$236 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 5, 2014 Check-out: Oct 6, 2014

W San Francisco

4 stars
181 3rd Street, 181 3rd Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
64 reviews
great experience!

The room I was in was very clean and the staff was courteous. See full review

  • Kslim95501
  • Jul 31, 2014
Love the W!

Booked a room last minute and couldn't have been happier. The staff was welcoming and accommodating... See full review

  • Snowbound NYC
  • Jan 5, 2014
Chic, hip accommodations and on-site spa near Moscone Convention Center

Located in the heart of the SoMa District, San Francisco's W Hotel is modern, sleek and sophisticated. The hotel is neighbors with the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, and sits a block away from the city's famous Yerba Buena gardens. It's also across the street from the Moscone Convention Center, making the on-site XYZ restaurant and bar a great spot for convention-goers and leisure travelers alike. The W Hotel has received LEED Silver certification from the U.S. Green Building Council and features an outpost of the renowned Bliss Spa chain.

Highlights
  • Next-door to the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • Trendy XYZ restaurant and bar
  • 5,000-square-foot Bliss Spa
  • Complimentary Acura MDX shuttle service to anywhere in the city
Rooms

Views of the city skyline and San Francisco Bay come standard in all of the W's 404 rooms, most of which were renovated in 2010 with a sleek Asian theme. Other amenities: Pillow-top beds, 350-thread-count linens, 32-inch flat-screen television, iPod docking station, Bliss body treats and extensive mini bar. All accommodations also offer W's signature pillow menu, from which guests can choose a pillow of their liking. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply). Pets welcome (fees apply).

 

Features

The W Hotel is a stone's throw from two of San Francisco's most iconic cultural institutions: the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art and the Yerba Buena Center for the Performing Arts.

 

Bliss Spa, a 5,000-square-foot facility, features three movie-while-you-manicure nail stations and eight treatment rooms. The space also showcases Bliss trademark touches, including a brownie buffet. SWEAT, the hotel's fitness center, is open 24 hours (fees apply). The hotel also offers complimentary Acura MDX shuttle service to select destinations around town (when available).

Dining

XYZ, the on-site restaurant, serves an upscale spin on traditional California cuisine, while the XYZ Bar heralds an extensive wine list of mostly local wine. For lighter and more portable snacks, the W Cafe, is open until 1:30 a.m. every night.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (35 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (10 minutes walking)
  • BART (15 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Moscone Convention Center
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • Union Square
  • AT&T Park
  • Theater District
Business
  • 12,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 24-hour business center
  • "Great Room" banquet hall has floor-to-ceiling windows
Policies and Fees

Valet parking is available (fees apply). An early departure fee of one night's room and tax applies to guests checking out prior to the departure date confirmed at check-in. Hybrid vehicles are charged a flat parking rate.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

37.7854 -122.4009
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
Norman Y. Mineta San Jose International Airport, (SJC), 62.76, KM; Metropolitan Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 19.31, KM; San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 17.70, KM;
Area description
City Center, City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W San Francisco also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

W San Francisco Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
DVD player
Safe
Telephone
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Iron
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.1 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.1 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.8 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.1 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.1 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.8 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Nob Hill: 1 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.2 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.3 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.4 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.5 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Japantown: 1.6 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.6 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.6 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.6 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.7 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.7 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.7 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.9 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 2 mi

Dining

Living Room Bar
Sip. Sample. Socialize. Mix and mingle in an intoxicating space filled with vibrant lights, tunes, and hues. Indulge in a signature cocktail or try a premier local or international beer, pairing it with locally-sourced cuisine from Trace Restaurant.
TRACE
Traceable ingredients. Bold dishes. Conscious cuisine. TRACE captures the vibrant local personality of the Bay Area with its visionary take on socially responsible eating.
Upstairs Bar
Stop in for a sip at the Upstairs Bar. Situated on the mezzanine, overlooking the lively restaurant below, this dynamic space fuses signature cocktails with top-shelf liquors and intoxicating energy.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (64)

Ratings and reviews for W San Francisco

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
64 out of 64
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gemars
Tucson, AZ
Jul 3, 2012

I would stay here again and again.

Great room, good view, nice bathroom, comfortable bed, nice furniture. Desk is comfy, lots of power outlets. Free coffee each morning downstairs. Food at the Trace restaurant is good, but not great. Service, however, was exceptional. Location was convenient to Chinatown, shopping, Pier 39, Fisherman's Wharf, Market Street, Cal Trains, Bart.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk west on 3rd, turn south on Market and 50 premium stores are within 2 blocks. West on Grant, and Chinatown is only an additional 4 blocks....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
W Hotel fan
Chicago, IL
Aug 25, 2009

Very very disapponting

Bloody handtowels. Rude and incompetant valet service. Unfriendly and unprofessional staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Seattle guy
Seattle, WA
May 24, 2009

Expensive with costly add-ons

Spiffy hotel and quiet room, but the added charges were extremely irritating. Basic internet service costs $15/night, a pot of coffee in the morning was $25, and I splurged on using a half-bottle of champagne from the in-room bar (for which it was impossible for me tell from the information what the cost would be) which ended up being an outlandish $80. This was my first, and last, time staying at a W.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
R Parrish
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Mar 12, 2012

Worst hotel experience ever!

I spent 2 nights with my wife at this place. I am 35 and she is 34. The 1st issue we had was that the hotel lobby was a nightclub full of an odd-looking group of party-goers. I could barely hear the front desk clerk as we spoke face-to-face about my reservation. The bass from the techno music rocked the lobby. The hotel room I paid for wasn't what I was given. I paid for an upgraded room on a high floor with a view of the bay. It was dark outside when we arrived and we didnt notice that our view was the opposite direction of the bay. The next day we had to pack and move to the room we originally paid for. The 2nd night was awful. Somebody was throwing a birthday party in the room next to us and we heard over 20 drunk party-goers shouting, fighting, and screaming. Somebody from the front desk called our room at 3am saying there was a female in the lobby who wanted access to my room. This was NOT COOL. My wife was laying right next to me. I called the front desk to complain but the noise continued until 4am. My wife and I never slept. Upon check-out, they added a $30 mud mask charge to our bill. We never used any of the obnoxiously-priced bathroom toiletries. I complained to the manager, Jose, but all he offered me was a refund for my valet parking. I will never stay at the "W Hotel" ever again and I will go out of my way to steer any customers from that place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TBSChicago
Business
San Francisco, CA
Feb 7, 2011

missing the basics

I stayed at the hotel during a meeting at the Mascone Center in San Francisco. It is located right across the street from the convention center and convient to most destinations in the fincial district. My problem with the hotel is that once you get past the "Vibe" you have an expensive hotel that nickels and dimes you for everything. WiFi and coffee cost extra, ShoTime was a movieless version? I have stayed at the W in Dallas and Chicago as well. I like the edgy atmosphere and I have no problem paying for that but WiFi in 2011? C'mon...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to the Museum of Modern Art and a cable car ride to the Castro District.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AshtonSchmidt
Seattle, WA
Aug 16, 2010

Won't be back...

This wasn't a great experience for the three of us. We booked through [...] which apparently the W Hotel does not work with, or so said the young man at the front desk. First he informed me that we had been booked into a room with a wonderful king-sized bed. That is great but not so much when you're traveling with your ten year old. He kept saying they were booked and had no available rooms. Really? Because my [...] paperwork says there are two adults and 1 child booked into a room with 2 beds. Bottom line, they would find us a room and call us when it was ready. I gave them both our cell numbers and we took off for the Exploratorium. Arriving back at the hotel after 5:00, we had not heard from them and had no idea if we had a room or not. Luckily we did but I did not pay to be lied to by W Hotel staff when they messed up our reservation. I will not be back to this location again. Yes, I will visit San Francisco, but my lodging will be somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle
Sep 28, 2009

SF Wedding trip

Not family friendly. Kind of a meat market. :(

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Do the Alcatraz thing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Joshua L
Business
New York, NY
Apr 15, 2014

a night at the W

Hotel was adequate for my needs, one night stay on business trip. The water pressure in the shower was very poor, and definitely needs to be addressed. My main complaint was the construction, which was directly below my 4th floor window. I woke up to the sound of banging pipes at 8am. I understand that some rooms would be affected by noise during construction, though if there was another room to place me in, they should have. I do not know if they were at capacity that night, though it seemed very quiet. Room was clean, no other complaints. Not sure if I would stay there again though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Canada
Jul 21, 2009

Style, with no substance

The concierge was extremely helpful. The rest of the staff were not. W's "Whatever, Whenever" should be renamed to "Nothing, Never." Had to pay 15$ a day for internet, which is unreasonable. No coffee available, ordering coffee for two in the morning cost us 20$. These basic amenities shou.d be free at any and every hotel. The room was great, however, the bathroom left a lot to be desired. Overall, i don't think that I would stay here again. While I was there I also learnt that the hotel was recently sold at a big loss. Go figure!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

California Academy of Sciences!! Definitely the best thing to do in San Francisco!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
infamous.one
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 28, 2010

W Hotel Experience - San Francisco

The parking situation was not very convenient at all and the hotel charges a $48.00 valet parking fee plus tax if you keep your vehicle in their lot. They do suggest a public parking garage, which can add up to $30.00 a day, but the garage is about 3 to 4 blocks away. I also had a bathtub that did not have a working drain and I was unable to keep bathwater in the tub. For the price, I believe the "W Experience" was not worth it in San Francisco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is situated in a great area; only a short walk to great downtown shops and restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento
Aug 9, 2009

Great locale

Family trip to Giants game. Easy walk to the ballpark. Seem to cater to mostly young travelers. At least a couple of soccer teams staying there. Tough trying to sleep from 10 til 12 pm with young adults trying to impress each other. Bring a sound filter

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

C'mon--$45.00 for valet park. Just walk around corner, pay 30 bucks and roll your bags in just like a stew. Better yet, try a parking website (GottaPark) for a better deal

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search