$204 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 20, 2014 Check-out: Nov 21, 2014

W San Francisco

4 stars
181 3rd Street, 181 3rd Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
64 reviews
great experience!

The room I was in was very clean and the staff was courteous. See full review

  • Kslim95501
  • Jul 31, 2014
Love the W!

Booked a room last minute and couldn't have been happier. The staff was welcoming and accommodating... See full review

  • Snowbound NYC
  • Jan 5, 2014
Chic, hip accommodations and on-site spa near Moscone Convention Center

Located in the heart of the SoMa District, San Francisco's W Hotel is modern, sleek and sophisticated. The hotel is neighbors with the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, and sits a block away from the city's famous Yerba Buena gardens. It's also across the street from the Moscone Convention Center, making the on-site XYZ restaurant and bar a great spot for convention-goers and leisure travelers alike. The W Hotel has received LEED Silver certification from the U.S. Green Building Council and features an outpost of the renowned Bliss Spa chain.

Highlights
  • Next-door to the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • Trendy XYZ restaurant and bar
  • 5,000-square-foot Bliss Spa
  • Complimentary Acura MDX shuttle service to anywhere in the city
Rooms

Views of the city skyline and San Francisco Bay come standard in all of the W's 404 rooms, most of which were renovated in 2010 with a sleek Asian theme. Other amenities: Pillow-top beds, 350-thread-count linens, 32-inch flat-screen television, iPod docking station, Bliss body treats and extensive mini bar. All accommodations also offer W's signature pillow menu, from which guests can choose a pillow of their liking. Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access are available in all rooms (fees apply). Pets welcome (fees apply).

 

Features

The W Hotel is a stone's throw from two of San Francisco's most iconic cultural institutions: the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art and the Yerba Buena Center for the Performing Arts.

 

Bliss Spa, a 5,000-square-foot facility, features three movie-while-you-manicure nail stations and eight treatment rooms. The space also showcases Bliss trademark touches, including a brownie buffet. SWEAT, the hotel's fitness center, is open 24 hours (fees apply). The hotel also offers complimentary Acura MDX shuttle service to select destinations around town (when available).

Dining

XYZ, the on-site restaurant, serves an upscale spin on traditional California cuisine, while the XYZ Bar heralds an extensive wine list of mostly local wine. For lighter and more portable snacks, the W Cafe, is open until 1:30 a.m. every night.

Transportation
  • San Francisco International Airport (40 minutes)
  • Oakland International Airport (35 minutes)
  • Cable car stops (10 minutes walking)
  • BART (15 minutes walking)
  • MUNI bus (5 minutes walking)
Attractions
  • Moscone Convention Center
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
  • Union Square
  • AT&T Park
  • Theater District
Business
  • 12,000 square feet of meeting space
  • 24-hour business center
  • "Great Room" banquet hall has floor-to-ceiling windows
Policies and Fees

Valet parking is available (fees apply). An early departure fee of one night's room and tax applies to guests checking out prior to the departure date confirmed at check-in. Hybrid vehicles are charged a flat parking rate.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

37.7854 -122.4009
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
Norman Y. Mineta San Jose International Airport, (SJC), 62.76, KM; Metropolitan Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 19.31, KM; San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 17.70, KM;
Area description
City Center, Urban

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W San Francisco also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

W San Francisco Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Express check in
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
DVD player
Safe
Telephone
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Iron
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.1 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.1 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.8 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.8 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.1 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.1 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.1 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Union Square: 0.4 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • ATT Park: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.7 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.8 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.8 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.9 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Nob Hill: 1 mi
  • Civic Centre: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Octagon House: 1.2 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.2 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.2 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.3 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.4 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.4 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.5 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.5 mi
  • Japantown: 1.6 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.6 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.6 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.6 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.7 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.7 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.7 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.7 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.8 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.9 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.9 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 2 mi

Dining

Living Room Bar
Sip. Sample. Socialize. Mix and mingle in an intoxicating space filled with vibrant lights, tunes, and hues. Indulge in a signature cocktail or try a premier local or international beer, pairing it with locally-sourced cuisine from Trace Restaurant.
TRACE
Traceable ingredients. Bold dishes. Conscious cuisine. TRACE captures the vibrant local personality of the Bay Area with its visionary take on socially responsible eating.
Upstairs Bar
Stop in for a sip at the Upstairs Bar. Situated on the mezzanine, overlooking the lively restaurant below, this dynamic space fuses signature cocktails with top-shelf liquors and intoxicating energy.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (64)

Ratings and reviews for W San Francisco

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
64 out of 64
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KarenMD
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 2, 2014

Hip hotel in a great location

Came to San Fran for the Labor Day Weekend. The staff were friendly immediately and our room was ready when we got there in the late morning. The room is cute with all the usual stuff including Bliss spa products. I love the glowing Buddha in the room with the metaphysical message of good will. My complaints are that our view was a post apocalyptic scene (construction site), we could clearly hear our neighbors music playing in the morning, there is no coffee in the room, you have to pay for WiFi (!!!) and the bathroom door is a frosted glass sliding door, whereas I prefer a regular old fashioned door that one can actually shut and have a minute of privacy. I don't know why so many hotels are doing this with the bathrooms these days, but when you're traveling with an acquaintance rather than an intimate partner, it's kind of uncomfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kslim95501
Business
Eureka, California
Jul 31, 2014

great experience!

The room I was in was very clean and the staff was courteous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Channel the greatest sist
Business
Sacramento, Ca
May 27, 2014

Great birthday!

We came here to celebrate my sister's 30th birthday and enjoyed our stay. It was conviently located and the staff was friendly. They catered to our needs and was on top of things! Highly recommended :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Asiasf-great family sized food and great entertainment (drag queen cat walk performance)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tony long
Business
Costa Mesa, ca.
Apr 28, 2014

Epic SF stay

Quite possibly one of the best hotels I've ever stayed at in SF. Right when we arrived everything was ready for us to check in. Staff was amazing. We requested an extra fridge so we had room for our medication that needed to be refridgerated and they brought it right up. Any guests I had they called me and they were promptly let up to the room. Only bummer about the whole trip was when we went to go to the pool to find out it was under construction and they won't be having one anymore. Other than that, great customer service, room was very clean and pretty much met every expectation we had when it came to staying at the W hotel. Thank you and can't wait to stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Joshua L
Business
New York, NY
Apr 15, 2014

a night at the W

Hotel was adequate for my needs, one night stay on business trip. The water pressure in the shower was very poor, and definitely needs to be addressed. My main complaint was the construction, which was directly below my 4th floor window. I woke up to the sound of banging pipes at 8am. I understand that some rooms would be affected by noise during construction, though if there was another room to place me in, they should have. I do not know if they were at capacity that night, though it seemed very quiet. Room was clean, no other complaints. Not sure if I would stay there again though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Snowbound NYC
Business
New York City
Jan 5, 2014

Love the W!

Booked a room last minute and couldn't have been happier. The staff was welcoming and accommodating and allowed me to check in early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Viktorino
Business
San Francisco
Apr 1, 2013

Overall good experience

For it have been The W I was really expecting a luxury hotel. The hotel itself is nice but nothing too special. The staff I must say were extremely nice and helpful. Very impressed with the friendliness of the staff. Location wise is good if your going to be more in down town. We spent the majority of our trip going to Fishermans Wharf. We had to walk about 10 minutes to get to union square to catch the cable cars which get pretty busy, we waited in line for an hour before we got on. I was there for a weekend with my spouse. They have a nice bar and restaurant to drink at night. The rooms were very clean but a little tight. Our view was amazing, we were facing Oakland bay bridge. Overall I enjoyed the stay there but next time I will definitely stay closer to Fisherman wharf since downtown area is majority for shopping. Chinatown is about a 15 minute walk which wasn't bad at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you plan to ride the cable cars I would highly recommend getting there before 9. The line gets ridiculously long and you'll be standing in line for over an hour.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
patternofstars7
Business
NY
Oct 25, 2012

Awesome stay

Hotel was very nice and clean. Staff was super friendly. Even the valet driver gave us great tips on where to go in city and surrounding areas. Would absolutely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kris H.
Business
Denver, CO
Jul 9, 2012

Beautiful, modern hotel

Lovely hotel, very accommodating staff. Great location near the museums and Union Square, but kind of sleepy at night. In-lobby DJs were a nice touch. Only thing we didn't like about this hotel are the crazy mini-bar prices - $8 for a tonic water, not to mention $12 for the little bit of gin to go with it. Chilly and windy in this part of town (even in July) so make sure to bring long pants and jackets.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mangia Tutti Italian restaurant - a 10 minute walk. We were the only ones in there and it was quite romantic.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W San Francisco

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Moniquerenee
Business
Bakersfield. California
Jul 3, 2012

Great for San francisco

Great experience.there is a bar/ social gatterrings on the first floor at night. So if you like that the. This is the hotel for you. I liked it a lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top