$194 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 2, 2015 Check-out: Apr 5, 2015

W San Francisco

4 stars
View map of 181 3rd Street, 181 3rd Street, San Francisco, CA 94103

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for W San Francisco

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Island, NY
Aug 21, 2010

San Francisco Trip-8/10

Loved the free car service to local areas. Concierge Desk very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Not much nightlife in the area except for at the Hotel. The bar did get very crowded.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Sep 27, 2010

Fabulous location for the price!

Great check-in experience. Best price I could find for a close to Market street and Folsom street location. Rooms could be a little larger - then again, who needs to stay in their room while in an wonderful city! ... great value for the size. Excellent service from the bar staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Sep 27, 2010

The W Never Fails to Impress

I stayed at the W during my recent visit to San Francisco. I always like the W as they are always located centrally and have a modern look and feel. This one was no exception. The staff was very friendly through out the weekend. The concierge was very helpful with restaurant recommendations and fun nightlife. The hotel was located pretty central where it was walkable to a lot of nightlife, shopping, and tourist areas. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a younger modern crowd who enjoys going out. The hotel is always pretty high energy with loud music so probably not the best if you want a quiet hotel. The size of the room was good and it felt clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KarenMD
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 2, 2014

Hip hotel in a great location

Came to San Fran for the Labor Day Weekend. The staff were friendly immediately and our room was ready when we got there in the late morning. The room is cute with all the usual stuff including Bliss spa products. I love the glowing Buddha in the room with the metaphysical message of good will. My complaints are that our view was a post apocalyptic scene (construction site), we could clearly hear our neighbors music playing in the morning, there is no coffee in the room, you have to pay for WiFi (!!!) and the bathroom door is a frosted glass sliding door, whereas I prefer a regular old fashioned door that one can actually shut and have a minute of privacy. I don't know why so many hotels are doing this with the bathrooms these days, but when you're traveling with an acquaintance rather than an intimate partner, it's kind of uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
M estel
Business
SAN ANTONIO
Dec 29, 2014

Great Location

Close to hop on hop off bus. Walking distance to everything. Room is ok. Could have had a nicer view. My room was facing a bridge thats being renovated, so theres really nothing to look at. The bed was comfortable but it ouch deb better for the price were paying. Decor is hip and modern. There's a DJ for brunch! Where else can you find that? Only in SAN FRANCISCO!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
M estel
Business
SAN ANTONIO
Dec 19, 2014

Great Location

Close to hop on hop off bus. Walking distance to everything. Room is ok. Could have had a nicer view. My room was facing a bridge thats being renovated, so theres really nothing to look at. The bed was comfortable but it ouch deb better for the price were paying. Decor is hip and modern. There's a DJ for brunch! Where else can you find that? Only in SAN FRANCISCO!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Joshua L
Business
New York, NY
Apr 15, 2014

a night at the W

Hotel was adequate for my needs, one night stay on business trip. The water pressure in the shower was very poor, and definitely needs to be addressed. My main complaint was the construction, which was directly below my 4th floor window. I woke up to the sound of banging pipes at 8am. I understand that some rooms would be affected by noise during construction, though if there was another room to place me in, they should have. I do not know if they were at capacity that night, though it seemed very quiet. Room was clean, no other complaints. Not sure if I would stay there again though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Canada
Jul 21, 2009

Style, with no substance

The concierge was extremely helpful. The rest of the staff were not. W's "Whatever, Whenever" should be renamed to "Nothing, Never." Had to pay 15$ a day for internet, which is unreasonable. No coffee available, ordering coffee for two in the morning cost us 20$. These basic amenities shou.d be free at any and every hotel. The room was great, however, the bathroom left a lot to be desired. Overall, i don't think that I would stay here again. While I was there I also learnt that the hotel was recently sold at a big loss. Go figure!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

California Academy of Sciences!! Definitely the best thing to do in San Francisco!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fun young couple
Business
Lake Tahoe
Feb 28, 2012

Now this is a different hotel

Wow, hard to classify this place. I'd like to think I'm fairly hip taking my girlfriend out on the town. There is a fine line though between garish, cheap and cutting edge. I think the look of the place is minimalist with cheap accents bordering on run down. With white walls it's easy to show dirt, the upgraded room certainly could have used some better cleaning of the walls. Overdone perfume in the elevator, no doorman at 5:00 when we checked in. Parking is super easy at $30 a night just around the corner on 3rd st. Couldn't find a valet out front anyway. The workout and pool area are fantastic. Lots of people hanging out at night for the brutally expensive drinks but the layout does not lend itself to dancing. There are many clubs an easy walk down the way. Clean confortable bedding and I liked the location with a short walk to Union Square. Amber is a great Indian restaurant nearby. Used the hotel Acura service for the free drive to Beach Blanket Babylon which was as good as it gets. A $15 taxi ride with tip back to the hotel. I'd look for another hotel in the area for next time. Not worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Eve has good dancing with only a $5 cover as opposed to a $20 cover elsewhere. Brought our own bottles of wine and drank before going so it only cost $10. Ate at Sotto Mare (seafood only) for lunch good but pricey, the all you can eat Sushi near Beach Blanket Babylon was not good enough to recommend - too much rice in everything. Amber rocked! Bring the fat wallet and give the appetizer sampler a try, unbelievable. Have a great trip everyone, thanks for all the other reviews! Oh best tip ever - bought kites at The Kite Shop in Chinatown. Get 1 sport kite, beginner model and go to North Beach free parking and fly kites! The girl loved it and a sport kite made it way more fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Viktorino
Business
San Francisco
Apr 1, 2013

Overall good experience

For it have been The W I was really expecting a luxury hotel. The hotel itself is nice but nothing too special. The staff I must say were extremely nice and helpful. Very impressed with the friendliness of the staff. Location wise is good if your going to be more in down town. We spent the majority of our trip going to Fishermans Wharf. We had to walk about 10 minutes to get to union square to catch the cable cars which get pretty busy, we waited in line for an hour before we got on. I was there for a weekend with my spouse. They have a nice bar and restaurant to drink at night. The rooms were very clean but a little tight. Our view was amazing, we were facing Oakland bay bridge. Overall I enjoyed the stay there but next time I will definitely stay closer to Fisherman wharf since downtown area is majority for shopping. Chinatown is about a 15 minute walk which wasn't bad at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you plan to ride the cable cars I would highly recommend getting there before 9. The line gets ridiculously long and you'll be standing in line for over an hour.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top