all times; great complimentary breakfast (fresh fruit, delicious bread, quiche, sausage, oatmeal, pastries, cereal, yogurt, etc.); the dining area had a lovely fireplace, library, comfy chairs, and just lots of cute English details. The king-sized bed was very comfortable and warm, we loved the gas fireplace (the switch for it is on the wall by the bed, btw), and it was quiet and roomy. The only problem we had was that the hot water in our shower didn't work, which we found out late at night much to our dismay. The hotel staff offered to switch our room, which worked out well, and before lunch the next day, there was already a workman fixing the shower. The hotel held onto our bags and car while we were out exploring the city the day we checked out. We had had valet parking and storage for the car, and they even waived the fee for that as a way to apologize for the lack of hot water in our room. The location was very good - a leisurely 10 minute walk to Chinatown, the same to the cable car line, and plenty of businesses and shops in the area. If you are the kind of person who is accustomed to hotels that largely cater to business clientele, with modern pristine decor, and the whole pool, spa, huge business room, and convention halls, this isn't the hotel for you. Expect a little shabby chic, expect classical music, and expect cozy comfort without the hifalutin snobbery.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinatown, Union Square

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mom meets daughter for Spring Break
Business
Denver, CO
Mar 16, 2010

Good location and cozy

The hotel is past its prime, but the rooms were cozy and we very much enjoyed the gas fireplace. The bed was comfortable. plenty of pillows. Most of front desk staff very friendly and helpful, especially [...]. Housekeeping staff very accommodating. Complimentary bottled water daily. Short walk to get to cable car stop. Right next door to the San Franciso Actors Theatre and we enjoyed a Thursday night performance. On Thursday night the tickets are on a sliding scale starting at $15.00.Busch Market across the street for small incidentals or snacks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

One of the first things [...] advised was to buy a Muni pass. For Seniors it is $15 for a month pass(great deal) otherwise you can buy a 1. 3 or 7 day passport. Can be used on cable cars and Muni buses. (A one way trip individually is $5.00)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Camino, CA
Apr 12, 2010

A neat hideaway for an S.F. weekend

We used the White Swan as our stay for a Giants game on the weekend. It is a $10.00 cab ride to ATT park. The hotel is very cute and comfortable. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The wine reception in the evening was very pleasing and comfortable and the complimentary breakfast was amazing. We'll certainly return to White Swan on a future trip to the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top