$196 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

Villa Florence

3 stars
View map of 225 Powell St., San Francisco, CA 94102

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
107 reviews
Unique, upscale hotel in the heart of Union Square

I loved my stay here! For the price, this hotel was perfect. The staff were very friendly and... See full review

  • leweath87
  • Sep 8, 2014
Excellent Long Weekend

The location is perfect for great shopping, delicious restaurants and convenience to BART/Muni. See full review

  • FP5454
  • Jul 2, 2014
Location is everything, and Villa Florence, A Larkspur Collection Hotel, certainly is ideally located. The hotel is close to Union Square and is on the Powell Street cable car line. Italian style surrounds guests as soon as they enter this pretty, seven floor hotel. Frescoes, fountains, and columns grace the lobby, and the decor is classy and cool throughout. Kuleto's is the fabulous contemporary Italian restaurant on-site, much beloved by theatergoers and locals. Villa Florence keeps guests happy with impeccable service and abundant European charm. parking is also available on site for an added fee.
Rooms
Villa Florence, A Larkspur Collection Hotel provides an authentic Tuscan experience in the heart of San Francisco, but with all the modern conveniences of the 21st century. There are 182 guest rooms, ranging from a traditional one double to a junior suite, and all adhering to the same tasteful Italian style principles that govern the entire hotel. Colors are in muted and elegant shades of cream, brown and sage green, and painted wooden furniture complements the plush beds with feather-top mattresses and 300-thread-count linens. High ceilings and louvered shutters add to a feeling of light airiness, and modern touches are present, with complimentary wireless Internet access, flat-screen televisions, and DVD players provided as standard. Guests can expect mini refrigerators and honor bars, as well as a complimentary newspaper (on request). Bathrooms offer a selection of quality complimentary toiletries and contain robes and slippers.
Highlights
  • Contemporary Italian cuisine in top city restaurant
  • Superior location right on cable car line
  • Gorgeous Italianate decor
Nearby attractions
  • Union Square (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Market Street (0.3 mi/0.4 km)
  • Theater District (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
Policies
Parking fee is $54 USD plus tax per vehicle/night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Villa Florence also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Villa Florence Rooms

Deluxe Double Double
The Deluxe Double Double Room -wireless internet-Fully stocked honor bar-hairdryer-bathrobes, Max Occ 4.
Traditional Queen
The Deluxe Queen Room with 1 Queen Bed-wireless internet- Fully stocked honor bar-hairdryer-bathrobes, Max Occ 2.
Deluxe King
The Deluxe King Room with 1 King Bed-wireless internet- Fully stocked honor bar-hairdryer-bathrobes, Max Occ 2.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Union Square: 0.1 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.1 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.3 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.6 mi
  • SoMa: 0.7 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.7 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 0.8 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.9 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 0.9 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 0.9 mi
  • Ferry Building: 1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1 mi
  • ATT Park: 1 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1 mi
  • Coit Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.1 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Japantown: 1.2 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.2 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.4 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.5 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.5 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.5 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.5 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.5 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.5 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.6 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.6 mi
  • Mission Delores: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 1.8 mi
  • Mission Dolores: 1.8 mi
  • Lands End: 2 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Business and Meeting Services: Our San Francisco meeting facilities accommodate large functions of up to 120 people, or smaller meetings in our Executive Boardroom. Three meeting rooms accommodating groups from 10 to 120, Blackboards, dry erase boards, Flip charts, easels, TV and VCR, Overhead projectors, Slide projectors, Projection screens, Copying, printing and faxing services, Complimentary high speed wireless Internet access.

The Machiavelli Room, accommodating 40 to 80 people, or 100 for a standing reception, is exquisitely decorated in the style of old San Francisco. If you desire a more intimate atmosphere, our recently renovated Caruso Room accommodates 30 people or 40 for a standing reception, and our Executive Board Room comfortably seats 12.

Dining

Kuleto's Italian Restaurant
A local favorite right off Union Square, Kuleto's, a San Francisco institution for over twenty years, features Italian influenced decor and an open kitchen, as well as house specialties including charcuterie, pastas and organic drinks, all using fresh, locally sourced ingredients. Serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, Kuleto's is open from 7:00 a.m. to 11:00 p.m., weekdays, and 8:00 a.m. to 11:00 p.m. on Saturday and Sunday.
Bar Norcini
Featured in our lobby is Bar Norcini an authentic Italian wine bar offering breakfast, lunch and evening menus along with a beverage program featuring Italian varietals by the glass and Italian-themed cocktails. From its decor to its warm atmosphere and friendly service, Bar Norcini invites all of San Francisco to celebrate the flavors and traditions of Italy. Open 7:00am to 10:30pm daily

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Villa Florence

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
107 out of 107
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Villa Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
karen k.
Business
N/A
Jul 26, 2015

Central, does the trick

Small rooms, nice staff, near lively Union Square and the trolly to the Wharf, in a real, urban mix.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Villa Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CD Wolf
Business
Hilton Head Island
May 9, 2015

Great Location

This hotel is within walking distance to the tram line. The staff are friendly & helpful. The onsite restaurant, Kuletos, is one of our favorites in the city. They serve a wonderful breakfast and we had a lovely dinner here as well. Live piano music in the lobby adds to the ambiance. Room was clean & spacious.Have stayed at this hotel several times in the past and would do so again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Villa Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sly99
Business
roseville
Apr 20, 2015

Awesome location

Great location in the city. A nice walk to the Giants game and dinner at the Ferry building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Villa Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Holy Moses
Business
Little Chute
Mar 4, 2015

Great Place

This is a very nice hotel, great location to anything downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Villa Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Victerry
Business
San Fancisco
Oct 13, 2014

Great location in Union Square

We loved our atay at Villa Florence. The location of the hotel is just aroud the corner of Union Square. We were given a room at the rear side away from traffic and our room was so quite. We would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Very safe to walk at night in the surrounding area of this hotel

Review of Villa Florence

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
leweath87
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Sep 8, 2014

Unique, upscale hotel in the heart of Union Square

I loved my stay here! For the price, this hotel was perfect. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It was close to anything you'd need, and a short walk to Union Square. It has a big, open lobby with a bistro bar that opens up to the outside - perfect for a quick espresso or some wine and cheese in the evening. There's a nicer restaurant in the lobby as well. The rooms are quaint and welcoming - almost more like a bedroom than a hotel room. I had a fantastic overall stay and would love to come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Villa Florence

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JennMcG
Business
Florida
Aug 25, 2014

Nice Older Hotel

The Villa Florence is one of the nicest older hotels in San Francisco. The rooms are clean and well maintained but very small. Staff was excellent and the location is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Villa Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
California Mom
Business
Northern California
Aug 6, 2014

Excellent location, clean room, rude valet.

Loved the location, valet was not helpful, said "good question" when I asked where should we park when there is no parking in front of the hotel to unload our luggage. Otherwise, nice hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Villa Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mdurbs
Business
Los Angeles ca
Aug 3, 2014

Started out rough but ended Great!

Well, I went into the trip knowing I was booking a mid level hotel because all the prices in the city were raised. When we first checked in it was disappointing. However the saving grace of the trip was the staff and how much they truley care about improving their hotel and the satisfaction of their guests. I have to give kudos points to Allen the Asst. front Office Manager, he is a true professional and amazing with guests. Allen went above and beyond to make our stay the best it could be, and for that I thank you Allen, you made it AllGood! I would give this hotel another go because of Allen! He's making the hotel All Good again :-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Breakfast is great

Review of Villa Florence

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Violet Rosa
Business
Sarasota,Florida
Jul 29, 2014

Terrifuc Boutique Hotel

An older but well maintained hotel. The room and bath were small but for a single person or couple who wants to have a terrific time in San Francisco I would highly recommend it. A liitle European flare on Union Square!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to a San Francisco Giants game! Walk to the stadium from Union Square. Great stadium food too!

Back to menu Return to top