$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 31, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

3 stars
View map of 342 Grant Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94108

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
73 out of 73
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
It is Possible
Business
Astoria, NY
Apr 5, 2014

Great Location. Good hotel for a business trip.

The hotel was located within walking distance of the office, which was great and the reason I chose it. Very colorful which was ok with me. I only used it to sleep and work from my room when I was not at the office. Room service from the restaurant next door was good. Staff was friendly and the complementary internet was useful. I would have given a higher score had my bathtub been in better condition.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Biscuit12
Business
Sacramento, Ca.
Feb 17, 2014

Always A Good Time

Great location right at the front entrance of China Town. Best Hotel staff I've ever encountered in all my travels. Very helpful and go out of there way to make your visit comfortably and relaxing. Hotel is located within walking distance to shopping, food and entertainment. The hotel is an art deco gallery from the front entrance as you enter all the way to your room. I've stayed here twice and look forward to the next time I visit. Oooh and don't forget the wine hour to start off your evening before you head out on the town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Food all over. Just have to keep an open eye. A block in a half a way is an alley way that has a line up of about 5or6 little resturants from Italian to seafood to steak. Very good. You can also ask the front desk for suggestions....they have not let me down yet.

Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Linda Rose
Business
San Bruno, CA
Nov 25, 2013

Great location/great price

This is a hotel for artists--not corporate A types. It is unique, minimalist in design, and is not a cookie-cutter version of every other hotel. Cookies at 3 pm and wine at 5 pm and coffee at 7 am in the lobby by a fireplace. The room is immaculate, hotel staff is freakishly kind and attentive, and the hotel is 50 ft. away from the gates to Chinatown and 2 blocks from Union Square. Safe neighborhood--you are in the midst of chic-chic for a Motel Six price. That's saying something.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a cafe to the left and a cafe to the right of the hotel--both could be dropped in Paris and fit right in.

Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AJ23
Business
Pleasanton, California
Nov 14, 2013

Awesome Fidi location

I had a major exam the next day and also had a fever, unfortunately. The front desk staff went out of their way to help me pick a restaurant for delivery and then not only did they call and place the order for me, but one of the staff ordered dinner with my order to meet the delivery requirement cost. This is just one example of the friendliness of the staff. The location is excellent - so many nearby cafes and shopping. Highly recommended!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bwil
Business
ventura, ca
Nov 12, 2013

cool vibe

great location, friendly helpful staff,cool vibe, wine hour is a nice touch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lungfungtoy
Business
la.honda, ca
Sep 5, 2013

wonderful staycation

We loved the art in the rooms , bed super comfy,the location was great and.staf was wonderful. We will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinatown

Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
spingirl5
Business
new jersey
May 21, 2013

Will go back!

Stayed here to be close to the downtown area. Location was fantastic! We will definitely come back. Room is small but comfortable and for the price, it was just right. Downgraded a bit due to no free wifi in room and no store on site, but everything so close that this really wasn't the big of an issue. Staff was fantastic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sobby
Business
bc
Mar 19, 2013

stop over in san fran

absolutely fabulous, staff was great , the hotel eclectic, location was great!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

excellant french resturant right next door

Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wiggsfly
Business
Austin,TX
Mar 4, 2013

Excellent Choice

The Hotel Triton is definitely a San Francisco gem. From it's perfect location right outside the Chinatown gate to a great staff and fun atmosphere this is a great place to go when you want to be near the downtown action.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're coming from the airport save yourself $40 and take Bart. It leaves you only a short walking distance away and, if there is any traffic, is a lot faster and cheaper than a cab.

Review of Triton, a Kimpton Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
scottagross
Business
Cameron Park, CA
Mar 3, 2013

Great location, good staff, small rooms.

We had a wonderful one-night stay while showing relatives San Francisco. We checked in in the evening. It's a great neighborhood to be in at night, very safe. You start the morning by having coffee in the lobby or across the street at Starbucks, then you walk out of the the hotel turn right and walk two blocks into Chinatown. See the sights and have a dim sum lunch before touring the rest of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Chinatown is a fascinating place. Thousands of tchotchkes to shop for, great food and bakeries and a wonderful place to just walk around and absorb the culture.

Back to menu Return to top