$269 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

White Swan Inn

3 stars
View map of 845 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for White Swan Inn

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
43 out of 43
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.5

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sir Henry
Business
Bay Area
Jan 3, 2014

Happy Birthday to Me

Our stay at the White Swan Inn was highlighted by the excellent service from the staff. It began with champagne in the room for my wife's birthday. It continued with an upgrade to a nice room facing the street and lastly we received a bottle of red even though we checked in late and missed the afternoon cheese and wine. The rooms are clean and spacious. If you go for modern stylings than this might not be the place for you but if you like a Victorian setting with a warm comfortable parlor and library, then the inn is for you. Very good value and within walking distance to the theaters, 3 to 4 blocks blocks downhill. Just don't forget that you have to climb uphill to get back to your hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Cheap parking on Leavenworth between Bush and Pine. $10 for 10 hours before 10am. Good option if you plan on leaving the car and walking around the theater district. $15 for oversized vehicles.

Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GrannyR
Business
Los Angeles
Oct 31, 2013

Charming

If you're looking for relaxed and comfortable, this is it. While the big chains are kind of faceless and sterile, this hotel is warm and friendly. The breakfast buffet was truly outstanding, fluffy eggs, wonderful biscuits and croissants, good hot coffee. I'll stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

French cafe Claude, just off Bush was excellent. Try the roasted duck.

Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
San Franc traveler
Business
New York, NY
May 31, 2013

Utterly welcoming

A great in-room fireplace. Excellent English breakfast, and afternoon buffet. Relaxing lounge. Friendly and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MrsDotNot
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 25, 2013

Cozy

I really like this charming boutique hotel with its fireplace and fridge in every room. The in-room coffee was quite good and the breakfast was excellent. The evening wine and cheese reception was very welcome. I love all the cozy chairs and decent lighting. I had to knock off a star because the cleaning fluids they use leave a sickening smell -- so much so that I specifically asked the maids to not use it the second day I was there. Even opening the windows didn't help much. I loved that the hot water came very fast, which is very green, but hate the fact that the maids did not follow the very clear guidelines -- leave the card on the pillow and/or the towels on the floor if you want them changed. I did neither yet my towels and sheets were changed. This is such a common occurence that I have stopped expecting anything better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kirk Leap
Business
Dana Point
Feb 7, 2013

Quaint & Homey, Homey !

Room with a fireplace & comfortable bed and a overall ambiance that screams "English Estate" a mini Downton Abbey of sorts. I found myself swigging Single Malts & participating in their tastey breakfast in the morn & wine and snacks in the evening. Staff was very helpful and corteous. Really a cool place in San Fran. Walking distance to the Finacial dist & Embacadero & Chinatown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Yank Sings at the Rincon Center & Kulettos Italian.

Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Qatatonic
Business
Orange County, CA
Jan 6, 2013

A delightful stay

I wanted to get a "bed and breakfast" experience with the convenience of a hotel, and this certainly fit the bill. The staff was friendly and helpful, a hearty breakfast was served every morning, with cookies in the lobby, and wine and snacks in the evening. The food wasn't the very best I've ever had, but I am not picky, and I had one less thing I had to think about during my stay. Complimentary water and soda were also available at any time of day. Though most major hotels use key cards these days, I though the actual keys they gave us to the door and our room was nice. I also loved the fireplace in our room; I had it running all night and it really warmed the place up. I also appreciated the free wi-fi. The location was really the best part - I was able to walk or take public transportation to the Wharf, Golden Gate Park, Union Square, and a couple of nice bars and restaurants. The only things I didn't like about staying here were the parking and the work out room. Valet is like $35 a day plus tax, and a 20-30 minute wait. We ended up parking at a garage two city blocks (about a 5 minute walk) down on Stockton. The price is a little cheaper. Just be careful though - we did read some reviews on Yelp about some recent car thefts that took place here, but we were lucky and our car was fine for our 3 day stay. Also, the treadmill and exercise bike they have there are pretty lame. You are better off running around the block a couple times if you want to work out during your stay. Overall though, I thought it was a great experience. I would be happy to stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SkyePixie
Business
Canada
Sep 18, 2012

Simply GORGEOUS

Just like a beautiful tiny castle! Delicious breakfast, marvellous room, extremely clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stephanie Lei
Business
Honolulu
Sep 12, 2012

Like Home, a Little Tired but Welcoming

This hotel could use some sprucing up, but overall a very good experience. The ground floor, where you enter the hotel from the street, and also where the complimentary breakfast is held, does not seem to be wheelchair-accessible, it has stairs, so just know that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChristieWW1
Business
Houston, TX
Sep 5, 2012

Awesome Bed and Breakfast!

Our stay at the White Swan during July 2012 was absolutely AWESOME! The staff was excellent and was there for our every need! The room was exceptionally clean and inviting! The location is within walking distance of several trolly stops. The little bar at the corner was a friendly, quiet spot (small but quaint). There is a small store right across the street. We took several tours while in San Francisco and had no problems getting transportation, whether it be taxi's or shuttles, to come right to the front door to get us. AND THE OLD TIME ELEVATOR !! was a definite blast from the past!! Our entire experience at the White Swan was UNFORGETTABLE!! Would recommend it to anyone, single, couples, or families! If we ever get back to San Fran, we will definitely stay at the White Swan!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Wear good walking shoes! There are so many hills in the city! I was shocked!

Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jabe
Business
Huntington, WV
May 7, 2012

Great place to stay!

Our first trip to San Francisco was great and our accomadations were perfect. We were looking for something that was a little more quaint and certainly found it. The rooms are not large but very comfortable and clean. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rates were reasonable. Breakfast and evening wine and snacks included. Met many very nice people from around the world at the evening wine tasting. Location is good and very near many fine restaurants, but a pretty good walk to water. We are walkers so this didn't bother us. I highly recommend this Inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Scala's Sears restaurant great pancakes

Back to menu Return to top