$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

W San Francisco

4 stars
181 3rd Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
106 reviews
Love the W!

Booked a room last minute and couldn't have been happier. The staff was welcoming and accommodating... See full review

  • Snowbound NYC
  • Jan 5, 2014
Great birthday!

We came here to celebrate my sister's 30th birthday and enjoyed our stay. It was conviently located... See full review

  • Channel the greatest sist
  • May 27, 2014
Chic, hip accommodations and on-site spa near Moscone Convention Center

Located in the heart of the SoMa District, San Francisco's W Hotel is modern, sleek and sophisticated. The hotel is neighbors with the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, and sits a block away from the city's famous Yerba Buena gardens. It's also across the street from the Moscone Convention Center, making the on-site XYZ restaurant and bar a great spot for convention-goers and leisure travelers alike. The W Hotel has received LEED Silver certification from the U.S. Green Building Council and features an outpost of the renowned Bliss Spa chain.

Highlights
  • Next-door to the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • Trendy XYZ restaurant and bar
  • 5,000-square-foot Bliss Spa
  • Complimentary Acura MDX shuttle service to anywhere in the city
Rooms

Views of the city skyline and San Francisco Bay come standard in all of the W's 404 rooms, most of which were renovated in 2010 with a sleek Asian theme. Other amenities: Pillow-top beds, 350-thread-count linens, 32-inch flat-screen television, iPod docking station, Bliss body treats and extensive mini bar. All accommodations also offer W's signature pillow menu, from which guests can choose a pillow of their liking. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply). Pets welcome (fees apply).

 

Features

The W Hotel is a stone's throw from two of San Francisco's most iconic cultural institutions: the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art and the Yerba Buena Center for the Performing Arts.

 

Bliss Spa, a 5,000-square-foot facility, features three movie-while-you-manicure nail stations and eight treatment rooms. The space also showcases Bliss trademark touches, including a brownie buffet. SWEAT, the hotel's fitness center, is open 24 hours (fees apply). The hotel also offers complimentary Acura MDX shuttle service to select destinations around town (when available).

Dining

XYZ, the on-site restaurant, serves an upscale spin on traditional California cuisine, while the XYZ Bar heralds an extensive wine list of mostly local wine. For lighter and more portable snacks, the W Cafe, is open until 1:30 a.m. every night.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (35 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (10 minutes walking)
  • BART (15 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Moscone Convention Center
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • Union Square
  • AT&T Park
  • Theater District
Business
  • 12,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 24-hour business center
  • "Great Room" banquet hall has floor-to-ceiling windows
Policies and Fees

Valet parking is available (fees apply). An early departure fee of one night's room and tax applies to guests checking out prior to the departure date confirmed at check-in. Hybrid vehicles are charged a flat parking rate.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

W San Francisco Rooms

Wonderful
Description not provided

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
24 hour security
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player
Safe
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Iron
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W San Francisco also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.7854 -122.4009
Nearby airports
San Francisco Internation Airport, (SFO), 14.00, MI;
Area description
City Center

Nearby points of interest

  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.1 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.1 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.8 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.1 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.1 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.8 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Nob Hill: 1 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.2 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.3 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.4 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.5 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Japantown: 1.6 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.6 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.6 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.6 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.7 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.7 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.7 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.9 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (106)

Ratings and reviews for W San Francisco

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
106 out of 106
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
infamous.one
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 28, 2010

W Hotel Experience - San Francisco

The parking situation was not very convenient at all and the hotel charges a $48.00 valet parking fee plus tax if you keep your vehicle in their lot. They do suggest a public parking garage, which can add up to $30.00 a day, but the garage is about 3 to 4 blocks away. I also had a bathtub that did not have a working drain and I was unable to keep bathwater in the tub. For the price, I believe the "W Experience" was not worth it in San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is situated in a great area; only a short walk to great downtown shops and restaurants.

Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento
Aug 9, 2009

Great locale

Family trip to Giants game. Easy walk to the ballpark. Seem to cater to mostly young travelers. At least a couple of soccer teams staying there. Tough trying to sleep from 10 til 12 pm with young adults trying to impress each other. Bring a sound filter

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

C'mon--$45.00 for valet park. Just walk around corner, pay 30 bucks and roll your bags in just like a stew. Better yet, try a parking website (GottaPark) for a better deal

Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
May 13, 2009

Beautiful Hotel But Service Mediocre

Came up for business reasons and booked with Orbitz to save client money. Hotel is beautiful and very well maintained. Rooms are quiet and comfy. Was not there long enough to check out pool area but other associates said it was great. Staff however were not very friendly especially for a hotel of this prestige.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Viktorino
San Francisco
Apr 1, 2013

Overall good experience

For it have been The W I was really expecting a luxury hotel. The hotel itself is nice but nothing too special. The staff I must say were extremely nice and helpful. Very impressed with the friendliness of the staff. Location wise is good if your going to be more in down town. We spent the majority of our trip going to Fishermans Wharf. We had to walk about 10 minutes to get to union square to catch the cable cars which get pretty busy, we waited in line for an hour before we got on. I was there for a weekend with my spouse. They have a nice bar and restaurant to drink at night. The rooms were very clean but a little tight. Our view was amazing, we were facing Oakland bay bridge. Overall I enjoyed the stay there but next time I will definitely stay closer to Fisherman wharf since downtown area is majority for shopping. Chinatown is about a 15 minute walk which wasn't bad at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you plan to ride the cable cars I would highly recommend getting there before 9. The line gets ridiculously long and you'll be standing in line for over an hour.

Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fun young couple
Lake Tahoe
Feb 28, 2012

Now this is a different hotel

Wow, hard to classify this place. I'd like to think I'm fairly hip taking my girlfriend out on the town. There is a fine line though between garish, cheap and cutting edge. I think the look of the place is minimalist with cheap accents bordering on run down. With white walls it's easy to show dirt, the upgraded room certainly could have used some better cleaning of the walls. Overdone perfume in the elevator, no doorman at 5:00 when we checked in. Parking is super easy at $30 a night just around the corner on 3rd st. Couldn't find a valet out front anyway. The workout and pool area are fantastic. Lots of people hanging out at night for the brutally expensive drinks but the layout does not lend itself to dancing. There are many clubs an easy walk down the way. Clean confortable bedding and I liked the location with a short walk to Union Square. Amber is a great Indian restaurant nearby. Used the hotel Acura service for the free drive to Beach Blanket Babylon which was as good as it gets. A $15 taxi ride with tip back to the hotel. I'd look for another hotel in the area for next time. Not worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Eve has good dancing with only a $5 cover as opposed to a $20 cover elsewhere. Brought our own bottles of wine and drank before going so it only cost $10. Ate at Sotto Mare (seafood only) for lunch good but pricey, the all you can eat Sushi near Beach Blanket Babylon was not good enough to recommend - too much rice in everything. Amber rocked! Bring the fat wallet and give the appetizer sampler a try, unbelievable. Have a great trip everyone, thanks for all the other reviews! Oh best tip ever - bought kites at The Kite Shop in Chinatown. Get 1 sport kite, beginner model and go to North Beach free parking and fly kites! The girl loved it and a sport kite made it way more fun.

Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Apr 20, 2010

Great service, OK rooms & location.

[...] is the best concierge ever!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle
Sep 28, 2009

SF Wedding trip

Not family friendly. Kind of a meat market. :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Do the Alcatraz thing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Joshua L
Business
New York, NY
Apr 15, 2014

a night at the W

Hotel was adequate for my needs, one night stay on business trip. The water pressure in the shower was very poor, and definitely needs to be addressed. My main complaint was the construction, which was directly below my 4th floor window. I woke up to the sound of banging pipes at 8am. I understand that some rooms would be affected by noise during construction, though if there was another room to place me in, they should have. I do not know if they were at capacity that night, though it seemed very quiet. Room was clean, no other complaints. Not sure if I would stay there again though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Apr 20, 2010

Great service, OK rooms & location.

[...] is the best concierge ever!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Canada
Jul 21, 2009

Style, with no substance

The concierge was extremely helpful. The rest of the staff were not. W's "Whatever, Whenever" should be renamed to "Nothing, Never." Had to pay 15$ a day for internet, which is unreasonable. No coffee available, ordering coffee for two in the morning cost us 20$. These basic amenities shou.d be free at any and every hotel. The room was great, however, the bathroom left a lot to be desired. Overall, i don't think that I would stay here again. While I was there I also learnt that the hotel was recently sold at a big loss. Go figure!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

California Academy of Sciences!! Definitely the best thing to do in San Francisco!!

Back to menu Return to top