$179 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 16, 2014 Check-out: Nov 17, 2014

White Swan Inn

3 stars
845 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
38 reviews
Utterly welcoming

A great in-room fireplace. Excellent English breakfast, and afternoon buffet. Relaxing lounge.... See full review

  • San Franc traveler
  • May 31, 2013
Charming and friendly

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at the inn. I thought the room was comfortable and clean. Enjoyed... See full review

  • francio
  • Aug 17, 2014
Best of British charm on Nob Hill

The White Swan Inn in the pleasant Nob Hill District of San Francisco is styled like an old-fashioned London hotel with traditional English Victorian style furnishings and a welcoming and intimate feel. Step back into a more elegant time in a cozy hotel that feels a world away from identikit chain hotels that look the same from coast to coast. The White Swan Inn also offers a complimentary breakfast buffet, tea and cookies, and wine and hors d'oeuvres by the fireplace in the comfortable parlor.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Enjoy tea and freshly baked cookies at the cozy fireside
  • Quaint and traditional English style decor
  • Complimentary gourmet breakfast and selection of drinks and snacks

 

 

The White Swan Inn Hotel Rooms

Built in 1915, the five-floor White Swan Inn provides 26 guest rooms, all furnished and decorated in an individual old-fashioned English style. Rich dark woods feature throughout, and the magnificent grandfather clock in the hotel lobby sets the historic tone. Whether you choose from a deluxe king or queen room, you will be in for a treat as you feast your eyes on teddy bears sitting on the Victorian style two- or four-poster wooden beds amidst a riot of floral wallpaper, wing backed armchairs and classic floral or tartan bedspreads and fabrics. Working gas fireplaces grace every room and the bathrooms feature marble countertops and bathrobes. There are some extra features, too, such as a turndown service that includes chocolates and complimentary beverages, and bottled water in the wet bar. The White Swan Inn has not forgot the 21st century, as satellite televisions and Internet access are available in all rooms, and valet and room services are available (fees apply).

Things To Do:
  • Union Square (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Chinatown (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Financial District (1.3 mi/2.1 km)

Hotel Map

37.7896 -122.4112
Area served
San Francisco.
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport.
Area description
San Francisco's White Swan Inn is located on Bush St. between Mason and Taylor atop Nob Hill, up the hill from Union Square and minutes from the Powell Street Cable Car, the Financial District, Chinatown, North Beach and many of the City's finest restaurants.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed White Swan Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

White Swan Inn Rooms

DELUXE - ROOM
Deluxe Queen room offers one queen bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Telephone, Valet service and Voicemail. This deluxe guestroom with queen bed and fireplace includes gourmet continental breakfast buffet and evening wine and hors d'oeuvres served fireside in the cozy parlor, evening turndown with chocolates, a fireplace, wet bar stocked with complimentary beverages, a sitting area, bathrobes, voicemail with dataport, iron and board, and hairdryer. The White Swan Inn is a non-smoking property.310 Sq ft or 29 Sq meters
DELUXE - ROOM
Deluxe King room offers one king bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Telephone, Valet service and Voicemail. This deluxe guestroom with king bed and fireplace includes gourmet continental breakfast buffet and evening wine and hors d'oeuvres served fireside in the cozy parlor, evening turndown with chocolates, a fireplace, wet bar stocked with complimentary beverages, a sitting area, bathrobes, voicemail with dataport, iron and board, and hairdryer. The White Swan Inn is a non-smoking property.340 Sq ft or 32 Sq meters

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.7 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.3 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.3 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (38)

Ratings and reviews for White Swan Inn

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
38 out of 38
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brenda A
Business
Wethersfield, CT, USA
Mar 5, 2012

White Swan Inn

This is our favorite place to stay when we visit San Francisco. THe atmosphere is charming. The location is within walking distance of almost everything. Hard to beat the service and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Can't beat a walk up the hill to Top of The Mark . Great view and great martinis.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dottie in dayton
Business
Dayton Ohio
Apr 10, 2012

Perfect Get-Away Trip!

From the first step inside the door, this property is great. The gas logs in the fireplace in the room were an unexpected bonus and welcome after a day walking and exploring the city. The in room refrigerator stocked with water, pop, (non alcohol) the coffee bar great in room amenities. The entire public spaces in the property are just charming, the location is good, and the value was certainly there. Even my teen-age grandson thought it was very good- especially the breakfast! And

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jabe
Business
Huntington, WV
May 7, 2012

Great place to stay!

Our first trip to San Francisco was great and our accomadations were perfect. We were looking for something that was a little more quaint and certainly found it. The rooms are not large but very comfortable and clean. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rates were reasonable. Breakfast and evening wine and snacks included. Met many very nice people from around the world at the evening wine tasting. Location is good and very near many fine restaurants, but a pretty good walk to water. We are walkers so this didn't bother us. I highly recommend this Inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Scala's Sears restaurant great pancakes

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SkyePixie
Business
Canada
Sep 18, 2012

Simply GORGEOUS

Just like a beautiful tiny castle! Delicious breakfast, marvellous room, extremely clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
San Franc traveler
Business
New York, NY
May 31, 2013

Utterly welcoming

A great in-room fireplace. Excellent English breakfast, and afternoon buffet. Relaxing lounge. Friendly and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
Feb 4, 2010

Quirky but Awesome

The hotel has very loud wall paper. The nice sized rooms with a fireplace are beautiful. The breakfast was a great start to each day. The rooms they serve it in are interesting, things to look at, games, and there is always coffee and tea available. The evening wine tasting and a few munchies is also great. We missed it a couple of times which made us sad because we don't know what bit of food we missed. The cookies in the lobby are a great touch too. The staff were very helpful and had great suggestions. It's a small hotel but was just right for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Free breakfast and evening wine with a bit of food is great. Free coffee and teas 24hrs. Also free soda in your room. Take the Bart from the airport to Powell St Station. Get the muni pass for transport or citypass if you're being touristy. Rent a car to go over the Golden Gate to Muir Woods also the Winchester Mystery House is an hour south in San Jose. The Hertz on Mason it open later than the nearer rental cars even of Sunday so you don't pay to park overnight if you don't have to.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Forest Grove, OR
Dec 17, 2010

Absolutely Fantastic!

It was a quaint hotel. You feel the warmth the moment you walk in the door. It was my sister and I's first time staying in San Francisco and we were very nervous. The hotel staff was so helpful and kind. Our room was spacious and warm. The bed was huge and extremely comfortable. The hotel also offered a great complementary breakfast. It was close to many different attractions such as the trolly and union square. I was sad to leave, but if I ever return to San Francisco I will make my hotel reservations at the White Swan Inn!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is close to the trolly and to union square. There are many nice restaurants close by and some shopping nearby. Union square is only a couple blocks over and down the hill. My sister and I went walking around and next thing we knew we were at Union Square. Nicely located!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Aug 1, 2010

Charming

A quiet, charming get away in the middle of the city. First class accommodations!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
K&C
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 24, 2010

Wonderful stay

Great little inn in the Nob Hill area. The free breakfast in the morning and wine and snacks every evening were an added bonus and the staff was so friendly and helpful! We would DEFINITELY go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lrm
Business
Concord, Ca
Feb 4, 2010

Excellent Place

This hotel is in a quieter part of the Union Square district. We went to see Wicked (another 5 stars) and decided to stay overnight here. The service was outstanding, and from the moment we walked into our room and found our personalized letter welcoming us to San Francisco to the call we received minutes later just checking to make sure everything was perfect we were quite pleased. The free breakfast was fantastic; fresh orange juice and danishes (not the boxed kind) as well as home made quiche and an assortment of other items. The breakfast area was very peaceful and quite comfortable. The rooms are tastefully decorated and well appointed. My favorite SF Hotel so far We called a day early to ask if we could drop our bags off before check in and spend some time in the city, but when we got there (4 hours before check in) they had already set up our room. Overall an excellent experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top