$127 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 2, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

3 stars
342 Grant Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
71 reviews
Great location, great staff!

We picked this hotel because it was dog friendly and the location. It didn't disappoint. The staff... See full review

  • Maca54
  • Dec 1, 2014
Great weekend getaway!

We stayed at The Hotel Triton over the recent Thanksgiving long weekend. The hotel is in a great... See full review

  • K8Payne
  • Dec 1, 2014
Boutique hotel captures the vibrant, eclectic spirit of San Francisco
Only in San Francisco would a hotel so seamlessly combine art, popular culture, a green sensibility and cozy guest rooms. Conceived in the 1990s by nine San Francisco artists, Triton, a Kimpton Hotel has the feel of ancient Rome as seen through the eyes of Salvador Dali. Imagine a bright blue and orange floral pattern in an expansive lobby mural; a shiny purple upholstered lounge next to a mosaic-framed fireplace. These and other one-of-a-kind spaces make Triton, a Kimpton Hotel a memorable choice.
Highlights
  • Original artwork throughout guest rooms and common areas
  • Across the street from the Chinatown Dragon Gate
  • Freshly baked cookies at 3 p.m. daily
  • Eco-friendly rooms and celebrity-designed suites
  • Valet parking with in/out privileges available (fees apply)
Rooms

Celebrity suites at Triton, a Kimpton Hotel embody the personalities of the stars who designed them. Comedian Kathy Griffin's suite combines luscious fabrics and chic neutral colors for an effect that's both classic and sexy. Ever-loyal Deadheads get blissed out in the J. Garcia Suite by Jerry Garcia, featuring many of the late, great musician's watercolor paintings and an autographed wall. Additional accommodation includes eco-premier kings, each with a special theme such as Happy Planet or The Trust for Public Land. Pets are welcome at the Triton, a Kimpton Hotel at no additional charge. Allergy-free/pet-free rooms are available as well.

Features

Exceptional services and amenities help create an unforgettable experience. Pick up a free copy of The New York Times to read with complimentary morning coffee or tea. After a day or business or sightseeing, make it back to the Triton, a Kimpton Hotel in time for the hosted evening wine hour.

Dining

Next door to the hotel, the Parisian-inspired Cafe de la Presse takes pride in offering a high-quality bistro menu and more than 500 international titles on the newsstand.

 

Recreation

The 24-hour fitness center at the Triton, a Kimpton Hotel features exercise bikes, free weights, a stair climber and treadmill. Passes to a local workout facility are also available.

Transportation
  • BART stop (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • San Francisco International Airport (13.7 mi/22 km)
Attractions
  • Chinatown (Across the street)
  • Union Square (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Moscone Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Fisherman's Wharf (1.4 mi/2.3 km)
Business
  • 24-hour business center
  • "Creative Zone" includes full production capabilities
  • Private deck patio

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Triton, a Kimpton Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Triton, a Kimpton Hotel Rooms

Double/Double Room
Double/Double Room 154 sq feet, ihome docking station
Jerry Garcia Suite
300 Sq Ft 1 King Bed
Accessible Executive King Suite
Executive King Suite, 300 square feet ihome docking station, flat screen TV
Full Bedded Room
Full size bedded room 120 square feet ihome- flat screen tv - Bigelow bath amenities
Haagen Dazs Suite
300 Sq Ft 1 King Bed
Queen Room
Queen Room 140 Square feet ihome docking station courtyard view
Kathy Griffin Suite
300 Sq Ft 1 King Bed
King Room
King Room 145 square feet - ihome docking station-flat screen TV
King Triton Suite
300 Sq Ft 1 King Bed
Premium King
1 king bed, 154 square feet

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
FEMA approved
Dining
Restaurant
Meal plan - continental
Services
Business center
Maid service
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Conference facilities
Audio visual equipment
Conference suite
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Turndown service
In room movies
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.7 mi
  • Old St Mary's Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Toomey Tourell Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Don Soker Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Union Square: 0.2 mi
  • Kertesz Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Cartoon Art Museum: 0.3 mi
  • St Patrick's Church: 0.4 mi
  • Transamerica Pyramid: 0.4 mi
  • San Francisco Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Grace Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Cable Car Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Chinatown: 0.5 mi
  • 871 Fine Arts: 0.5 mi
  • Moscone Center: 0.5 mi
  • Ferry Building: 0.7 mi
  • Octagon House: 0.8 mi
  • Coit Tower: 0.8 mi
  • SoMa: 0.9 mi
  • Civic Centre: 0.9 mi
  • ATT Park: 1 mi
  • San Francisco City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Haas Lilienthal House: 1.1 mi
  • Port of San Francisco: 1.1 mi
  • Cathedral of Saint Mary of the Assumption: 1.1 mi
  • San Francisco Symphony: 1.2 mi
  • Lafayette Park: 1.2 mi
  • Underwater World: 1.2 mi
  • Aquarium of the Bay: 1.3 mi
  • Pier 39: 1.3 mi
  • Konko Church of San Francisco: 1.3 mi
  • Pioneer's Monument: 1.3 mi
  • San Francisco Experience: 1.3 mi
  • Wax Museum Entertainment Complex: 1.3 mi
  • Wyland Gallery: 1.3 mi
  • Japantown: 1.3 mi
  • Ripley's Believe It or Not! Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Lombard Street: 1.4 mi
  • Ghirardelli Square: 1.4 mi
  • Japan Center: 1.4 mi
  • Musee Mecanique: 1.5 mi
  • Hyde Street Pier: 1.5 mi
  • Lands End: 1.8 mi
  • Alcatraz Island: 2.1 mi
  • Mission Cliffs Rock Climbing Center: 2.1 mi
  • Mission Delores: 2.1 mi

Dining

Cafe De La Presse
Cafe De La Prese is a French Cafe plus a more formal dining room providing guests of Hotel Triton with all day dining. Located right next door to the hotel Cafe De La Presse provides Hotel Tritons room service.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (71)

Ratings and reviews for Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
71 out of 71
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
hollister,ca
Sep 8, 2010

small but sweet

well after driving around the block in search of parking we finally found a parking garage close to the hotel ($29 for the night. The staff was very helpful and sweet. They made dinner reservations for us and sent us a bottle of wine (we were celebrating our anniversary). The room, however, was not very impressive. cute but very small and not what we expected, but the location was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

make reservations early

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike626
Business
Rosemead, CA
Aug 9, 2010

Business trip

Excellent staff, loved the look of the hotel and its rooms, great waiting area downstairs, love the 5-6pm wine hour. Only complaint was that the carpet appeared to be a bit dirty and could use a good vacuuming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mike626
Business
Rosemead, CA
Aug 9, 2010

Business trip

Excellent staff, loved the look of the hotel and its rooms, great waiting area downstairs, love the 5-6pm wine hour. Only complaint was that the carpet appeared to be a bit dirty and could use a good vacuuming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SFO-bound
Business
Washington, dc
Jul 18, 2010

Artsy hotel in downtown san francisco

I loved how the Triton had a fun and artsy theme. It was a refreshing escape from the ho-hum norm of neutral and boring hotel rooms. I enjoyed the responsive, friendly, and fun staff, as well as its central location. The parking fees are very high, so that is a caution to the cost-aware traveler. Overall a must-stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Make friends with a local. Youn ever know what adventures they can guide you towards

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
double A-ron
Business
Fort Collins, CO
Jul 6, 2010

Fun, hip, and a friendly staff

Very friendly staff and super hip lobby. It was in a solid location across the street from China Town. We like to walk and put some miles in heading up to Coit Tower, the cable car museum, Nob Hill, Lombard, and Pier 39. Free wine from 5-6pm made for some cheery pre-dinner walks to little Italy and Chinatown. Also buy your knicknacks at the cable car museum because they sell a lot of the same stuff as the junk shops on the warf, but all of the proceeds go towards keeping the historical cable cars up and running.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Biking over the Bay Bridge is the coolest thing you can do in town. Rent your bike as close to the bike path as you can because with all of the cars and stacks of people on the weekend the less time spent navigating through them the less stressful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Jun 28, 2010

[...]

I was able to sleep easily and they accomodated all my wishes including a pet free room. I could get to every place in town. The staff recommended a restaurant and bagel place nearby, which were not good. I ate better at the museum cafeterias and hot food places I found on my own. The lounge is funky and extremely conducive to meeting people including the california wine hour.Fresh air in the hotel from windows that open up to one of the cleanest cities in the country. The hotel is located near designer name stores. The museums are not crowded.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Jose, CA
Jun 28, 2010

Really like this place!

The staff is always super friendly. Everybody says hello.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Tunnel Top bar. 2 or 3 blocks straight up the hill.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chico, CA
Jun 21, 2010

Disappointing

I've stayed at the Triton many times in the past, always in a queen or king single-bed room. I've always been delighted with this charming, small boutique hotel -- until this time, when I was extremely disappointed. The room my sister and I received last weekend -- 2 double beds -- was outfitted with 4 smaller-than-standard-size pillows and no other pillow options. This 2-bed room came with just one guest robe. Why? The bathroom was split into (1) a toilet/shower room (no fan, EXTREMELY and uncomfortably small and with scratched/fading paint) and (2) a sink area/recess which was essentially a "wet bar" in the entry way of the room, across from the toilet/shower combo. Counter space was nonexistent and there was almost nowhere for two people to hang wet towels. The TV was grainy and showed a lot of interference the entire morning of our departure. The AC unit emitted a strange, sour vinegar-y odor, something akin to foot odor. We weren't in the room much so it didn't make sense to ask for a new one once we figured all this out. The hotel staff was VERY professional and gracious when we checked in and out and would probably have accommodated us if I had asked. I was so disappointed by the drop in room quality that I'd seriously consider staying elsewhere when next in the city, rather than revisit the Triton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Jan 4, 2010

Nice place at the heart of San Francisco

With my wife we got a queen room, kinda small, but I believe it's standard for San Francisco. The only thing that bothered us was the elevator noise which is something that you can get used to, but it can wake you up several times the first night. I'm sure it's only for the rooms that are close to the elevator. Service was really good, valet parking was very convenient. Room was clean, tv was nice, blah - we just slept there, took a shower and got out, it's San Francisco after all. The location is where this hotel shines, it's very easy to get to most of the tourist destinations from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mickay_aj
Business
San Antonio, TX
Jan 2, 2010

Cool hotel in a great location

This hotel is in a great location. In Union square right next to Chinatown. The staff were very nice and helpful. The coffee they served in the morning was pretty good, and when it rained, they served hot chocolate. The hotel is very nicely decorated, I would describe it as a trendy boutique style. The rooms are small, but I expect that in downtown SF and we were comfortable. The fitness center is also small, but had everything I needed to get a good workout in. We also went to the restaurant that is affiliated with the hotel for breakfast and the food was very good. This is the 3rd hotel I have stayed at in Union Square and so far it is my favorite. I only have two negatives. The first is that 1 of the only 2 elevators in the hotel broke on New Years day. It took people over 1/2 hour to get out. They fixed it very quickly, but 2 elevators for the guests and the staff is barely enough, so when one breaks it is a disaster. My other complaint is that you have to sign up for their rewards program to get free internet in your room. If you don't want to sign up, they will charge you for internet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top