$179 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 16, 2014 Check-out: Nov 17, 2014

White Swan Inn

3 stars
845 Bush St., San Francisco, CA 94108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
38 reviews
Utterly welcoming

A great in-room fireplace. Excellent English breakfast, and afternoon buffet. Relaxing lounge.... See full review

  • San Franc traveler
  • May 31, 2013
Charming and friendly

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at the inn. I thought the room was comfortable and clean. Enjoyed... See full review

  • francio
  • Aug 17, 2014
Best of British charm on Nob Hill

The White Swan Inn in the pleasant Nob Hill District of San Francisco is styled like an old-fashioned London hotel with traditional English Victorian style furnishings and a welcoming and intimate feel. Step back into a more elegant time in a cozy hotel that feels a world away from identikit chain hotels that look the same from coast to coast. The White Swan Inn also offers a complimentary breakfast buffet, tea and cookies, and wine and hors d'oeuvres by the fireplace in the comfortable parlor.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Enjoy tea and freshly baked cookies at the cozy fireside
  • Quaint and traditional English style decor
  • Complimentary gourmet breakfast and selection of drinks and snacks

 

 

The White Swan Inn Hotel Rooms

Built in 1915, the five-floor White Swan Inn provides 26 guest rooms, all furnished and decorated in an individual old-fashioned English style. Rich dark woods feature throughout, and the magnificent grandfather clock in the hotel lobby sets the historic tone. Whether you choose from a deluxe king or queen room, you will be in for a treat as you feast your eyes on teddy bears sitting on the Victorian style two- or four-poster wooden beds amidst a riot of floral wallpaper, wing backed armchairs and classic floral or tartan bedspreads and fabrics. Working gas fireplaces grace every room and the bathrooms feature marble countertops and bathrobes. There are some extra features, too, such as a turndown service that includes chocolates and complimentary beverages, and bottled water in the wet bar. The White Swan Inn has not forgot the 21st century, as satellite televisions and Internet access are available in all rooms, and valet and room services are available (fees apply).

Things To Do:
  • Union Square (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Chinatown (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Financial District (1.3 mi/2.1 km)

Hotel Map

37.7896 -122.4112
Area served
San Francisco.
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport.
Area description
San Francisco's White Swan Inn is located on Bush St. between Mason and Taylor atop Nob Hill, up the hill from Union Square and minutes from the Powell Street Cable Car, the Financial District, Chinatown, North Beach and many of the City's finest restaurants.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed White Swan Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

White Swan Inn Rooms

DELUXE - ROOM
Deluxe Queen room offers one queen bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Telephone, Valet service and Voicemail. This deluxe guestroom with queen bed and fireplace includes gourmet continental breakfast buffet and evening wine and hors d'oeuvres served fireside in the cozy parlor, evening turndown with chocolates, a fireplace, wet bar stocked with complimentary beverages, a sitting area, bathrobes, voicemail with dataport, iron and board, and hairdryer. The White Swan Inn is a non-smoking property.310 Sq ft or 29 Sq meters
DELUXE - ROOM
Deluxe King room offers one king bed with Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Telephone, Valet service and Voicemail. This deluxe guestroom with king bed and fireplace includes gourmet continental breakfast buffet and evening wine and hors d'oeuvres served fireside in the cozy parlor, evening turndown with chocolates, a fireplace, wet bar stocked with complimentary beverages, a sitting area, bathrobes, voicemail with dataport, iron and board, and hairdryer. The White Swan Inn is a non-smoking property.340 Sq ft or 32 Sq meters

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.4 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.5 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.6 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.7 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.8 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.9 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.1 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.2 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.2 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.3 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.3 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.3 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.3 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.4 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.4 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
0300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (38)

Ratings and reviews for White Swan Inn

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
38 out of 38
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.4

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Gigi Jan
Business
Lisle, IL
Aug 21, 2014

San Francisco Vacation

The room and hotel furnishings were a little "beat up" and tacky lending to a dowdy feel. On the up side, the staff was one of the best I have encountered! They couldn't have been more helpful, friendly and accommodating. This hotel seemed to be located on a busy street and we had a room facing the street; therefore, it was noisy at night. By contrast, the "sister" hotel, located 2 doors down, was very upgraded in appearance and furnishings which was puzzling, as both hotels were owned by the same person.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Have the hotel call a shuttle service for the return trip to the airport. It is less expensive than a taxi.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
francio
Business
chicago, il
Aug 17, 2014

Charming and friendly

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at the inn. I thought the room was comfortable and clean. Enjoyed the breakfast buffet and Wine hour. Staff was helpful and friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Toby jo
Business
Minneapolis
Mar 16, 2014

Spring Break 2014

Very friendly and accommodating staff. Noise level in rooms very high with city sounds. Had to sleep with earplugs. Breakfast and wine /cheese buffets were best value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use a MUNI transportation bus and trolley pass to get around.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Off Road
Business
NC
Mar 13, 2014

Great location!

The White Swan Inn was charming! The location was great, not too far from the Bart or Muni or walking to anywhere near Union Square, Nob Hill, the Wharf. We walked everywhere and it was extremely convenient. for all of our needs. The inn is renovating the rooms and they are fresh and clean. The breakfast was more than enough every day and all of the staff were very friendly and attentive to all our needs. We visit San Francisco often and will definitely return here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Wharf at the Embarcadero has a wonderful Farmers Market on Saturday mornings. You should not miss it! It has terrific food and treats to buy and snack on. The shops are great to browse also, a wonderful walking area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sir Henry
Business
Bay Area
Jan 3, 2014

Happy Birthday to Me

Our stay at the White Swan Inn was highlighted by the excellent service from the staff. It began with champagne in the room for my wife's birthday. It continued with an upgrade to a nice room facing the street and lastly we received a bottle of red even though we checked in late and missed the afternoon cheese and wine. The rooms are clean and spacious. If you go for modern stylings than this might not be the place for you but if you like a Victorian setting with a warm comfortable parlor and library, then the inn is for you. Very good value and within walking distance to the theaters, 3 to 4 blocks blocks downhill. Just don't forget that you have to climb uphill to get back to your hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Cheap parking on Leavenworth between Bush and Pine. $10 for 10 hours before 10am. Good option if you plan on leaving the car and walking around the theater district. $15 for oversized vehicles.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GrannyR
Business
Los Angeles
Oct 31, 2013

Charming

If you're looking for relaxed and comfortable, this is it. While the big chains are kind of faceless and sterile, this hotel is warm and friendly. The breakfast buffet was truly outstanding, fluffy eggs, wonderful biscuits and croissants, good hot coffee. I'll stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

French cafe Claude, just off Bush was excellent. Try the roasted duck.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
San Franc traveler
Business
New York, NY
May 31, 2013

Utterly welcoming

A great in-room fireplace. Excellent English breakfast, and afternoon buffet. Relaxing lounge. Friendly and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MrsDotNot
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 25, 2013

Cozy

I really like this charming boutique hotel with its fireplace and fridge in every room. The in-room coffee was quite good and the breakfast was excellent. The evening wine and cheese reception was very welcome. I love all the cozy chairs and decent lighting. I had to knock off a star because the cleaning fluids they use leave a sickening smell -- so much so that I specifically asked the maids to not use it the second day I was there. Even opening the windows didn't help much. I loved that the hot water came very fast, which is very green, but hate the fact that the maids did not follow the very clear guidelines -- leave the card on the pillow and/or the towels on the floor if you want them changed. I did neither yet my towels and sheets were changed. This is such a common occurence that I have stopped expecting anything better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kirk Leap
Business
Dana Point
Feb 7, 2013

Quaint & Homey, Homey !

Room with a fireplace & comfortable bed and a overall ambiance that screams "English Estate" a mini Downton Abbey of sorts. I found myself swigging Single Malts & participating in their tastey breakfast in the morn & wine and snacks in the evening. Staff was very helpful and corteous. Really a cool place in San Fran. Walking distance to the Finacial dist & Embacadero & Chinatown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Yank Sings at the Rincon Center & Kulettos Italian.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of White Swan Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Qatatonic
Business
Orange County, CA
Jan 6, 2013

A delightful stay

I wanted to get a "bed and breakfast" experience with the convenience of a hotel, and this certainly fit the bill. The staff was friendly and helpful, a hearty breakfast was served every morning, with cookies in the lobby, and wine and snacks in the evening. The food wasn't the very best I've ever had, but I am not picky, and I had one less thing I had to think about during my stay. Complimentary water and soda were also available at any time of day. Though most major hotels use key cards these days, I though the actual keys they gave us to the door and our room was nice. I also loved the fireplace in our room; I had it running all night and it really warmed the place up. I also appreciated the free wi-fi. The location was really the best part - I was able to walk or take public transportation to the Wharf, Golden Gate Park, Union Square, and a couple of nice bars and restaurants. The only things I didn't like about staying here were the parking and the work out room. Valet is like $35 a day plus tax, and a 20-30 minute wait. We ended up parking at a garage two city blocks (about a 5 minute walk) down on Stockton. The price is a little cheaper. Just be careful though - we did read some reviews on Yelp about some recent car thefts that took place here, but we were lucky and our car was fine for our 3 day stay. Also, the treadmill and exercise bike they have there are pretty lame. You are better off running around the block a couple times if you want to work out during your stay. Overall though, I thought it was a great experience. I would be happy to stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top