$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 28, 2015 Check-out: May 29, 2015

White Swan Inn

3 stars
View map of 845 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
46 reviews
Best B&B Ever

Great experience with affordable price. Clean room, nice location, and great services. See full review

  • Zhenyu H.
  • May 5, 2015
Fantastic leasurly place to stay

My girlfriend and I loved the White Swan. Room was huge for downtown San Francisco Nob Hill area.... See full review

  • Todd O.
  • Feb 15, 2015
Best of British charm on Nob Hill

The White Swan Inn in the pleasant Nob Hill District of San Francisco is styled like an old-fashioned London hotel with traditional English Victorian style furnishings and a welcoming and intimate feel. Step back into a more elegant time in a cozy hotel that feels a world away from identikit chain hotels that look the same from coast to coast. The White Swan Inn also offers a complimentary breakfast buffet, tea and cookies, and wine and hors d'oeuvres by the fireplace in the comfortable parlor.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Enjoy tea and freshly baked cookies at the cozy fireside
  • Quaint and traditional English style decor
  • Complimentary gourmet breakfast and selection of drinks and snacks

 

 

The White Swan Inn Hotel Rooms

Built in 1915, the five-floor White Swan Inn provides 26 guest rooms, all furnished and decorated in an individual old-fashioned English style. Rich dark woods feature throughout, and the magnificent grandfather clock in the hotel lobby sets the historic tone. Whether you choose from a deluxe king or queen room, you will be in for a treat as you feast your eyes on teddy bears sitting on the Victorian style two- or four-poster wooden beds amidst a riot of floral wallpaper, wing backed armchairs and classic floral or tartan bedspreads and fabrics. Working gas fireplaces grace every room and the bathrooms feature marble countertops and bathrobes. There are some extra features, too, such as a turndown service that includes chocolates and complimentary beverages, and bottled water in the wet bar. The White Swan Inn has not forgot the 21st century, as satellite televisions and Internet access are available in all rooms, and valet and room services are available (fees apply).

Things To Do:
  • Union Square (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Chinatown (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Financial District (1.3 mi/2.1 km)
Policies and Fees
Parking fee is $36 plus tax for standard sized cars and $45 plus tax for oversized cars.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed White Swan Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

White Swan Inn Rooms

DELUXE - ROOM
Deluxe Queen room offers one queen bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Telephone, Valet service and Voicemail. This deluxe guestroom with queen bed and fireplace includes gourmet continental breakfast buffet and evening wine and hors d'oeuvres served fireside in the cozy parlor, evening turndown with chocolates, a fireplace, wet bar stocked with complimentary beverages, a sitting area, bathrobes, voicemail with dataport, iron and board, and hairdryer. The White Swan Inn is a non-smoking property.310 Sq ft or 29 Sq meters
DELUXE - ROOM
Deluxe King room offers one king bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Telephone, Valet service and Voicemail. This deluxe guestroom with king bed and fireplace includes gourmet continental breakfast buffet and evening wine and hors d'oeuvres served fireside in the cozy parlor, evening turndown with chocolates, a fireplace, wet bar stocked with complimentary beverages, a sitting area, bathrobes, voicemail with dataport, iron and board, and hairdryer. The White Swan Inn is a non-smoking property.340 Sq ft or 32 Sq meters

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.7 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.3 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.3 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2 mi
  • Walter Adams Gallery: 2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 AM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for White Swan Inn

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 46
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.8
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.5

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jabe
Huntington, WV
May 7, 2012

Great place to stay!

Our first trip to San Francisco was great and our accomadations were perfect. We were looking for something that was a little more quaint and certainly found it. The rooms are not large but very comfortable and clean. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rates were reasonable. Breakfast and evening wine and snacks included. Met many very nice people from around the world at the evening wine tasting. Location is good and very near many fine restaurants, but a pretty good walk to water. We are walkers so this didn't bother us. I highly recommend this Inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Scala's Sears restaurant great pancakes

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Zhenyu H.
Business
la puente
May 5, 2015

Best B&B Ever

Great experience with affordable price. Clean room, nice location, and great services.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Leon S.
Business
N/A
May 1, 2015

Needs to be updated

The White Swan has long been a favorite of ours. It has a relatively good location, walking distance to Market Street Bart, Union Square, and China Town. The downside is that it is up a very steep hill. This used to be a Joie de Vivre property, and at that time there were perks such as free room upgrades, wine in room, and points toward future trips. Under new management, the carpeting and some paintings have been changed, and the teddy bears are largely gone. The ancient elevator remains. It is quite quaint, but it has its moments where you have to take the stairs. This time we were in a king room facing the front, and there is considerable noise from a bar across the street. In the very small bathroom the shower handle and the towel bar both fell off at various times. It was quite warm, and raising the windows was difficult, but a fan brought out from the closet helped. Breakfast is as good as we remembered, but the wine and snacks in the evening disappointed. The one we attended ran out of red wine (it was replaced as we were leaving) but the dip for the vegies and some side dish were never replaced, and we weren't there that late. We never did see any cookies in the cookie jar. We might come back for the price, but if you can afford it, there are better choices in S.F.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Todd O.
Business
Hilton Head Island
Feb 15, 2015

Fantastic leasurly place to stay

My girlfriend and I loved the White Swan. Room was huge for downtown San Francisco Nob Hill area. If you don't know the area you might find yourself walking a lot. The breakfast and happy hour were fantastic and both included in the very reasonable room rate. I would value them at $100 per day. The staff couldn't be more friendly. The White Swan is a hidden treasure on Nob Hill.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
R. W.
Business
N/A
Jan 15, 2015

Eclectic, Fun Experience

The decor was very eclectic, but we loved the 60's retro aspect and music. The delightful breakfast was good. However, the most fun was the free wine offered every evening. Each night during this wine time we met new people from Sweden, Denmark, Australia, Brazil. The connections and discussion with each evenings small intimate group was excellent, and we were only there four nights! The location downtown makes getting around very easy. The only draw back was the comfort of the beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jo Chelle
Business
Brattleboro
Jan 7, 2015

good quaint hotel

this is a wonderful quaint hotel at a good location. just a few blocks away from the trolley and street cars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BonacBelle
Business
East Hampton
Dec 29, 2014

Loved this place! So cozy, and good breakfast, too

This was an incredibly cozy place. Open fireplace, big four-poster bed, a hu-u-ge room, by city standards. The "antique" elevator was fun, too, as was the crazy-quilt of intentionally mismatched wallpaper prints. The free breakfast buffet included in my rate was definitely above parr, too, with hot omelet or eggs with chives, all sorts of pastries, fruit salads, etc etc. If you like non-generic hotels or inns, and you like history, give it a try. I was also impressed with the genuine kindness and friendliness of all the staff I met. They seemed to enjoy working at White Swan, and not to be just faking their smiles.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Two blocks from Union Square, which is a tourist hub, but the White Swan was just off the main drag so you didn't feel like you were staying in a touristy location, per se.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BonacBelle
Business
East Hampton
Dec 16, 2014

Loved this place! So cozy, and good breakfast, too

This was an incredibly cozy place. Open fireplace, big four-poster bed, a hu-u-ge room, by city standards. The "antique" elevator was fun, too, as was the crazy-quilt of intentionally mismatched wallpaper prints. The free breakfast buffet included in my rate was definitely above parr, too, with hot omelet or eggs with chives, all sorts of pastries, fruit salads, etc etc. If you like non-generic hotels or inns, and you like history, give it a try. I was also impressed with the genuine kindness and friendliness of all the staff I met. They seemed to enjoy working at White Swan, and not to be just faking their smiles.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Gigi Jan
Business
Lisle, IL
Aug 21, 2014

San Francisco Vacation

The room and hotel furnishings were a little "beat up" and tacky lending to a dowdy feel. On the up side, the staff was one of the best I have encountered! They couldn't have been more helpful, friendly and accommodating. This hotel seemed to be located on a busy street and we had a room facing the street; therefore, it was noisy at night. By contrast, the "sister" hotel, located 2 doors down, was very upgraded in appearance and furnishings which was puzzling, as both hotels were owned by the same person.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Have the hotel call a shuttle service for the return trip to the airport. It is less expensive than a taxi.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
francio
Business
chicago, il
Aug 17, 2014

Charming and friendly

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at the inn. I thought the room was comfortable and clean. Enjoyed the breakfast buffet and Wine hour. Staff was helpful and friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Toby jo
Business
Minneapolis
Mar 16, 2014

Spring Break 2014

Very friendly and accommodating staff. Noise level in rooms very high with city sounds. Had to sleep with earplugs. Breakfast and wine /cheese buffets were best value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use a MUNI transportation bus and trolley pass to get around.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top