$145 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Warwick San Francisco Hotel

4 stars
View map of 490 Geary St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
56 reviews
Wow! A great deal.

Greeted by nice folks, couldn't be more friendly and helpful. Great restaurant, great bar, really... See full review

  • scibizguy
  • Oct 14, 2014
SF Vaca

Comfortable hotel at a great location and with friendly, helpful staff. Shopping, restaurants, and... See full review

  • Clairbeach
  • Sep 23, 2014
Where History Meets the Moment The Warwick San Francisco is a captivating reflection of the city in which it resides, striking a perfect balance between authentic history and modern hospitality. Ideally located just steps from bustling Union Square and its world-class shopping, theaters and landmark attractions, the Warwick is a residential-style hideaway at the intersection of action and allure. Guests need to venture no further than the lobby for an authentic taste of San Francisco. Aveline, is the Warwicks innovative dining concept by Chef Casey Thompson featuring her soulful new Californian cooking. Just across the elegant lobby, The European, is a stylish and intimate bar serving European influenced cocktails with a local twist. Notably, the Warwick shares the same architect as San Franciscos Coit Tower and City Hall, Arthur Brown Jr. A historic hotel for the modern traveler, the Beaux-Arts style hotel was established in 1913 as The Maryland Hotel and was affectionately called, The House of Sunshine and Hospitality. Throughout the hotels design and service, stories of past and present are told. In its simplicity and grace, The Warwick San Francisco does not dictate the experience of its guests; rather it serves as an elegant backdrop for their own distinct story to unfold.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Warwick San Francisco Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Warwick San Francisco Hotel Rooms

Deluxe
History meets the moment in our re-imagined Deluxe rooms that feature a Queen sized bed with repurposed antique headboard, energy efficient LED lighting , wall mounted flat screen Samsung television, antique armoire, photographs from the turn of the century San Francisco archives, bathrobe and slippers, guest-use mini refrigerator, back-lit vanity mirrors and air conditioning. Some of the rooms feature a window bench perfect for enjoying a book while watching the hustle and bustle of San Francisco Street scene below.
Suite
French doors separate the parlor from the ample sized bedroom in this spacious suite. A built-in custom closet allowing for plenty of extra room in the bedroom, while a comfortable couch and coffee table complete the residential feel of the sitting area. Two full sized bathrooms - one with a stand-up marble shower - and back-lit vanity mirrors, two wall hung swivel flat screen Samsung televisions, Queen sized bed with repurposed antique headboard, energy efficient LED lights , bathrobe and slippers, writing desk, guest-use mini refrigerator and air conditioning make this a comfortable living space.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Accessible parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.3 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.6 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.6 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.6 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.8 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 0.9 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 0.9 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 0.9 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1 mi
  • Japantown: 1 mi
  • Japan Center: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1.1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1.2 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.3 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.5 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.5 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.9 mi
  • Lands End: 1.9 mi

Dining

Aveline
The Warwick San Francisco boasts one of the citys most exciting and innovative restaurant concepts, Aveline by Chef Casey Thompson. The restaurant showcases her soulful, signature bent on new Californian cooking paired with the perfect wine, beer, or cocktail. The intimate setting displays a light, feminine, and approachable design aesthetic that provides a perfect backdrop of cool tones to showcase Caseys vivid dishes and thoughtful composition. The restaurant also features a special chefs table with a birds eye view of the restaurants open kitchen. Signature cocktails created by master bartender, Adam Wilson, are available at Aveline. Open seven days a week for dinner service from 5:30pm-11:00pm and for weekend brunch from 11:00am-2:00pm.
The European
Throughout history, and especially during Prohibition, traditional American cocktail recipes have been taken overseas and imported back with a decidedly European influence. The name reflects this sensibility and style, expertly mixing old with new, as well as a drink menu featuring mostly European spirits including aperitif, champagne, and lower-proof cocktails with a regional twist. The European also features a Now & Then pairing of a contemporary cocktail served alongside a taste of the drink in its vintage form. The dark and rich interior with cozy seating areas entices patrons to connect and mingle over master barmans Adam Wilsons creative cocktails and a fun bar-exclusive menu from Chef Casey Thompson. Open seven days a week from M-Th 5:00pm-12:00am and F-S from 5:00pm-1:00am and for weekend brunch from 11:00am-2:00pm.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Two meeting rooms, each totaling 520 square feet, provide a comfortable seating capacity for 48 people theater-style. Both rooms may be combined to create one large space that seats 120 people theater-style or up to 50 people using U-shaped or conference-style configurations. An exclusive boardroom features an antique English directors table with a hand-tooled leather top. It seats 14 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Warwick San Francisco Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 56
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Warwick San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Business Mom from Ojai
Business
Ojai, CA
Aug 19, 2010

Don't bother

I was extremely dismayed when the sink filled with murky water, the toilet wouldn't stop running, requests for a second bathrobe were ignored, and no one answered the house phone when we needed our car so we had to go to the desk and wait (30 minutes average for $35 extra/night) but more than ANY of these, the fact that no one bothered a simple I'm sorry. A little courtesy could have gone a long way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Warwick San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
tulip lover
Business
Los Angeles
Sep 1, 2012

Dissatisfied

not happy with my stay in that hotel, first i should say i chose that place because its historical which i like the most, and second its 2 or 3 blocks away from union square, the hotel's location is perfect. but the hotel services were bad. NO parking lot, plus you dont even get a discount to park in the public areas close by the hotel, we had to pay $32/ day to park overnight in a public parking, breakfast not included in the stay, NO free internet, you have to pay $15/day to get internet services, so we had to sit at Starbucks next to the hotel to get internet. The room was clean but with torn blankets, the bathroom needs sewer repair, if we left the water open for 2 minutes, it would overflow......The only good thing in that hotel was its location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Bouding bakery and restaurant in fisherman wharf , and Scoma's in Sausalito, they have the best seafood, Scoma's is kind of pricey, but though im fond of sea food, never had such a tasty Salmon anywhere else except @ Scoma's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Warwick San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SDD
Business
Gilbert, Arizona
Mar 19, 2010

The good, the bad and the average!

It's a great location, in the middle of the city. However, cleanliness was our most cocerned; bed sheet was not change during our three days stay. Bath room was even worst leaking fawcet and bath room cabinet smell like rat residue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Warwick San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Josh Sontag
Business
Anchorage
Dec 30, 2010

Good location, mediocre hotel

Great location, didn't like the hotel so much though. Small rooms with awkward positioning of TV. Small bathroom with small bath tub shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Warwick San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sacramento, CA
May 24, 2009

Warwick San Francisco

coffee in room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Warwick San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ricky3167
Business
Boston, MA
Oct 24, 2011

GREAT LOCATION, SO SO SERVICE

I really like the interior design, very retro yet comfortable. The problem is that the sink is not in the bathroom with the shower and the toilet, so it's hard to find a spot to put all our stuff. The tap made a weird noise. The shower could not be screwed tight so there was the sound of dripping all night. The hotel staff was not very helpful. we checked out at noon and put our stuff at the hotel. When we came back for it, it took fifteen minutes to get our stuff. I left a shirt in the room, but they never contacted us for it. A nice hotel, but not on the top list.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Warwick San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dou dou
Business
Oregon, USA
Feb 16, 2012

not very good

Room and bathroom are very small and not very clean. Pillow smell disgusting. I dare not sleep

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Warwick San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Looking for another place
Business
Pennsylvania
Jul 7, 2012

Passable, but some notable problems

We had three problems, two minor and one major. The first was the armoire door would not stay shut and we had to jimmy some paper in it. The second was some incorrect travel advice from the front desk regarding the distance to Yosemite Nat'l Park (s/he said 2 1/2 hours, when it is more like 4). We figured this out before we left luckily and changed our plans. The third was the room was very hot. When we mentioned this, the front desk clerk said this was San Francisco and there is no AC, and that we should open the windows. We did and it helped a little, but we were still on a noisy city street, so it really wasn't a solution. On the positive, the day we left was a holiday and another front desk clerk was very helpful with our getting a package mailed the next day. The staff was very friendly overall. It was very clean as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are into brand name designers and upper end stores, you are very close to Union Square. We walked into an antique store with a chandelier which sells for more than our house.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Warwick San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tool Fan in San Fran
Business
Seattle, Wa
Jul 15, 2010

Trip to SanFran

Great food around every corner. Close to shops and stores. Came to Sanfran to see a concert at Bill Grahm theatre, super close only a mile away. Good walk all throughout the city. REALLY good free cookies..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sushi place up a block and to the left, very delicious, fresh and cheap. Greek little hole-in-the-wall down Geary and down a street, really good gyros and BAKLAVA!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Warwick San Francisco Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Restonian
Business
Reston, VA
Aug 1, 2010

Old-style charm

Location is very convenient to Union Square and Theater District. Service is good and rooms have an old-style charm. No ice or vending machines; they'll deliver ice to your room. No pool or fitness center on site. Wireless internet available in room for a fee, and there's a laptop with free internet available near the lobby. Best if you don't have a car; valet parking is expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Hop-on hop-off tour buses from Union Square, two blocks from the hotel, go to the most-visited parts of the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top