White Swan Inn

3 stars
View map of 845 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
43 reviews
Best B&B Ever

Great experience with affordable price. Clean room, nice location, and great services. See full review

  • Zhenyu H.
  • May 5, 2015
Eclectic, Fun Experience

The decor was very eclectic, but we loved the 60's retro aspect and music. The delightful breakfast... See full review

  • R. W.
  • Jan 15, 2015

The White Swan Inn in the pleasant Nob Hill District of San Francisco is styled like an old-fashioned London hotel with traditional English Victorian style furnishings and a welcoming and intimate feel. Step back into a more elegant time in a cozy hotel that feels a world away from identikit chain hotels that look the same from coast to coast. The White Swan Inn also offers a complimentary breakfast buffet, tea and cookies, and wine and hors d'oeuvres by the fireplace in the comfortable parlor.

Rooms

Built in 1915, the five-floor White Swan Inn provides 26 guest rooms, all furnished and decorated in an individual old-fashioned English style. Rich dark woods feature throughout, and the magnificent grandfather clock in the hotel lobby sets the historic tone. Whether you choose from a deluxe king or queen room, you will be in for a treat as you feast your eyes on teddy bears sitting on the Victorian style two- or four-poster wooden beds amidst a riot of floral wallpaper, wing backed armchairs and classic floral or tartan bedspreads and fabrics. Working gas fireplaces grace every room and the bathrooms feature marble countertops and bathrobes. There are some extra features, too, such as a turndown service that includes chocolates and complimentary beverages, and bottled water in the wet bar. The White Swan Inn has not forgot the 21st century, as satellite televisions and Internet access are available in all rooms, and valet and room services are available (fees apply).

Highlights
  • Enjoy tea and freshly baked cookies at the cozy fireside
  • Quaint and traditional English style decor
  • Complimentary gourmet breakfast and selection of drinks and snacks

 

 

Nearby attractions
  • Union Square (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Chinatown (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Financial District (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
Policies
Parking fee is $36 plus tax for standard sized cars and $45 plus tax for oversized cars.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed White Swan Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

White Swan Inn Rooms

DELUXE - ROOM
Deluxe Queen room offers one queen bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Telephone, Valet service and Voicemail. This deluxe guestroom with queen bed and fireplace includes gourmet continental breakfast buffet and evening wine and hors d'oeuvres served fireside in the cozy parlor, evening turndown with chocolates, a fireplace, wet bar stocked with complimentary beverages, a sitting area, bathrobes, voicemail with dataport, iron and board, and hairdryer. The White Swan Inn is a non-smoking property.310 Sq ft or 29 Sq meters
DELUXE - ROOM
Deluxe King room offers one king bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Telephone, Valet service and Voicemail. This deluxe guestroom with king bed and fireplace includes gourmet continental breakfast buffet and evening wine and hors d'oeuvres served fireside in the cozy parlor, evening turndown with chocolates, a fireplace, wet bar stocked with complimentary beverages, a sitting area, bathrobes, voicemail with dataport, iron and board, and hairdryer. The White Swan Inn is a non-smoking property.340 Sq ft or 32 Sq meters

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.7 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.3 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.3 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 AM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for White Swan Inn

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
43 out of 43
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.5

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Gigi Jan
Business
Lisle, IL
Aug 21, 2014

San Francisco Vacation

The room and hotel furnishings were a little "beat up" and tacky lending to a dowdy feel. On the up side, the staff was one of the best I have encountered! They couldn't have been more helpful, friendly and accommodating. This hotel seemed to be located on a busy street and we had a room facing the street; therefore, it was noisy at night. By contrast, the "sister" hotel, located 2 doors down, was very upgraded in appearance and furnishings which was puzzling, as both hotels were owned by the same person.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Have the hotel call a shuttle service for the return trip to the airport. It is less expensive than a taxi.

Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Aug 2, 2010

White Sawan

It was OK overall. The place is a little tired, though. Breakfast was kind of mundane. The staff was eager and nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Former Californians
Business
Chicago
Feb 10, 2010

White Swan - SF

Charming hotel in a convenient location. Room was pleasantly furnished. Bed was not as comfortable as we would have expected. (It sagged in middle a bit.) Closet was in bathroom, which was incovenient. Cute fireplace. Free wi-fi, a plus. Noisy pigeons outside window, which made sleeping past dawn challenging. Nice breakfast. Good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Leon S.
Business
N/A
May 1, 2015

Needs to be updated

The White Swan has long been a favorite of ours. It has a relatively good location, walking distance to Market Street Bart, Union Square, and China Town. The downside is that it is up a very steep hill. This used to be a Joie de Vivre property, and at that time there were perks such as free room upgrades, wine in room, and points toward future trips. Under new management, the carpeting and some paintings have been changed, and the teddy bears are largely gone. The ancient elevator remains. It is quite quaint, but it has its moments where you have to take the stairs. This time we were in a king room facing the front, and there is considerable noise from a bar across the street. In the very small bathroom the shower handle and the towel bar both fell off at various times. It was quite warm, and raising the windows was difficult, but a fan brought out from the closet helped. Breakfast is as good as we remembered, but the wine and snacks in the evening disappointed. The one we attended ran out of red wine (it was replaced as we were leaving) but the dip for the vegies and some side dish were never replaced, and we weren't there that late. We never did see any cookies in the cookie jar. We might come back for the price, but if you can afford it, there are better choices in S.F.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sir Henry
Business
Bay Area
Jan 3, 2014

Happy Birthday to Me

Our stay at the White Swan Inn was highlighted by the excellent service from the staff. It began with champagne in the room for my wife's birthday. It continued with an upgrade to a nice room facing the street and lastly we received a bottle of red even though we checked in late and missed the afternoon cheese and wine. The rooms are clean and spacious. If you go for modern stylings than this might not be the place for you but if you like a Victorian setting with a warm comfortable parlor and library, then the inn is for you. Very good value and within walking distance to the theaters, 3 to 4 blocks blocks downhill. Just don't forget that you have to climb uphill to get back to your hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Cheap parking on Leavenworth between Bush and Pine. $10 for 10 hours before 10am. Good option if you plan on leaving the car and walking around the theater district. $15 for oversized vehicles.

Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Off Road
Business
NC
Mar 13, 2014

Great location!

The White Swan Inn was charming! The location was great, not too far from the Bart or Muni or walking to anywhere near Union Square, Nob Hill, the Wharf. We walked everywhere and it was extremely convenient. for all of our needs. The inn is renovating the rooms and they are fresh and clean. The breakfast was more than enough every day and all of the staff were very friendly and attentive to all our needs. We visit San Francisco often and will definitely return here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Wharf at the Embarcadero has a wonderful Farmers Market on Saturday mornings. You should not miss it! It has terrific food and treats to buy and snack on. The shops are great to browse also, a wonderful walking area.

Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Toby jo
Business
Minneapolis
Mar 16, 2014

Spring Break 2014

Very friendly and accommodating staff. Noise level in rooms very high with city sounds. Had to sleep with earplugs. Breakfast and wine /cheese buffets were best value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use a MUNI transportation bus and trolley pass to get around.

Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChristieWW1
Business
Houston, TX
Sep 5, 2012

Awesome Bed and Breakfast!

Our stay at the White Swan during July 2012 was absolutely AWESOME! The staff was excellent and was there for our every need! The room was exceptionally clean and inviting! The location is within walking distance of several trolly stops. The little bar at the corner was a friendly, quiet spot (small but quaint). There is a small store right across the street. We took several tours while in San Francisco and had no problems getting transportation, whether it be taxi's or shuttles, to come right to the front door to get us. AND THE OLD TIME ELEVATOR !! was a definite blast from the past!! Our entire experience at the White Swan was UNFORGETTABLE!! Would recommend it to anyone, single, couples, or families! If we ever get back to San Fran, we will definitely stay at the White Swan!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Wear good walking shoes! There are so many hills in the city! I was shocked!

Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stephanie Lei
Business
Honolulu
Sep 12, 2012

Like Home, a Little Tired but Welcoming

This hotel could use some sprucing up, but overall a very good experience. The ground floor, where you enter the hotel from the street, and also where the complimentary breakfast is held, does not seem to be wheelchair-accessible, it has stairs, so just know that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Qatatonic
Business
Orange County, CA
Jan 6, 2013

A delightful stay

I wanted to get a "bed and breakfast" experience with the convenience of a hotel, and this certainly fit the bill. The staff was friendly and helpful, a hearty breakfast was served every morning, with cookies in the lobby, and wine and snacks in the evening. The food wasn't the very best I've ever had, but I am not picky, and I had one less thing I had to think about during my stay. Complimentary water and soda were also available at any time of day. Though most major hotels use key cards these days, I though the actual keys they gave us to the door and our room was nice. I also loved the fireplace in our room; I had it running all night and it really warmed the place up. I also appreciated the free wi-fi. The location was really the best part - I was able to walk or take public transportation to the Wharf, Golden Gate Park, Union Square, and a couple of nice bars and restaurants. The only things I didn't like about staying here were the parking and the work out room. Valet is like $35 a day plus tax, and a 20-30 minute wait. We ended up parking at a garage two city blocks (about a 5 minute walk) down on Stockton. The price is a little cheaper. Just be careful though - we did read some reviews on Yelp about some recent car thefts that took place here, but we were lucky and our car was fine for our 3 day stay. Also, the treadmill and exercise bike they have there are pretty lame. You are better off running around the block a couple times if you want to work out during your stay. Overall though, I thought it was a great experience. I would be happy to stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top