W San Francisco ★★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$224
avg/night
Rate and special offer based on
Check-in: Feb 19, 2016 Check-out: Feb 21, 2016

Worst hotel experience ever!

Would not recommend Mon, Mar 12, 2012
I spent 2 nights with my wife at this place. I am 35 and she is 34. The 1st issue we had was that the hotel lobby was a nightclub full of an odd-looking group of party-goers. I could barely hear the front desk clerk as we spoke face-to-face about my reservation. The bass from the techno music rocked the lobby. The hotel room I paid for wasn't what I was given. I paid for an upgraded room on a high floor with a view of the bay. It was dark outside when we arrived and we didnt notice that our view was the opposite direction of the bay. The next day we had to pack and move to the room we originally paid for. The 2nd night was awful. Somebody was throwing a birthday party in the room next to us and we heard over 20 drunk party-goers shouting, fighting, and screaming. Somebody from the front desk called our room at 3am saying there was a female in the lobby who wanted access to my room. This was NOT COOL. My wife was laying right next to me. I called the front desk to complain but the noise continued until 4am. My wife and I never slept. Upon check-out, they added a $30 mud mask charge to our bill. We never used any of the obnoxiously-priced bathroom toiletries. I complained to the manager, Jose, but all he offered me was a refund for my valet parking. I will never stay at the "W Hotel" ever again and I will go out of my way to steer any customers from that place.

| Las Vegas, NV, USA Couples

1 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 1 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

Now this is a different hotel

Would not recommend Tue, Feb 28, 2012
Wow, hard to classify this place. I'd like to think I'm fairly hip taking my girlfriend out on the town. There is a fine line though between garish, cheap and cutting edge. I think the look of the place is minimalist with cheap accents bordering on run down. With white walls it's easy to show dirt, the upgraded room certainly could have used some better cleaning of the walls. Overdone perfume in the elevator, no doorman at 5:00 when we checked in. Parking is super easy at $30 a night just around the corner on 3rd st. Couldn't find a valet out front anyway. The workout and pool area are fantastic. Lots of people hanging out at night for the brutally expensive drinks but the layout does not lend itself to dancing. There are many clubs an easy walk down the way. Clean confortable bedding and I liked the location with a short walk to Union Square. Amber is a great Indian restaurant nearby. Used the hotel Acura service for the free drive to Beach Blanket Babylon which was as good as it gets. A $15 taxi ride with tip back to the hotel. I'd look for another hotel in the area for next time. Not worth the money.

Nightlife hint

Eve has good dancing with only a $5 cover as opposed to a $20 cover elsewhere. Brought our own bottles of wine and drank before going so it only cost $10. Ate at Sotto Mare (seafood only) for lunch good but pricey, the all you can eat Sushi near Beach Blanket Babylon was not good enough to recommend - too much rice in everything. Amber rocked! Bring the fat wallet and give the appetizer sampler a try, unbelievable. Have a great trip everyone, thanks for all the other reviews! Oh best tip ever - bought kites at The Kite Shop in Chinatown. Get 1 sport kite, beginner model and go to North Beach free parking and fly kites! The girl loved it and a sport kite made it way more fun.

| Lake Tahoe Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 2 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Simply the best

Would recommend Sat, Jul 9, 2011
The W, though pricey, was absolutely fantastic. Our service was top-notch, our linens clean, and our view spectacular. Had the XYZ bar not been under construction, this hotel would be complete.

Dining

Fisherman's warf is a waste of time!

| Chicago, IL Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Enjoyed the W experience at my own will.

Would recommend Sat, Apr 30, 2011
I was impressed by the tranquil ambiance from the time we entered the front lobby and met sum pleasant curteous staff. I don't recall seeing any other staff during our 3day stsy (not even any housekeeping staff in the hallways any of the times we did walk to and from our suite. The elevators and hallways were dimly lit; each elevator was lit different colors. We entered our suite and we were both happy with the furniture, decor, and how comfotable we were from the start. We had a view of part of this interesting building which called us outdoors to see more of the magnificence from different levels alllowing us to also view some of the city that we would later see on street level. Before returning to our suite we passed through an outdoor area decorated with linen(?) tent-like shelter if U choose. This led us to another of my favorite things about The W; The pool area was empty (I don't know why). I ended up spending much of my time here. I enjoyed the comfortable yet sturdy furniture, I swam in the warm, clean pool, and relaxed in the hot tub as well. The cozy atmosphere was also due to the plants and foliage making the atmosphere feel like a tropical paradise. There was also a stereo system that completed it for me. I enjoyed the choice of music, volume, and as much time as I did spend out there, I still wondered why wasn't any hotel staff seen anywhere? I ended spending a good amount of time in this pool area by myself which was exactly what I needed. One of the evenings during our stay we went downstairs for a couple drinks and maybe some apetizers. I think the watering hole was called the Y or XYZ(?) It may not even be part of the W. It felt so different as we entered into an overly crowded and pretentious bar (I guess) that we chose not to stay after waiting too long for our drinks that were served by one employee who seemed to lack tact and charm. It may have been the wrong day, time, or something else. Whatever the case was the few other employees seemed to not want to be there either or maybe they just wanted not to have sob many people to serve.

Shopping hint

If you enjoy a place with ambiance, attention to detail and clss you might enjoy The W as much as I did.

| Redwood city, CA. Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

missing the basics

Would not recommend Mon, Feb 7, 2011
I stayed at the hotel during a meeting at the Mascone Center in San Francisco. It is located right across the street from the convention center and convient to most destinations in the fincial district. My problem with the hotel is that once you get past the "Vibe" you have an expensive hotel that nickels and dimes you for everything. WiFi and coffee cost extra, ShoTime was a movieless version? I have stayed at the W in Dallas and Chicago as well. I like the edgy atmosphere and I have no problem paying for that but WiFi in 2011? C'mon...

Attractions

Very close to the Museum of Modern Art and a cable car ride to the Castro District.

| San Francisco, CA Business

2 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Great Fun and Nice Staff

Would recommend Sun, Nov 21, 2010
Went to see a show at at local theater. The first room was not nice so they upgraded us to an upper floor with not the best bed configuration-but it was fine

| Berkeley, CA Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

5 Stars for half the cost! Thank you.

Would recommend Thu, Nov 18, 2010
While in San Fran for business, I spent a lot of time at the xyz bar in the lobby of the W. Great hotel, five stars. Thank you for a nice stay.

Dining

Burger Bar at Macy's

| Chicago Business

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Coonference comfort

Would recommend Tue, Nov 2, 2010
Staff very responsive, helpful. "Whatever, whenever" is great program. Location was the best for our conference and sight-seeing. Terrific view! Love the modern, playful feel - and the bar makes a mean Lemon Drop.

Dining

Try Tadich's.

| Harbor Springs, MI Business

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Great location for Moscone Covention

Would recommend Wed, Oct 27, 2010
Attend convention

| Phoenix, AZ Business

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

A+ location at convention center

Would recommend Fri, Oct 22, 2010
Great location next to Moscone Convention Center. Room was a good size. Clean. Bathroom above average. Pillows very comfortable. Parking about $54 per day but valets were great. Exercise gym small but good. Great treadmills with TV monitor on machine. Staff friendly and competent. I would recommend this hotel if you are attending a convention at Moscone Center.

| Honolulu, HI Business

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5