$127 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 2, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

3 stars
342 Grant Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
71 reviews
Great location, great staff!

We picked this hotel because it was dog friendly and the location. It didn't disappoint. The staff... See full review

  • Maca54
  • Dec 1, 2014
Great weekend getaway!

We stayed at The Hotel Triton over the recent Thanksgiving long weekend. The hotel is in a great... See full review

  • K8Payne
  • Dec 1, 2014
Boutique hotel captures the vibrant, eclectic spirit of San Francisco
Only in San Francisco would a hotel so seamlessly combine art, popular culture, a green sensibility and cozy guest rooms. Conceived in the 1990s by nine San Francisco artists, Triton, a Kimpton Hotel has the feel of ancient Rome as seen through the eyes of Salvador Dali. Imagine a bright blue and orange floral pattern in an expansive lobby mural; a shiny purple upholstered lounge next to a mosaic-framed fireplace. These and other one-of-a-kind spaces make Triton, a Kimpton Hotel a memorable choice.
Highlights
  • Original artwork throughout guest rooms and common areas
  • Across the street from the Chinatown Dragon Gate
  • Freshly baked cookies at 3 p.m. daily
  • Eco-friendly rooms and celebrity-designed suites
  • Valet parking with in/out privileges available (fees apply)
Rooms

Celebrity suites at Triton, a Kimpton Hotel embody the personalities of the stars who designed them. Comedian Kathy Griffin's suite combines luscious fabrics and chic neutral colors for an effect that's both classic and sexy. Ever-loyal Deadheads get blissed out in the J. Garcia Suite by Jerry Garcia, featuring many of the late, great musician's watercolor paintings and an autographed wall. Additional accommodation includes eco-premier kings, each with a special theme such as Happy Planet or The Trust for Public Land. Pets are welcome at the Triton, a Kimpton Hotel at no additional charge. Allergy-free/pet-free rooms are available as well.

Features

Exceptional services and amenities help create an unforgettable experience. Pick up a free copy of The New York Times to read with complimentary morning coffee or tea. After a day or business or sightseeing, make it back to the Triton, a Kimpton Hotel in time for the hosted evening wine hour.

Dining

Next door to the hotel, the Parisian-inspired Cafe de la Presse takes pride in offering a high-quality bistro menu and more than 500 international titles on the newsstand.

 

Recreation

The 24-hour fitness center at the Triton, a Kimpton Hotel features exercise bikes, free weights, a stair climber and treadmill. Passes to a local workout facility are also available.

Transportation
  • BART stop (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (13.7 mi/22 km)
Attractions
  • Chinatown (Across the street)
  • Union Square (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Moscone Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • "Creative Zone" includes full production capabilities
  • Private deck patio

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Triton, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Triton, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Double/Double Room
Double/Double Room 154 sq feet, ihome docking station
Jerry Garcia Suite
300 Sq Ft 1 King Bed
Accessible Executive King Suite
Executive King Suite, 300 square feet ihome docking station, flat screen TV
Full Bedded Room
Full size bedded room 120 square feet ihome- flat screen tv - Bigelow bath amenities
Haagen Dazs Suite
300 Sq Ft 1 King Bed
Queen Room
Queen Room 140 Square feet ihome docking station courtyard view
Kathy Griffin Suite
300 Sq Ft 1 King Bed
King Room
King Room 145 square feet - ihome docking station-flat screen TV
King Triton Suite
300 Sq Ft 1 King Bed
Premium King
1 king bed, 154 square feet

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
FEMA approved
Dining
Restaurant
Meal plan - continental
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.7 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.9 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.9 mi
  • ATT Park: 1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.2 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.2 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.2 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.3 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Japantown: 1.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 2.1 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2.1 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2.1 mi

Dining

Cafe De La Presse
Cafe De La Prese is a French Cafe plus a more formal dining room providing guests of Hotel Triton with all day dining. Located right next door to the hotel Cafe De La Presse provides Hotel Tritons room service.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (71)

Ratings and reviews for Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
71 out of 71
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mwogs
Business
Pleasanton
Dec 2, 2014

Fantastic hotel location

Perfect city stay for a family visiting the city during the holidays. Close to shopping, union square, cable cars. Walking distance to all. Kids had a blast and hotel help was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Talke public transit

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maca54
Business
Long Beach, CA
Dec 1, 2014

Great location, great staff!

We picked this hotel because it was dog friendly and the location. It didn't disappoint. The staff is amazing, accommodating and friendly, especially Nick. We felt right at home and our dog was treated extremely well, with a doggie bed, bones and was welcome anywhere in the hotel. We'll definitely stay here on our next trip to SF. Only drawbacks to the hotel was the rooms are small and the parking is $53/night. With that said, we weren't in our room much and the parking price seemed consistent with other hotel prices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
K8Payne
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Dec 1, 2014

Great weekend getaway!

We stayed at The Hotel Triton over the recent Thanksgiving long weekend. The hotel is in a great location: centralized to public transport, and a brief walking distance to Chinatown, Union Square, North Beach, and the Embarcadero...if you are interested in doing some of the more touristy-type activities that San Francisco has to offer. We were in town to visit with friends, go to some wonderful restaurants, and just hang out...and staying at the Hotel Triton made that super easy: friends didn't have to drive too far out of the way to pick us up, we could walk to a bunch of the places we had made reservations, and we could jump right onto the Muni to get over to the Castro and the Mission. Also, the nightly happy hour was always a nice treat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Use the Muni for easy transport around the city!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mint555
Business
Los Angeles, Ca
Oct 10, 2014

Wonderful Hotel

We have stayed here several times for our business trips to SF and always find the staff to be friendly and the rooms to be clean and comfortable. The location is also very good for walking to the best shops and restaurants in SF.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

All the high end SF shops are 2 blocks away

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Little Sumpin'
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Sep 8, 2014

Weekend Mini Vacation

This was a great hotel to stay in San Francisco. It is walking distance to Union Square, and many stores. We took a public transportation to the different tourist attractions such as Mama's Cafe, Coit Tower, Fisherman's Wharf, Pier 39, Golden Gate Park, etc. I would suggest purchasing the 3 day public transportation pass which is $23.00 for 3 consecutive days, which can be purchased at a Walgreens a block down from the hotel. We also used Uber which was convenient for travelling during the night. Hotel Triton has a few sushi spots, taverns, sports bars, cafes, etc. Its ambiance in the hotel is very artsy and creative. The rooms were a little small but it was perfect for us. We were barely in the room, just to sleep. Renting a car would be more pricey and useless because it is difficult to find parking and the hotel charges per day to park your car. This hotel is near everything and public transportation is amazing! We drove through the Golden gate Bridge on our way to Laguanitas Brewery in Petaluma which is about an hour away. (Worth visiting!) San Francisco is a beautiful city. Enjoy it by walking and using the transportation, you will benefit from the San Francisco experience!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HPC Roc
Business
Rochester, NY
Jul 9, 2014

the gate to SF Chinatown

Excellent location, just accross the street from Chinatown gate! Plenty of dining options up close. Wine tastings every day at the hotel. The renovation of the hotel was done with very unique taste, very original.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the Sushirrito (sushi, burrito size) on Kearny St.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Garadox
Business
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Jun 12, 2014

Wish I could have brought the bed home!

We stayed on the 4th floor of the Triton at the start of June. No view to speak of, but it was nice and quiet outside. The room came with some funky leopard pattern dressing gowns, and the comfiest bed i've ever slept on! The hotel has a character of it's own - from the cool yellow duckies in the fountain outside to the dancy music in the elevators. The hotel is right outside the entrance to Chinatown and all the designer stores are just a block away in the other direction. This would be a 5 star review if the room came with a tea maker!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Take a trip out to Alcatraz or to Muir woods if you can - both are spectacular!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sara E in NYC
Business
New York
May 27, 2014

Great stay

My fiancé and I stayed at the triton for a friends wedding, the location was fabulous as we're the rooms and staff. We would definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dr.traveler
Business
San Fransisco
May 26, 2014

Triton Hotel

The hotel was nice but had a stale smell on 6th floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
It is Possible
Business
Astoria, NY
Apr 5, 2014

Great Location. Good hotel for a business trip.

The hotel was located within walking distance of the office, which was great and the reason I chose it. Very colorful which was ok with me. I only used it to sleep and work from my room when I was not at the office. Room service from the restaurant next door was good. Staff was friendly and the complementary internet was useful. I would have given a higher score had my bathtub been in better condition.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top