$139 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 30, 2015 Check-out: Jan 31, 2015

Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

3 stars
342 Grant Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
71 reviews
Great location, great staff!

We picked this hotel because it was dog friendly and the location. It didn't disappoint. The staff... See full review

  • Maca54
  • Dec 1, 2014
Great weekend getaway!

We stayed at The Hotel Triton over the recent Thanksgiving long weekend. The hotel is in a great... See full review

  • K8Payne
  • Dec 1, 2014
Boutique hotel captures the vibrant, eclectic spirit of San Francisco
Only in San Francisco would a hotel so seamlessly combine art, popular culture, a green sensibility and cozy guest rooms. Conceived in the 1990s by nine San Francisco artists, Triton, a Kimpton Hotel has the feel of ancient Rome as seen through the eyes of Salvador Dali. Imagine a bright blue and orange floral pattern in an expansive lobby mural; a shiny purple upholstered lounge next to a mosaic-framed fireplace. These and other one-of-a-kind spaces make Triton, a Kimpton Hotel a memorable choice.
Highlights
  • Original artwork throughout guest rooms and common areas
  • Across the street from the Chinatown Dragon Gate
  • Freshly baked cookies at 3 p.m. daily
  • Eco-friendly rooms and celebrity-designed suites
  • Valet parking with in/out privileges available (fees apply)
Rooms

Celebrity suites at Triton, a Kimpton Hotel embody the personalities of the stars who designed them. Comedian Kathy Griffin's suite combines luscious fabrics and chic neutral colors for an effect that's both classic and sexy. Ever-loyal Deadheads get blissed out in the J. Garcia Suite by Jerry Garcia, featuring many of the late, great musician's watercolor paintings and an autographed wall. Additional accommodation includes eco-premier kings, each with a special theme such as Happy Planet or The Trust for Public Land. Pets are welcome at the Triton, a Kimpton Hotel at no additional charge. Allergy-free/pet-free rooms are available as well.

Features

Exceptional services and amenities help create an unforgettable experience. Pick up a free copy of The New York Times to read with complimentary morning coffee or tea. After a day or business or sightseeing, make it back to the Triton, a Kimpton Hotel in time for the hosted evening wine hour.

Dining

Next door to the hotel, the Parisian-inspired Cafe de la Presse takes pride in offering a high-quality bistro menu and more than 500 international titles on the newsstand.

 

Recreation

The 24-hour fitness center at the Triton, a Kimpton Hotel features exercise bikes, free weights, a stair climber and treadmill. Passes to a local workout facility are also available.

Transportation
  • BART stop (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (13.7 mi/22 km)
Attractions
  • Chinatown (Across the street)
  • Union Square (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Moscone Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • "Creative Zone" includes full production capabilities
  • Private deck patio

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Triton, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Triton, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Double/Double Room
Double/Double Room 154 sq feet, ihome docking station
Jerry Garcia Suite
300 Sq Ft 1 King Bed
Accessible Executive King Suite
Executive King Suite, 300 square feet ihome docking station, flat screen TV
Full Bedded Room
Full size bedded room 120 square feet ihome- flat screen tv - Bigelow bath amenities
Haagen Dazs Suite
300 Sq Ft 1 King Bed
Queen Room
Queen Room 140 Square feet ihome docking station courtyard view
Kathy Griffin Suite
300 Sq Ft 1 King Bed
King Room
King Room 145 square feet - ihome docking station-flat screen TV
King Triton Suite
300 Sq Ft 1 King Bed
Premium King
1 king bed, 154 square feet

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
FEMA approved
Dining
Restaurant
Meal plan - continental
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.7 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.9 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.9 mi
  • ATT Park: 1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.2 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.2 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.2 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.3 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Japantown: 1.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 2.1 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2.1 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2.1 mi

Dining

Cafe De La Presse
Cafe De La Prese is a French Cafe plus a more formal dining room providing guests of Hotel Triton with all day dining. Located right next door to the hotel Cafe De La Presse provides Hotel Tritons room service.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (71)

Ratings and reviews for Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
71 out of 71
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, Oregon
Sep 30, 2009

Good Location, not much else.

Hotel was clean. Amenities and service were at a minimum. Front desk staff inexperienced throughout stay. Valet service was very poor. Have stayed at far better hotels in San Francisco for the price paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
13Sheep
Business
San Jose
May 29, 2012

Great location

Right at the gate of China town. Some adjacent meter parking, which is free on Sundays and holidays. Hotel was nice, somewhat modern. Don't expect Vegas quality. Room was a bit tight, but overall clean and good service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

China Town

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tritonguest
Business
palo alto
Jan 13, 2013

Room was Cold

Everything was good except the room was cold and there was no way to make it warmer. The airconditioning's hot setting didn't really help, and the staff couldn't help beyond telling me to use AC. Otherwise, the room was comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
It is Possible
Business
Astoria, NY
Apr 5, 2014

Great Location. Good hotel for a business trip.

The hotel was located within walking distance of the office, which was great and the reason I chose it. Very colorful which was ok with me. I only used it to sleep and work from my room when I was not at the office. Room service from the restaurant next door was good. Staff was friendly and the complementary internet was useful. I would have given a higher score had my bathtub been in better condition.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dr.traveler
Business
San Fransisco
May 26, 2014

Triton Hotel

The hotel was nice but had a stale smell on 6th floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SFO-bound
Business
Washington, dc
Jul 18, 2010

Artsy hotel in downtown san francisco

I loved how the Triton had a fun and artsy theme. It was a refreshing escape from the ho-hum norm of neutral and boring hotel rooms. I enjoyed the responsive, friendly, and fun staff, as well as its central location. The parking fees are very high, so that is a caution to the cost-aware traveler. Overall a must-stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Make friends with a local. Youn ever know what adventures they can guide you towards

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chico, CA
Jun 21, 2010

Disappointing

I've stayed at the Triton many times in the past, always in a queen or king single-bed room. I've always been delighted with this charming, small boutique hotel -- until this time, when I was extremely disappointed. The room my sister and I received last weekend -- 2 double beds -- was outfitted with 4 smaller-than-standard-size pillows and no other pillow options. This 2-bed room came with just one guest robe. Why? The bathroom was split into (1) a toilet/shower room (no fan, EXTREMELY and uncomfortably small and with scratched/fading paint) and (2) a sink area/recess which was essentially a "wet bar" in the entry way of the room, across from the toilet/shower combo. Counter space was nonexistent and there was almost nowhere for two people to hang wet towels. The TV was grainy and showed a lot of interference the entire morning of our departure. The AC unit emitted a strange, sour vinegar-y odor, something akin to foot odor. We weren't in the room much so it didn't make sense to ask for a new one once we figured all this out. The hotel staff was VERY professional and gracious when we checked in and out and would probably have accommodated us if I had asked. I was so disappointed by the drop in room quality that I'd seriously consider staying elsewhere when next in the city, rather than revisit the Triton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
hollister,ca
Sep 8, 2010

small but sweet

well after driving around the block in search of parking we finally found a parking garage close to the hotel ($29 for the night. The staff was very helpful and sweet. They made dinner reservations for us and sent us a bottle of wine (we were celebrating our anniversary). The room, however, was not very impressive. cute but very small and not what we expected, but the location was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

make reservations early

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike626
Business
Rosemead, CA
Aug 9, 2010

Business trip

Excellent staff, loved the look of the hotel and its rooms, great waiting area downstairs, love the 5-6pm wine hour. Only complaint was that the carpet appeared to be a bit dirty and could use a good vacuuming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gabon Guests
Business
Gabon, Africa
Nov 11, 2010

Awesome Customer Service

We were in town for my wife to take an exam, plus a few days of relaxation afterwards. The location was great - right at the entrance to Chinatown. And the customer service was amongst the best we've seen anywhere. The staff catered to our every need and had great suggestions for restaurants. The room was clean and the bed comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cesareos on Sutter (a couple blocks away) had great Italian food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top