$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 21, 2015 Check-out: Jun 22, 2015

Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

3 stars
View map of 342 Grant Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
73 out of 73
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sdcj
Business
San Diego
Dec 17, 2012

Enjoyed our stay

Convenient and comfortable, we walked all over the city from here. Our room was quieter than we would have expected, too. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lady Miss Ian
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Dec 6, 2012

On the Road, Ducks and Wine

Due to heavy rains up in Sonoma, we had to make a quick change of plans and were really happy to find a good deal on this Hotel. Seriously, you don't get more of a central SF location than this. The valet parking was very easy and convenient - it costs, but if you have to deal with a car, it's worth it. They provide great coffee in the morning and a wine reception for guests in the late afternoon. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We missed out on getting a Queen size room, and ended up with a Full size. Loved the Kerouac "on the road" wall paper and writers room decor. I will say that, if you are not smaller sized people, the full size room would be a bit of a challenge (Petite/cozy bathroom and minimal/small main room). And, also, don't in any way expect complete quiet - you're in the middle of biggest and busiest tourist spots in the city - bring your own earplugs ;-) We loved the extremely funky lobby decor, as well as the exterior fountain, where eclectically garbed rubber ducks would mysteriously appear.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

If you feel like giving yourself a challenge with a reward at the end, walk up Grant Street through Chinatown, and turn left on California Street. Feel the burn as you walk up to the Mark Hopkins Hotel to treat yourself to a cocktail and fantastic view at the Top of the Mark.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Merrymarymac
Business
East Bay, SF California
Dec 5, 2012

Perfect location for shopping!

This hotel was a big step up for me and my sisters. We enjoyed the morning coffee and when we didn't take advantage of the wine tasting in the afternoon, the concierge gave us a bottle of wine. We loved being near China Town, Union Square, Market Street and Belden Alley for restaurants. We would stay again on our next sisters' weekend. We enjoyed the whimsical art and furniture of the lobby and the Victorian elements like the bannisters and newel posts on the main stair case--we like the exercise of walking up and down, though the elevators worked just fine. Another thing we liked was that the hotel seemed reasonably quiet for such a busy location. Our first night we used valet parking, but there are garages close by that are less expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Belden Place (or Alley) is just down Bush and has a French, an Italian, a Spanish, a seafood/mussels, and a Mexican restaurant, all with indoor and heated outdoor seating.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
meeaarriee
Business
cerritos, california
Nov 27, 2012

Small and Quaint

This hotel was very cute and colorful like the pictures online were like. The room was smaller than I had imagined but it was perfectly fine for just me and my boyfriend. The interior design was nice and modern but you can tell the building was old by the piping and such. The water was yellowish both in the tub and in the toilet. Room service was fast with requests and so was the front desk. I liked how there were free white chocolate macadamia cookies and chocolate chip cookies during the day in the lobby with water and coffee! Valet is super expensive..$40 a night we stayed 2 nights so that was easily almost $100 just to park our car at this hotel. The location was GREAT for tourists because it is in the heart of san francisco and a few blocks away from the bus and trolley stations. If we look out the window we see union station and chinatown so 4 stars for location!. Overall it was a comfortable experience nothing too amazing or too bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
13Sheep
Business
San Jose
May 29, 2012

Great location

Right at the gate of China town. Some adjacent meter parking, which is free on Sundays and holidays. Hotel was nice, somewhat modern. Don't expect Vegas quality. Room was a bit tight, but overall clean and good service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

China Town

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LeeL
Business
NYC
Jan 5, 2012

Great Location for the price

Other then the small gym. The room as cozy and the staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to downtown without the loud noise issue that some downtown hotel has.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
footlady
Business
New Westminster, BC, Canada
Dec 21, 2011

Kimpton at its best

Great location, funky ambiance, Romeo the door dog is perfect addition to this great hotel. We had a great time and thanks to the staff for their great suggestions and directions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Boston Market and enjoy their extensive selection for a reasonably priced meal that is very enjoyable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr. CA
Business
LA
Oct 26, 2011

quick work trip

Great staff, they had some issues with internet but got it fixed promptly while I was there. The room was hot- not sure if the AC was working. I turned it on but it was still warmer than the hallways. Fun hotel and great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
doriorio
Business
PA
Sep 9, 2011

Simply perfect

Great location, great everything. Will try to stay here on every business visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gabon Guests
Business
Gabon, Africa
Nov 11, 2010

Awesome Customer Service

We were in town for my wife to take an exam, plus a few days of relaxation afterwards. The location was great - right at the entrance to Chinatown. And the customer service was amongst the best we've seen anywhere. The staff catered to our every need and had great suggestions for restaurants. The room was clean and the bed comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cesareos on Sutter (a couple blocks away) had great Italian food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top