$219 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

White Swan Inn

3 stars
View map of 845 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for White Swan Inn

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 46
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.5

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jabe
Business
Huntington, WV
May 7, 2012

Great place to stay!

Our first trip to San Francisco was great and our accomadations were perfect. We were looking for something that was a little more quaint and certainly found it. The rooms are not large but very comfortable and clean. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rates were reasonable. Breakfast and evening wine and snacks included. Met many very nice people from around the world at the evening wine tasting. Location is good and very near many fine restaurants, but a pretty good walk to water. We are walkers so this didn't bother us. I highly recommend this Inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Scala's Sears restaurant great pancakes

Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dottie in dayton
Business
Dayton Ohio
Apr 10, 2012

Perfect Get-Away Trip!

From the first step inside the door, this property is great. The gas logs in the fireplace in the room were an unexpected bonus and welcome after a day walking and exploring the city. The in room refrigerator stocked with water, pop, (non alcohol) the coffee bar great in room amenities. The entire public spaces in the property are just charming, the location is good, and the value was certainly there. Even my teen-age grandson thought it was very good- especially the breakfast! And

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Brenda A
Business
Wethersfield, CT, USA
Mar 5, 2012

White Swan Inn

This is our favorite place to stay when we visit San Francisco. THe atmosphere is charming. The location is within walking distance of almost everything. Hard to beat the service and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Can't beat a walk up the hill to Top of The Mark . Great view and great martinis.

Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Emanon
Business
Denver
Sep 11, 2011

White Swan San Francisco

We enjoyed our stay at the White Swan very much. The wait staff and, in particularly, Andy the bellhop, was so friendly and helpful with suggesting places to go and see. Their directions and information was all very useful. We also enjoyed having a wonderful breakfast every morning since the prices for food in San Francisco can be quite expensive. The daily breakfast saved us some serious money indeed. We would definitely recommend this establishment to anyone staying in the Union Square area as it's so centrally located.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get the multi-day Muni/Bus/Cablecar pass. We purchased the 7 day for $27 which enabled us to take the bus, and cablecar as often as we wanted for the seven days stayed. We didn't take the Muni but could have as well with this pass. One cablecar ride is $6 so right there we saved a bundle!

Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Midwest
Jan 30, 2011

Cozy, convenient, and very reasonable!

The White Swan was very nice--the room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. The breakfast was great, and the in-room coffee (for a change!) was good coffee rather than Folgers or comparable. The fireplace was nice, and the service was very accommodating. The only issues were 1) that the clock radio had the wrong time and the setting couldn't be changed; and 2) that the message light on the phone blinked and I had no messages and couldn't get it turned off. It is hard to imagine a nicer, more character-laden hotel in SF, and the location (about 3 blocks from Union Square in a primarily residential area, though on a main street) was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cuisa
Business
Garden Grove, Ca
Jan 2, 2011

Delightful getaway

The White Swan hotel was a delightful place, so peaceful very enchanted, and it totally transfers the hotel guest to the old England world. overall nice place and really romantic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

located next to union square where all the boutiques and retail stores are located.

Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cuisa
Business
Garden Grove, Ca
Jan 2, 2011

Delightful getaway

The White Swan hotel was a delightful place, so peaceful very enchanted, and it totally transfers the hotel guest to the old England world. overall nice place and really romantic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

located next to union square where all the boutiques and retail stores are located.

Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Forest Grove, OR
Dec 17, 2010

Absolutely Fantastic!

It was a quaint hotel. You feel the warmth the moment you walk in the door. It was my sister and I's first time staying in San Francisco and we were very nervous. The hotel staff was so helpful and kind. Our room was spacious and warm. The bed was huge and extremely comfortable. The hotel also offered a great complementary breakfast. It was close to many different attractions such as the trolly and union square. I was sad to leave, but if I ever return to San Francisco I will make my hotel reservations at the White Swan Inn!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is close to the trolly and to union square. There are many nice restaurants close by and some shopping nearby. Union square is only a couple blocks over and down the hill. My sister and I went walking around and next thing we knew we were at Union Square. Nicely located!

Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
So Love to Travel
Business
Marietta, Ga
Sep 15, 2010

I wish I could say that I was perfect.

I started planning my first trip to San Francisco on a whim about a year ago and fell in love with this hotel. Most of the reviews were awesome and it sounded like a great place to unwind after running around all day. I must say that my stay was what expected and more. The accommodations were like staying someone else's home, not perfect but just quirky. The room was comfortable and clean, a working fireplace that we even got the chance to use in July. Although the bathroom took a little getting use to (large old tub). The decorations was sweet and just so welcoming to sit and talk to other people. The couple of times I got to evening tea were memorable, meet some great people. The breakfast was awesome usually my best meal of the day. (Cooked meals everyday) One morning I went down early to make myself some time tea and the staff hadn't had a chance to prepare anything. The lady on duty was so nice to drop what she was doing just to boil me so water. This hotel is within walking distance of shopping, dining, Chinatown and the streetcars so we got around pretty easy. Like I said I was I could say it was perfect. I called a couple weeks before arriving to request a early check-in. The operator said that she couldn't promise anything and that was fair but I had also requested a room away for the busy street (good point to remember since you are downtown). When I arrive the front desk said that my room wasn't ready. No problem. But, the room they place us in was not only on the street but all the way on the top floor. So with the hotel's antiquated elevator (we never used to whole time we were there) this was not going to be acceptable. So after waiting a little (went to have lunch somewhere) we were place in a room on the back on the second floor where we were comfortable. I specifically told the front desk at that time that my mother would be checking in the following day so she wouldn't have a hard time. But, that is exactly what happened, she was given a hard time and was told that she could not check in. The last thing that really just left me with not so a great impression. Again the employee who check me in that first day, charged my card for $1000 for incidentals. When I asked about this, the young man that was on duty that day even thought that this was a ridiculous amount and doesn't know what that man was smoking that day. It took me a couple of visits to the front desk to straighten it out. Everyone else was so nice and professional, I don't know what was this guy's problem. The sad thing is I have yet to hear from management when I complained about it. So much for being perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Just to remember that San Francisco is famous for its hills. Staying at this hotel gave me a lot of chances for power walking.

Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
Aug 2, 2010

White Sawan

It was OK overall. The place is a little tired, though. Breakfast was kind of mundane. The staff was eager and nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top