$219 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 3, 2014 Check-out: Oct 4, 2014

Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

3 stars
342 Grant Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
66 reviews
Weekend Mini Vacation

This was a great hotel to stay in San Francisco. It is walking distance to Union Square, and many... See full review

  • Little Sumpin'
  • Sep 8, 2014
Great stay

My fiancé and I stayed at the triton for a friends wedding, the location was fabulous as we're the... See full review

  • Sara E in NYC
  • May 27, 2014
Boutique hotel captures the vibrant, eclectic spirit of San Francisco
Only in San Francisco would a hotel so seamlessly combine art, popular culture, a green sensibility and cozy guest rooms. Conceived in the 1990s by nine San Francisco artists, Triton, a Kimpton Hotel has the feel of ancient Rome as seen through the eyes of Salvador Dali. Imagine a bright blue and orange floral pattern in an expansive lobby mural; a shiny purple upholstered lounge next to a mosaic-framed fireplace. These and other one-of-a-kind spaces make Triton, a Kimpton Hotel a memorable choice.
Highlights
  • Original artwork throughout guest rooms and common areas
  • Across the street from the Chinatown Dragon Gate
  • Freshly baked cookies at 3 p.m. daily
  • Eco-friendly rooms and celebrity-designed suites
  • Valet parking with in/out privileges available (fees apply)
Rooms

Celebrity suites at Triton, a Kimpton Hotel embody the personalities of the stars who designed them. Comedian Kathy Griffin's suite combines luscious fabrics and chic neutral colors for an effect that's both classic and sexy. Ever-loyal Deadheads get blissed out in the J. Garcia Suite by Jerry Garcia, featuring many of the late, great musician's watercolor paintings and an autographed wall. Additional accommodation includes eco-premier kings, each with a special theme such as Happy Planet or The Trust for Public Land. Pets are welcome at the Triton, a Kimpton Hotel at no additional charge. Allergy-free/pet-free rooms are available as well.

Features

Exceptional services and amenities help create an unforgettable experience. Pick up a free copy of The New York Times to read with complimentary morning coffee or tea. After a day or business or sightseeing, make it back to the Triton, a Kimpton Hotel in time for the hosted evening wine hour.

Dining

Next door to the hotel, the Parisian-inspired Cafe de la Presse takes pride in offering a high-quality bistro menu and more than 500 international titles on the newsstand.

 

Recreation

The 24-hour fitness center at the Triton, a Kimpton Hotel features exercise bikes, free weights, a stair climber and treadmill. Passes to a local workout facility are also available.

Transportation
  • BART stop (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (13.7 mi/22 km)
Attractions
  • Chinatown (Across the street)
  • Union Square (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Moscone Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • "Creative Zone" includes full production capabilities
  • Private deck patio

Hotel Map

37.7903 -122.4055
Nearby airports
San Francisco International Airport, (SFO), 14.00, MI, N; Oakland International Airport, (OAK), 21.00, MI, NW; San Jose International Airport, (SJC), 46.40, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Triton, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Triton, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Double/Double Room
Double/Double Room 154 sq feet, ihome docking station
Jerry Garcia Suite
300 Sq Ft 1 King Bed
Accessible Executive King Suite
Executive King Suite, 300 square feet ihome docking station, flat screen TV
Full Bedded Room
Full size bedded room 120 square feet ihome- flat screen tv - Bigelow bath amenities
Haagen Dazs Suite
300 Sq Ft 1 King Bed
Queen Room
Queen Room 140 Square feet ihome docking station courtyard view
Kathy Griffin Suite
300 Sq Ft 1 King Bed
King Room
King Room 145 square feet - ihome docking station-flat screen TV
King Triton Suite
300 Sq Ft 1 King Bed
Premium King
1 king bed, 154 square feet

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
FEMA approved
Dining
Restaurant
Meal plan - continental
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Nob Hill: 0.7 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.9 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.9 mi
  • ATT Park: 1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.2 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.2 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.2 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.3 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Japantown: 1.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 2.1 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2.1 mi

Dining

Cafe De La Presse
Cafe De La Prese is a French Cafe plus a more formal dining room providing guests of Hotel Triton with all day dining. Located right next door to the hotel Cafe De La Presse provides Hotel Tritons room service.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (66)

Ratings and reviews for Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 66
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.6

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
It is Possible
Business
Astoria, NY
Apr 5, 2014

Great Location. Good hotel for a business trip.

The hotel was located within walking distance of the office, which was great and the reason I chose it. Very colorful which was ok with me. I only used it to sleep and work from my room when I was not at the office. Room service from the restaurant next door was good. Staff was friendly and the complementary internet was useful. I would have given a higher score had my bathtub been in better condition.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Linda Rose
Business
San Bruno, CA
Nov 25, 2013

Great location/great price

This is a hotel for artists--not corporate A types. It is unique, minimalist in design, and is not a cookie-cutter version of every other hotel. Cookies at 3 pm and wine at 5 pm and coffee at 7 am in the lobby by a fireplace. The room is immaculate, hotel staff is freakishly kind and attentive, and the hotel is 50 ft. away from the gates to Chinatown and 2 blocks from Union Square. Safe neighborhood--you are in the midst of chic-chic for a Motel Six price. That's saying something.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a cafe to the left and a cafe to the right of the hotel--both could be dropped in Paris and fit right in.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AJ23
Business
Pleasanton, California
Nov 14, 2013

Awesome Fidi location

I had a major exam the next day and also had a fever, unfortunately. The front desk staff went out of their way to help me pick a restaurant for delivery and then not only did they call and place the order for me, but one of the staff ordered dinner with my order to meet the delivery requirement cost. This is just one example of the friendliness of the staff. The location is excellent - so many nearby cafes and shopping. Highly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr. CA
Business
LA
Oct 26, 2011

quick work trip

Great staff, they had some issues with internet but got it fixed promptly while I was there. The room was hot- not sure if the AC was working. I turned it on but it was still warmer than the hallways. Fun hotel and great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
doriorio
Business
PA
Sep 9, 2011

Simply perfect

Great location, great everything. Will try to stay here on every business visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike626
Business
Rosemead, CA
Aug 9, 2010

Business trip

Excellent staff, loved the look of the hotel and its rooms, great waiting area downstairs, love the 5-6pm wine hour. Only complaint was that the carpet appeared to be a bit dirty and could use a good vacuuming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Jun 28, 2010

Really like this place!

The staff is always super friendly. Everybody says hello.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Tunnel Top bar. 2 or 3 blocks straight up the hill.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alexandria, VA
Dec 21, 2009

Great But....

Awesome Hotel, Great Location. I love Kimpton. My only problem was I was on the bottom floor, and I think the dumpster was outside my room and I was woken up by the noise of clanking bottles many times through out the night. Other than that, I had a great trip and loved this hotel. And you can't beat the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr. Nerd
Business
Berkeley, CA
Aug 17, 2009

Would definitely stay there again!

I was promptly greeted by the staff and felt very welcome there. I would definitely stay there again. I also liked the modern edge that it has.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brighton, CO
Jul 30, 2008

Great Location - Great Staff

This hotel is right by the famous entrance to China Town - BAM - right there. And the staff is extrememly friendly and helpful. I arrived around noon (check-in is at 3) and decided to do some work in the lobby. I was having issues getting onto the free WiFi so the hotel manager came down, made some changes from my control panel, and voila! And although I arrived very early, they got me into my room almost 2 hours earlier than check-in time. The staff also was very knowledegable about getting around and gave me faster directions to take the MUNI train system than the MUNI site did. The room was very comfortable and charming. And their complimentary wine happy hour was fun! Although I was in SF for business, I felt like I was on vacation. Thanks Hotel Triton!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

SF has a lot of great restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search