$254 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 18, 2014

White Swan Inn

3 stars
845 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
57 reviews
Utterly welcoming

A great in-room fireplace. Excellent English breakfast, and afternoon buffet. Relaxing lounge.... See full review

  • San Franc traveler
  • May 31, 2013
Spring Break 2014

Very friendly and accommodating staff. Noise level in rooms very high with city sounds. Had to... See full review

  • Toby jo
  • Mar 16, 2014
Best of British charm on Nob Hill

The White Swan Inn in the pleasant Nob Hill District of San Francisco is styled like an old-fashioned London hotel with traditional English Victorian style furnishings and a welcoming and intimate feel. Step back into a more elegant time in a cozy hotel that feels a world away from identikit chain hotels that look the same from coast to coast. The White Swan Inn also offers a complimentary breakfast buffet, tea and cookies, and wine and hors d'oeuvres by the fireplace in the comfortable parlor.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Enjoy tea and freshly baked cookies at the cozy fireside
  • Quaint and traditional English style decor
  • Complimentary gourmet breakfast and selection of drinks and snacks

 

 

The White Swan Inn Hotel Rooms

Built in 1915, the five-floor White Swan Inn provides 26 guest rooms, all furnished and decorated in an individual old-fashioned English style. Rich dark woods feature throughout, and the magnificent grandfather clock in the hotel lobby sets the historic tone. Whether you choose from a deluxe king or queen room, you will be in for a treat as you feast your eyes on teddy bears sitting on the Victorian style two- or four-poster wooden beds amidst a riot of floral wallpaper, wing backed armchairs and classic floral or tartan bedspreads and fabrics. Working gas fireplaces grace every room and the bathrooms feature marble countertops and bathrobes. There are some extra features, too, such as a turndown service that includes chocolates and complimentary beverages, and bottled water in the wet bar. The White Swan Inn has not forgot the 21st century, as satellite televisions and Internet access are available in all rooms, and valet and room services are available (fees apply).

Things To Do:
  • Union Square (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Chinatown (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Financial District (1.3 mi/2.1 km)

White Swan Inn Rooms

DELUXE - ROOM
Deluxe Queen room offers one queen bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Telephone, Valet service and Voicemail. This deluxe guestroom with queen bed and fireplace includes gourmet continental breakfast buffet and evening wine and hors d'oeuvres served fireside in the cozy parlor, evening turndown with chocolates, a fireplace, wet bar stocked with complimentary beverages, a sitting area, bathrobes, voicemail with dataport, iron and board, and hairdryer. The White Swan Inn is a non-smoking property.310 Sq ft or 29 Sq meters
DELUXE - ROOM
Deluxe King room offers one king bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Telephone, Valet service and Voicemail. This deluxe guestroom with king bed and fireplace includes gourmet continental breakfast buffet and evening wine and hors d'oeuvres served fireside in the cozy parlor, evening turndown with chocolates, a fireplace, wet bar stocked with complimentary beverages, a sitting area, bathrobes, voicemail with dataport, iron and board, and hairdryer. The White Swan Inn is a non-smoking property.340 Sq ft or 32 Sq meters

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed White Swan Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7896 -122.4112
Area served
San Francisco.
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport.
Area description
San Francisco's White Swan Inn is located on Bush St. between Mason and Taylor atop Nob Hill, up the hill from Union Square and minutes from the Powell Street Cable Car, the Financial District, Chinatown, North Beach and many of the City's finest restaurants.

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.7 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.3 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.3 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (57)

Ratings and reviews for White Swan Inn

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
57 out of 57
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.5

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Canberra Australia
Mar 17, 2010

The White Swan

If you want a hotel that is modern and shiny, The White Swan is not for you. If you want a hotel that has some of the friendliest and most helpful staff, is in a great location (2 blocks from 2 cable car tracks) and serves a great breakfast and afternoon tea then I doubt you can find better accommodation in San Francisco. When next in San Francisco we know where we will be staying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a Muni pass to use the public transport. It will save you heaps.

Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Arizona
Mar 23, 2010

Hidden Treasure

Our stay was pleasant start to finish. The staff were friendly and helpful, going out of their way to make sure our needs were met. We met wonderful people from other countries at the evening reception and looked forward to attending it each day. We enjoyed being able to eat breakfast at the hotel before heading out each day. The hotel is a little out of the way from others we have stayed at in San Francisco making it a bit quieter. We plan to definately stay again when we return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Forest Grove, OR
Dec 17, 2010

Absolutely Fantastic!

It was a quaint hotel. You feel the warmth the moment you walk in the door. It was my sister and I's first time staying in San Francisco and we were very nervous. The hotel staff was so helpful and kind. Our room was spacious and warm. The bed was huge and extremely comfortable. The hotel also offered a great complementary breakfast. It was close to many different attractions such as the trolly and union square. I was sad to leave, but if I ever return to San Francisco I will make my hotel reservations at the White Swan Inn!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is close to the trolly and to union square. There are many nice restaurants close by and some shopping nearby. Union square is only a couple blocks over and down the hill. My sister and I went walking around and next thing we knew we were at Union Square. Nicely located!

Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York City
Aug 9, 2009

A very special place

The room was large and beautifully kept. Exactly as described. The lounge area is huge and perfect for sitting and sipping the complimentary snack and whine during an afternoon happy hour.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are determined to do a trolly ride, do it early. There were long lines.

Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington DC
Feb 4, 2010

Quirky but Awesome

The hotel has very loud wall paper. The nice sized rooms with a fireplace are beautiful. The breakfast was a great start to each day. The rooms they serve it in are interesting, things to look at, games, and there is always coffee and tea available. The evening wine tasting and a few munchies is also great. We missed it a couple of times which made us sad because we don't know what bit of food we missed. The cookies in the lobby are a great touch too. The staff were very helpful and had great suggestions. It's a small hotel but was just right for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Free breakfast and evening wine with a bit of food is great. Free coffee and teas 24hrs. Also free soda in your room. Take the Bart from the airport to Powell St Station. Get the muni pass for transport or citypass if you're being touristy. Rent a car to go over the Golden Gate to Muir Woods also the Winchester Mystery House is an hour south in San Jose. The Hertz on Mason it open later than the nearer rental cars even of Sunday so you don't pay to park overnight if you don't have to.

Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver
Jan 18, 2010

Great weekend getaway

Very nice and friendly service. Good knowledge of the area and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great location to China Town.

Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington DC
Feb 4, 2010

Quirky but Awesome

The hotel has very loud wall paper. The nice sized rooms with a fireplace are beautiful. The breakfast was a great start to each day. The rooms they serve it in are interesting, things to look at, games, and there is always coffee and tea available. The evening wine tasting and a few munchies is also great. We missed it a couple of times which made us sad because we don't know what bit of food we missed. The cookies in the lobby are a great touch too. The staff were very helpful and had great suggestions. It's a small hotel but was just right for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Free breakfast and evening wine with a bit of food is great. Free coffee and teas 24hrs. Also free soda in your room. Take the Bart from the airport to Powell St Station. Get the muni pass for transport or citypass if you're being touristy. Rent a car to go over the Golden Gate to Muir Woods also the Winchester Mystery House is an hour south in San Jose. The Hertz on Mason it open later than the nearer rental cars even of Sunday so you don't pay to park overnight if you don't have to.

Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
K&C
Boston, MA
Apr 24, 2010

Wonderful stay

Great little inn in the Nob Hill area. The free breakfast in the morning and wine and snacks every evening were an added bonus and the staff was so friendly and helpful! We would DEFINITELY go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bagpipe_mouse
Sugar Land, Texas
Mar 21, 2010

Comfortable and romantic home base.

We love San Francisco, but it can be a demanding town. White Swan provided a comfortable home base, with a cozy bed and plenty of room to spread out and recover from the day. Welcoming public rooms encourage guests to chat and exchange tips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
K&C
Boston, MA
Apr 24, 2010

Wonderful stay

Great little inn in the Nob Hill area. The free breakfast in the morning and wine and snacks every evening were an added bonus and the staff was so friendly and helpful! We would DEFINITELY go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top