$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

W San Francisco

4 stars
181 3rd Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
106 reviews
Love the W!

Booked a room last minute and couldn't have been happier. The staff was welcoming and accommodating... See full review

  • Snowbound NYC
  • Jan 5, 2014
Great birthday!

We came here to celebrate my sister's 30th birthday and enjoyed our stay. It was conviently located... See full review

  • Channel the greatest sist
  • May 27, 2014
Chic, hip accommodations and on-site spa near Moscone Convention Center

Located in the heart of the SoMa District, San Francisco's W Hotel is modern, sleek and sophisticated. The hotel is neighbors with the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, and sits a block away from the city's famous Yerba Buena gardens. It's also across the street from the Moscone Convention Center, making the on-site XYZ restaurant and bar a great spot for convention-goers and leisure travelers alike. The W Hotel has received LEED Silver certification from the U.S. Green Building Council and features an outpost of the renowned Bliss Spa chain.

Highlights
  • Next-door to the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • Trendy XYZ restaurant and bar
  • 5,000-square-foot Bliss Spa
  • Complimentary Acura MDX shuttle service to anywhere in the city
Rooms

Views of the city skyline and San Francisco Bay come standard in all of the W's 404 rooms, most of which were renovated in 2010 with a sleek Asian theme. Other amenities: Pillow-top beds, 350-thread-count linens, 32-inch flat-screen television, iPod docking station, Bliss body treats and extensive mini bar. All accommodations also offer W's signature pillow menu, from which guests can choose a pillow of their liking. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply). Pets welcome (fees apply).

 

Features

The W Hotel is a stone's throw from two of San Francisco's most iconic cultural institutions: the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art and the Yerba Buena Center for the Performing Arts.

 

Bliss Spa, a 5,000-square-foot facility, features three movie-while-you-manicure nail stations and eight treatment rooms. The space also showcases Bliss trademark touches, including a brownie buffet. SWEAT, the hotel's fitness center, is open 24 hours (fees apply). The hotel also offers complimentary Acura MDX shuttle service to select destinations around town (when available).

Dining

XYZ, the on-site restaurant, serves an upscale spin on traditional California cuisine, while the XYZ Bar heralds an extensive wine list of mostly local wine. For lighter and more portable snacks, the W Cafe, is open until 1:30 a.m. every night.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (35 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (10 minutes walking)
  • BART (15 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Moscone Convention Center
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • Union Square
  • AT&T Park
  • Theater District
Business
  • 12,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 24-hour business center
  • "Great Room" banquet hall has floor-to-ceiling windows
Policies and Fees

Valet parking is available (fees apply). An early departure fee of one night's room and tax applies to guests checking out prior to the departure date confirmed at check-in. Hybrid vehicles are charged a flat parking rate.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

37.7854 -122.4009
Nearby airports
San Francisco Internation Airport, (SFO), 14.00, MI;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W San Francisco also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

W San Francisco Rooms

Wonderful
Description not provided

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
24 hour security
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player
Safe
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.1 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.1 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.8 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.1 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.1 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.8 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Nob Hill: 1 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.2 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.3 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.4 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.5 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Japantown: 1.6 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.6 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.6 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.6 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.7 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.7 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.7 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.9 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (106)

Ratings and reviews for W San Francisco

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
106 out of 106
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maxdout
Pleasanton, ca
Nov 1, 2009

Halloween Night Stay

We checked in very fast, even on Halloween. The staff was very friendly and professional. The room was beautiful- i loved the Buddah in the room. Great view. People who dont have a room key cant just go up to the rooms. I love this because it even though there was a hue club event going on during Halloween night, we didnt hear any noise because only hotel guests have access to the rooms. Room service was really fast - we got our food in 45 minutes (the veggi burger was a little burned). The only real down side to the W is that valet is 45+tax. Other than that we had a great couple stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
beverly hills
Jul 23, 2009

Romantic Weekend

We had a great time at the hotel. I was a little dissapointed to have the room service delivery guy suggest that I should tip more than the 20% + room delivery fee. He then explained that he only got 15% not the 20%. Frankly dropping off food to a room shouldn't get 15% of a $200 breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The Bars at the hotel are fun on the weekend.

Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Renoir M.
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 27, 2010

Late night roomservice

I was on the 20th floor and had a spectacular view of the parks, city and mountains. I loved that roomservice ran very late. The hotel offers driver service which was a treat. Friday and Sat. night the bar off the lobby gets packed with trendy, chic, 20/35 somethings. Most of the surrounding businesses close early. Has a ghost town feel after dark. Most businesses and restaurants are closed on weekends. I liked the bowl of apples in the fitness center. A perfect light snack after a workout.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

I took a guided tour which included a ferryboat and mini van. The Ferry Building is about a 7 blk walk from the hotel. Went to the darling town of Sausalito. Also, don't miss Little Italy or Chinatown.

Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
beverly hills
Jul 23, 2009

Romantic Weekend

We had a great time at the hotel. I was a little dissapointed to have the room service delivery guy suggest that I should tip more than the 20% + room delivery fee. He then explained that he only got 15% not the 20%. Frankly dropping off food to a room shouldn't get 15% of a $200 breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The Bars at the hotel are fun on the weekend.

Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kris H.
Denver, CO
Jul 9, 2012

Beautiful, modern hotel

Lovely hotel, very accommodating staff. Great location near the museums and Union Square, but kind of sleepy at night. In-lobby DJs were a nice touch. Only thing we didn't like about this hotel are the crazy mini-bar prices - $8 for a tonic water, not to mention $12 for the little bit of gin to go with it. Chilly and windy in this part of town (even in July) so make sure to bring long pants and jackets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mangia Tutti Italian restaurant - a 10 minute walk. We were the only ones in there and it was quite romantic.

Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Baton Rouge, LA
Aug 17, 2010

Great Location and Value

The W was such a great location. It was within walking distance of almost everything that we wanted to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a quick and delicious breakfast try Katz Bagels on Mission Street...yummy!

Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Baton Rouge, LA
Aug 17, 2010

Great Location and Value

The W was such a great location. It was within walking distance of almost everything that we wanted to do.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a quick and delicious breakfast try Katz Bagels on Mission Street...yummy!

Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, Texas
Aug 19, 2010

Great location

Just got back from a great trip to SF. The W's location was PERFECT. We were traveling with our teenage daughters and they were able to go and find lots of things to do on their own within walking distance of the hotel. Lots of great restaurants nearby and right next door to the SFMOMA. I can't think of a better location. Ask for a room above the 15th floor for great views of the city. Our room on the 16th had a great view of the bay and the bay bridge. Parking at the hotel is a little steep but if you have a hybrid they give you a $15 discount per day! The lobby area is a great place to hang out although it can get quite busy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Sep 15, 2009

First stay at this hotel

The hotel is across the street from the Moscone Center and the Yerba Buena Park, only a few doors away from SFMOMA, and about a 15-minute walk to the stores around Union Square. The friendly staff and ambiance of the hotel make it a haven for a busy business traveler--but it also would be a great place to stay for an urban vacation because of its convenient location. The food and wine selections at the XYZ Restaurant and bar were excellent, making it possible to dine well without leaving the hotel. Wish list: The desk area in the room needs a bright desk lamp for reading and writing. A hot pot or coffee maker in the room would make it possible to have hot water for tea and coffee at one's leisure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the gift store of the SF Museum of Modern Art.

Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Austin, TX
Sep 30, 2010

Good Hotel but Could be Great

Our overall experience was great. There were only a few issues we had with the stay. The A/C was pitiful. We had it set on 60 and it was still warm in the room. We were visiting during a heat wave but we are from Texas and know that you don't need to keep your A/C set at 60 when it's in the 90s outside. Also, we asked the concierge if he could print off an email for us. He sent us to the business center which would have cost us $7 to print the email. I understand they are there to make money ($5 for a soda from the honor bar) but he was right in front of a computer and it would have taken 2 minutes to let me sign in and print it out. Those are really the only complaints I have. The Bliss products were excellent. The room was spotless when we returned. Great location and overall great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Union Square and get a MUNI pass that lets you ride the MUNI (including Street Cars) for a set price for a set number of days. If you use public transport much during your stay it can keep you from always having to fish around for those dollar bills to pay for your ride.

Back to menu Return to top