$209 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

White Swan Inn

3 stars
845 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
57 reviews
Utterly welcoming

A great in-room fireplace. Excellent English breakfast, and afternoon buffet. Relaxing lounge.... See full review

  • San Franc traveler
  • May 31, 2013
Spring Break 2014

Very friendly and accommodating staff. Noise level in rooms very high with city sounds. Had to... See full review

  • Toby jo
  • Mar 16, 2014
Best of British charm on Nob Hill

The White Swan Inn in the pleasant Nob Hill District of San Francisco is styled like an old-fashioned London hotel with traditional English Victorian style furnishings and a welcoming and intimate feel. Step back into a more elegant time in a cozy hotel that feels a world away from identikit chain hotels that look the same from coast to coast. The White Swan Inn also offers a complimentary breakfast buffet, tea and cookies, and wine and hors d'oeuvres by the fireplace in the comfortable parlor.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Enjoy tea and freshly baked cookies at the cozy fireside
  • Quaint and traditional English style decor
  • Complimentary gourmet breakfast and selection of drinks and snacks

 

 

The White Swan Inn Hotel Rooms

Built in 1915, the five-floor White Swan Inn provides 26 guest rooms, all furnished and decorated in an individual old-fashioned English style. Rich dark woods feature throughout, and the magnificent grandfather clock in the hotel lobby sets the historic tone. Whether you choose from a deluxe king or queen room, you will be in for a treat as you feast your eyes on teddy bears sitting on the Victorian style two- or four-poster wooden beds amidst a riot of floral wallpaper, wing backed armchairs and classic floral or tartan bedspreads and fabrics. Working gas fireplaces grace every room and the bathrooms feature marble countertops and bathrobes. There are some extra features, too, such as a turndown service that includes chocolates and complimentary beverages, and bottled water in the wet bar. The White Swan Inn has not forgot the 21st century, as satellite televisions and Internet access are available in all rooms, and valet and room services are available (fees apply).

Things To Do:
  • Union Square (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Chinatown (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Financial District (1.3 mi/2.1 km)

White Swan Inn Rooms

DELUXE - ROOM
Deluxe Queen room offers one queen bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Telephone, Valet service and Voicemail. This deluxe guestroom with queen bed and fireplace includes gourmet continental breakfast buffet and evening wine and hors d'oeuvres served fireside in the cozy parlor, evening turndown with chocolates, a fireplace, wet bar stocked with complimentary beverages, a sitting area, bathrobes, voicemail with dataport, iron and board, and hairdryer. The White Swan Inn is a non-smoking property.310 Sq ft or 29 Sq meters
DELUXE - ROOM
Deluxe King room offers one king bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Telephone, Valet service and Voicemail. This deluxe guestroom with king bed and fireplace includes gourmet continental breakfast buffet and evening wine and hors d'oeuvres served fireside in the cozy parlor, evening turndown with chocolates, a fireplace, wet bar stocked with complimentary beverages, a sitting area, bathrobes, voicemail with dataport, iron and board, and hairdryer. The White Swan Inn is a non-smoking property.340 Sq ft or 32 Sq meters

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed White Swan Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7896 -122.4112
Area served
San Francisco.
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport.
Area description
San Francisco's White Swan Inn is located on Bush St. between Mason and Taylor atop Nob Hill, up the hill from Union Square and minutes from the Powell Street Cable Car, the Financial District, Chinatown, North Beach and many of the City's finest restaurants.

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.7 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.3 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.3 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (57)

Ratings and reviews for White Swan Inn

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
4 out of 57
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sort by:
Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Midwest
Jan 30, 2011

Cozy, convenient, and very reasonable!

The White Swan was very nice--the room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. The breakfast was great, and the in-room coffee (for a change!) was good coffee rather than Folgers or comparable. The fireplace was nice, and the service was very accommodating. The only issues were 1) that the clock radio had the wrong time and the setting couldn't be changed; and 2) that the message light on the phone blinked and I had no messages and couldn't get it turned off. It is hard to imagine a nicer, more character-laden hotel in SF, and the location (about 3 blocks from Union Square in a primarily residential area, though on a main street) was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Midwest
Jan 30, 2011

Cozy, convenient, and very reasonable!

The White Swan was very nice--the room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. The breakfast was great, and the in-room coffee (for a change!) was good coffee rather than Folgers or comparable. The fireplace was nice, and the service was very accommodating. The only issues were 1) that the clock radio had the wrong time and the setting couldn't be changed; and 2) that the message light on the phone blinked and I had no messages and couldn't get it turned off. It is hard to imagine a nicer, more character-laden hotel in SF, and the location (about 3 blocks from Union Square in a primarily residential area, though on a main street) was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
So Love to Travel
Business
Marietta, Ga
Sep 15, 2010

I wish I could say that I was perfect.

I started planning my first trip to San Francisco on a whim about a year ago and fell in love with this hotel. Most of the reviews were awesome and it sounded like a great place to unwind after running around all day. I must say that my stay was what expected and more. The accommodations were like staying someone else's home, not perfect but just quirky. The room was comfortable and clean, a working fireplace that we even got the chance to use in July. Although the bathroom took a little getting use to (large old tub). The decorations was sweet and just so welcoming to sit and talk to other people. The couple of times I got to evening tea were memorable, meet some great people. The breakfast was awesome usually my best meal of the day. (Cooked meals everyday) One morning I went down early to make myself some time tea and the staff hadn't had a chance to prepare anything. The lady on duty was so nice to drop what she was doing just to boil me so water. This hotel is within walking distance of shopping, dining, Chinatown and the streetcars so we got around pretty easy. Like I said I was I could say it was perfect. I called a couple weeks before arriving to request a early check-in. The operator said that she couldn't promise anything and that was fair but I had also requested a room away for the busy street (good point to remember since you are downtown). When I arrive the front desk said that my room wasn't ready. No problem. But, the room they place us in was not only on the street but all the way on the top floor. So with the hotel's antiquated elevator (we never used to whole time we were there) this was not going to be acceptable. So after waiting a little (went to have lunch somewhere) we were place in a room on the back on the second floor where we were comfortable. I specifically told the front desk at that time that my mother would be checking in the following day so she wouldn't have a hard time. But, that is exactly what happened, she was given a hard time and was told that she could not check in. The last thing that really just left me with not so a great impression. Again the employee who check me in that first day, charged my card for $1000 for incidentals. When I asked about this, the young man that was on duty that day even thought that this was a ridiculous amount and doesn't know what that man was smoking that day. It took me a couple of visits to the front desk to straighten it out. Everyone else was so nice and professional, I don't know what was this guy's problem. The sad thing is I have yet to hear from management when I complained about it. So much for being perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Just to remember that San Francisco is famous for its hills. Staying at this hotel gave me a lot of chances for power walking.

Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
So Love to Travel
Business
Marietta, Ga
Sep 15, 2010

I wish I could say that I was perfect.

I started planning my first trip to San Francisco on a whim about a year ago and fell in love with this hotel. Most of the reviews were awesome and it sounded like a great place to unwind after running around all day. I must say that my stay was what expected and more. The accommodations were like staying someone else's home, not perfect but just quirky. The room was comfortable and clean, a working fireplace that we even got the chance to use in July. Although the bathroom took a little getting use to (large old tub). The decorations was sweet and just so welcoming to sit and talk to other people. The couple of times I got to evening tea were memorable, meet some great people. The breakfast was awesome usually my best meal of the day. (Cooked meals everyday) One morning I went down early to make myself some time tea and the staff hadn't had a chance to prepare anything. The lady on duty was so nice to drop what she was doing just to boil me so water. This hotel is within walking distance of shopping, dining, Chinatown and the streetcars so we got around pretty easy. Like I said I was I could say it was perfect. I called a couple weeks before arriving to request a early check-in. The operator said that she couldn't promise anything and that was fair but I had also requested a room away for the busy street (good point to remember since you are downtown). When I arrive the front desk said that my room wasn't ready. No problem. But, the room they place us in was not only on the street but all the way on the top floor. So with the hotel's antiquated elevator (we never used to whole time we were there) this was not going to be acceptable. So after waiting a little (went to have lunch somewhere) we were place in a room on the back on the second floor where we were comfortable. I specifically told the front desk at that time that my mother would be checking in the following day so she wouldn't have a hard time. But, that is exactly what happened, she was given a hard time and was told that she could not check in. The last thing that really just left me with not so a great impression. Again the employee who check me in that first day, charged my card for $1000 for incidentals. When I asked about this, the young man that was on duty that day even thought that this was a ridiculous amount and doesn't know what that man was smoking that day. It took me a couple of visits to the front desk to straighten it out. Everyone else was so nice and professional, I don't know what was this guy's problem. The sad thing is I have yet to hear from management when I complained about it. So much for being perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Just to remember that San Francisco is famous for its hills. Staying at this hotel gave me a lot of chances for power walking.

Back to menu Return to top