$219 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 3, 2014 Check-out: Oct 4, 2014

Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

3 stars
342 Grant Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
66 reviews
Weekend Mini Vacation

This was a great hotel to stay in San Francisco. It is walking distance to Union Square, and many... See full review

  • Little Sumpin'
  • Sep 8, 2014
Great stay

My fiancé and I stayed at the triton for a friends wedding, the location was fabulous as we're the... See full review

  • Sara E in NYC
  • May 27, 2014
Boutique hotel captures the vibrant, eclectic spirit of San Francisco
Only in San Francisco would a hotel so seamlessly combine art, popular culture, a green sensibility and cozy guest rooms. Conceived in the 1990s by nine San Francisco artists, Triton, a Kimpton Hotel has the feel of ancient Rome as seen through the eyes of Salvador Dali. Imagine a bright blue and orange floral pattern in an expansive lobby mural; a shiny purple upholstered lounge next to a mosaic-framed fireplace. These and other one-of-a-kind spaces make Triton, a Kimpton Hotel a memorable choice.
Highlights
  • Original artwork throughout guest rooms and common areas
  • Across the street from the Chinatown Dragon Gate
  • Freshly baked cookies at 3 p.m. daily
  • Eco-friendly rooms and celebrity-designed suites
  • Valet parking with in/out privileges available (fees apply)
Rooms

Celebrity suites at Triton, a Kimpton Hotel embody the personalities of the stars who designed them. Comedian Kathy Griffin's suite combines luscious fabrics and chic neutral colors for an effect that's both classic and sexy. Ever-loyal Deadheads get blissed out in the J. Garcia Suite by Jerry Garcia, featuring many of the late, great musician's watercolor paintings and an autographed wall. Additional accommodation includes eco-premier kings, each with a special theme such as Happy Planet or The Trust for Public Land. Pets are welcome at the Triton, a Kimpton Hotel at no additional charge. Allergy-free/pet-free rooms are available as well.

Features

Exceptional services and amenities help create an unforgettable experience. Pick up a free copy of The New York Times to read with complimentary morning coffee or tea. After a day or business or sightseeing, make it back to the Triton, a Kimpton Hotel in time for the hosted evening wine hour.

Dining

Next door to the hotel, the Parisian-inspired Cafe de la Presse takes pride in offering a high-quality bistro menu and more than 500 international titles on the newsstand.

 

Recreation

The 24-hour fitness center at the Triton, a Kimpton Hotel features exercise bikes, free weights, a stair climber and treadmill. Passes to a local workout facility are also available.

Transportation
  • BART stop (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (13.7 mi/22 km)
Attractions
  • Chinatown (Across the street)
  • Union Square (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Moscone Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • "Creative Zone" includes full production capabilities
  • Private deck patio

Hotel Map

37.7903 -122.4055
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 14.00, MI, N; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 21.00, MI, NW; San Jose International Airport, (SJC), 46.40, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Triton, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Triton, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Double/Double Room
Double/Double Room 154 sq feet, ihome docking station
Jerry Garcia Suite
300 Sq Ft 1 King Bed
Accessible Executive King Suite
Executive King Suite, 300 square feet ihome docking station, flat screen TV
Full Bedded Room
Full size bedded room 120 square feet ihome- flat screen tv - Bigelow bath amenities
Haagen Dazs Suite
300 Sq Ft 1 King Bed
Queen Room
Queen Room 140 Square feet ihome docking station courtyard view
Kathy Griffin Suite
300 Sq Ft 1 King Bed
King Room
King Room 145 square feet - ihome docking station-flat screen TV
King Triton Suite
300 Sq Ft 1 King Bed
Premium King
1 king bed, 154 square feet

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
FEMA approved
Dining
Restaurant
Meal plan - continental
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.9 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.9 mi
  • ATT Park: 1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.2 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.2 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.2 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.3 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Japantown: 1.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 2.1 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2.1 mi

Dining

Cafe De La Presse
Cafe De La Prese is a French Cafe plus a more formal dining room providing guests of Hotel Triton with all day dining. Located right next door to the hotel Cafe De La Presse provides Hotel Tritons room service.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (66)

Ratings and reviews for Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 66
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.1

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Little Sumpin'
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 8, 2014

Weekend Mini Vacation

This was a great hotel to stay in San Francisco. It is walking distance to Union Square, and many stores. We took a public transportation to the different tourist attractions such as Mama's Cafe, Coit Tower, Fisherman's Wharf, Pier 39, Golden Gate Park, etc. I would suggest purchasing the 3 day public transportation pass which is $23.00 for 3 consecutive days, which can be purchased at a Walgreens a block down from the hotel. We also used Uber which was convenient for travelling during the night. Hotel Triton has a few sushi spots, taverns, sports bars, cafes, etc. Its ambiance in the hotel is very artsy and creative. The rooms were a little small but it was perfect for us. We were barely in the room, just to sleep. Renting a car would be more pricey and useless because it is difficult to find parking and the hotel charges per day to park your car. This hotel is near everything and public transportation is amazing! We drove through the Golden gate Bridge on our way to Laguanitas Brewery in Petaluma which is about an hour away. (Worth visiting!) San Francisco is a beautiful city. Enjoy it by walking and using the transportation, you will benefit from the San Francisco experience!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
scottagross
Cameron Park, CA
Mar 3, 2013

Great location, good staff, small rooms.

We had a wonderful one-night stay while showing relatives San Francisco. We checked in in the evening. It's a great neighborhood to be in at night, very safe. You start the morning by having coffee in the lobby or across the street at Starbucks, then you walk out of the the hotel turn right and walk two blocks into Chinatown. See the sights and have a dim sum lunch before touring the rest of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinatown is a fascinating place. Thousands of tchotchkes to shop for, great food and bakeries and a wonderful place to just walk around and absorb the culture.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Guajardin
Santa Rosa, California
Dec 19, 2012

Noce cool hotel!

I will definitely stay at this "funky" and cool hotel again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Merrymarymac
East Bay, SF California
Dec 5, 2012

Perfect location for shopping!

This hotel was a big step up for me and my sisters. We enjoyed the morning coffee and when we didn't take advantage of the wine tasting in the afternoon, the concierge gave us a bottle of wine. We loved being near China Town, Union Square, Market Street and Belden Alley for restaurants. We would stay again on our next sisters' weekend. We enjoyed the whimsical art and furniture of the lobby and the Victorian elements like the bannisters and newel posts on the main stair case--we like the exercise of walking up and down, though the elevators worked just fine. Another thing we liked was that the hotel seemed reasonably quiet for such a busy location. Our first night we used valet parking, but there are garages close by that are less expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Belden Place (or Alley) is just down Bush and has a French, an Italian, a Spanish, a seafood/mussels, and a Mexican restaurant, all with indoor and heated outdoor seating.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Austin, TX
Oct 26, 2010

Great Hotel

Great Hotel. Wine Happy Hour daily 5 - 6 is great. Excellent location. Fun and helpful Hotel Staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chico, CA
Jun 21, 2010

Disappointing

I've stayed at the Triton many times in the past, always in a queen or king single-bed room. I've always been delighted with this charming, small boutique hotel -- until this time, when I was extremely disappointed. The room my sister and I received last weekend -- 2 double beds -- was outfitted with 4 smaller-than-standard-size pillows and no other pillow options. This 2-bed room came with just one guest robe. Why? The bathroom was split into (1) a toilet/shower room (no fan, EXTREMELY and uncomfortably small and with scratched/fading paint) and (2) a sink area/recess which was essentially a "wet bar" in the entry way of the room, across from the toilet/shower combo. Counter space was nonexistent and there was almost nowhere for two people to hang wet towels. The TV was grainy and showed a lot of interference the entire morning of our departure. The AC unit emitted a strange, sour vinegar-y odor, something akin to foot odor. We weren't in the room much so it didn't make sense to ask for a new one once we figured all this out. The hotel staff was VERY professional and gracious when we checked in and out and would probably have accommodated us if I had asked. I was so disappointed by the drop in room quality that I'd seriously consider staying elsewhere when next in the city, rather than revisit the Triton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Dec 1, 2008

Very good Hotel

The Hotel was very comfortable its a nice boutique Hotel with stylish rooms. The location was very good shopping and many reataurants are very close. But for all first San Francisco travellers you have to calculate if you are comming by car for parking garage 30 to 40 $. So if you like a trendy and fashion Hotel you gonna like. I will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinatown next by , Many shops also like prada macys etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Nov 30, 2008

Big Surprise! Good and bad...

As a native of San Francisco, I used to walk by this hotel practically every day and wondered if it was as nice inside as out. First of all, the hotel is situated in the best of locations, in my opinion. It is literally two blocks from Union Square, steps away from the entrance to Chinatown and within the hub of public transportation to take you to practically anywhere in the City. The lobby decor is very whimsical and exciting. Check-in was very quick. The rooms are clean and updated, the bathrooms are huge by hotel standards and room service was great. Thanks a lot Hotel Triton!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search