$215 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 5, 2015 Check-out: Jun 7, 2015

W San Francisco

4 stars
View map of 181 3rd Street, 181 3rd Street, San Francisco, CA 94103

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for W San Francisco

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Princess Laura
Business
Harbor Springs, MI
Nov 2, 2010

Coonference comfort

Staff very responsive, helpful. "Whatever, whenever" is great program. Location was the best for our conference and sight-seeing. Terrific view! Love the modern, playful feel - and the bar makes a mean Lemon Drop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Tadich's.

Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Oct 27, 2010

Great location for Moscone Covention

Attend convention

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, HI
Oct 22, 2010

A+ location at convention center

Great location next to Moscone Convention Center. Room was a good size. Clean. Bathroom above average. Pillows very comfortable. Parking about $54 per day but valets were great. Exercise gym small but good. Great treadmills with TV monitor on machine. Staff friendly and competent. I would recommend this hotel if you are attending a convention at Moscone Center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Sep 30, 2010

Good Hotel but Could be Great

Our overall experience was great. There were only a few issues we had with the stay. The A/C was pitiful. We had it set on 60 and it was still warm in the room. We were visiting during a heat wave but we are from Texas and know that you don't need to keep your A/C set at 60 when it's in the 90s outside. Also, we asked the concierge if he could print off an email for us. He sent us to the business center which would have cost us $7 to print the email. I understand they are there to make money ($5 for a soda from the honor bar) but he was right in front of a computer and it would have taken 2 minutes to let me sign in and print it out. Those are really the only complaints I have. The Bliss products were excellent. The room was spotless when we returned. Great location and overall great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Union Square and get a MUNI pass that lets you ride the MUNI (including Street Cars) for a set price for a set number of days. If you use public transport much during your stay it can keep you from always having to fish around for those dollar bills to pay for your ride.

Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Sep 27, 2010

Fabulous location for the price!

Great check-in experience. Best price I could find for a close to Market street and Folsom street location. Rooms could be a little larger - then again, who needs to stay in their room while in an wonderful city! ... great value for the size. Excellent service from the bar staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Sep 27, 2010

The W Never Fails to Impress

I stayed at the W during my recent visit to San Francisco. I always like the W as they are always located centrally and have a modern look and feel. This one was no exception. The staff was very friendly through out the weekend. The concierge was very helpful with restaurant recommendations and fun nightlife. The hotel was located pretty central where it was walkable to a lot of nightlife, shopping, and tourist areas. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a younger modern crowd who enjoys going out. The hotel is always pretty high energy with loud music so probably not the best if you want a quiet hotel. The size of the room was good and it felt clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Sep 7, 2010

Lovely Hotel

Loaction was great and the room was very nice. Would visit agaian

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco
Sep 7, 2010

Lovely Hotel

Loaction was great and the room was very nice. Would visit agaian

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vicas
Business
Mexico City, Mexico
Aug 23, 2010

W San Francisco

Best place to stay in town, Fascinating & exclusive, with its own disc jockey, it's Gorgeous!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the weekend pass for cablecars & buses to visit most of the greatest places in SFO...Don't miss the Japanese Tea Garden... a piece of art!

Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Island, NY
Aug 21, 2010

San Francisco Trip-8/10

Loved the free car service to local areas. Concierge Desk very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Not much nightlife in the area except for at the Hotel. The bar did get very crowded.

Back to menu Return to top